Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO] Sony Vaio FS series FN keys
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think your current kernel is not build with evdev:
Code:

$ zcat /proc/config.gz | grep EVDEV
CONFIG_INPUT_EVDEV=y

(Y or M should be fine)
If you have a no, then you need to recompile the kernel to include evdev :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 96
Location: Dortmund, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gonna recompile now :oops: I'll post my success (or bust) in a minute :P

edit: what is evdev? event device?


Okay, now I got even3 as the result.

Code:

Sony ~ # /etc/init.d/fsfn stop
 * Stopping fsfn key handler ...
start-stop-daemon: warning: failed to kill 6841: No such process
1 pids were not killed
No process in pidfile `/var/run/fsfn.pid' found running; none killed.     [ !! ]
Sony ~ # /etc/init.d/fsfn start
 * WARNING:  "fsfn" has already been started.
Sony ~ #


worries me .... something wrong with that. But I really dont't know what.


Code:
Error opening /proc/acpi/sony/fnkey: No such file or directory


And still no fnkey in /proc/acpi/sony/ :(

BTW: Sony Vaio VGN-FS315H
_________________
http://www.dispatchmusic.com
- Listen to Dispatch - smile - be happy -

http://www.maggimarkus.de
- my (german) page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

evdev = event devices .... Quite usefull :)
(not only for fsfn, for synaptics drivers too)

Hum... for the /proc/acpi/sony/fnkey, can you try
Code:

# rmmod sony_acpi
# modprobe sony_acpi
# rmmod sony_acpi
# dmesg -c
# modprobe sony_acpi
# dmesg
# ls /proc/acpi/sony

and give results of the last dmesg and ls :)

Btw, check that the event type in bios is set to type 1
If not working, check (fast) for GHKE entry in dsdt
Code:

# grep GHKE  /proc/acpi/dsdt
Binary file /proc/acpi/dsdt matches


If no match, send me a gz of your dsdt by mail
Code:

cat /proc/acpi/dsdt | gzip -c >  ~/dsdt.gz

should help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 96
Location: Dortmund, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, dunno why, but I went home on friday and when I booted my laptop there I had fnkeys in /proc/acpi/sony. The keys work fine now, except another tiny problem. Muting works fine, but turning sound on doesn't work at all. Additionaly my sound mutes when I want to turn down my sound a bit. So FN+F3 and FN+F2 have the same effect. I really don't know why...

PS: Thanks for your help, getting the keys to work is so really really cool :) Very kind of you =)
_________________
http://www.dispatchmusic.com
- Listen to Dispatch - smile - be happy -

http://www.maggimarkus.de
- my (german) page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

goom wrote:
Okay, dunno why, but I went home on friday and when I booted my laptop there I had fnkeys in /proc/acpi/sony. The keys work fine now, except another tiny problem. Muting works fine, but turning sound on doesn't work at all. Additionaly my sound mutes when I want to turn down my sound a bit. So FN+F3 and FN+F2 have the same effect. I really don't know why...

PS: Thanks for your help, getting the keys to work is so really really cool :) Very kind of you =)


Hum... Do you have Alsa installed ?
If yes, there can be multiple reason for such behaviours
a) The volume control is not named "Front" - You can check this looking on your volume control and see if it's called Front, if not, you need to write down the name and edit/create a file called /etc/fsfn.conf and add an entry like
Code:

ALSA_NAME=TheNameUsed

(with TheNameUsed = the main volume name)

b) Something broken in acpi: you need to d/l + install the dev version at http://users.skynet.be/muaddib/fsfn/fsfn-1.1.tar.gz (ebuild)

And try adding in /etc/fsfn.conf
Code:

BRT_SETDEFAULT=1

and/or
Code:

BRT_HACK_FJS=1

(This version allows a few more settings - see man 5 fsfn)

Hope this helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 96
Location: Dortmund, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice. Helped a lot. Everything works fine now. Thanks for your support. Impressive knowledge :) Creating the .conf file with "ALSA_NAME=FRONT" did it. Additionaly I installed fsfn-1.1.

Thanks again.
_________________
http://www.dispatchmusic.com
- Listen to Dispatch - smile - be happy -

http://www.maggimarkus.de
- my (german) page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gremo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,
here some problems only with xosd version of the script:
i have downloaded and installed fsfn version 1.0:

1) as a root, i can't run fsfn (there is no file...)
2) as a normal user, i can run fsfn (nothing appens) but can't run fsfn -o (Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified)
3) I don't have /etc/fsfn.conf

bad version?

ps. script posted in the first page works well, but i would try osd support :)
thanks a lot great forum!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gremo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just another question:

is it possible to make a kernel patch to include as a module sony_acpi (patched version) ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gremo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

up :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, sorry for the delay...

Can you download http://users.skynet.be/muaddib/fsfn/fsfn-1.1.ebuild , put it in your overlay and emerge this version (Latest dev version -> it will be easier for me to help you if you still have troubles with it ;)

* After emerge, to start use /etc/init.d/fsfn (as root on command line or add it using rc-update)
* For the OSD, you must launch the "fsfn -o" as "normal" user, inside your X session (hint: gnome-session / kde Autostart).... The error you have seems coz you lauch it outside of X
* for the /etc/fsfn.conf : The ebuild don't install it. Only needed if you want to change/tweak the default settings (cf man 5 fsfn)

* For the kernel patch, shouldn't be a problem, but I think it's easier to use an external module: you don't need to find a patch again your current kernel... you just need to recompile the module (if you used sony_acpi ebuild, check sys-kernel/module-rebuild ;-))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gremo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pijalu wrote:
Hi, sorry for the delay...

Can you download http://users.skynet.be/muaddib/fsfn/fsfn-1.1.ebuild , put it in your overlay and emerge this version (Latest dev version -> it will be easier for me to help you if you still have troubles with it ;)

* After emerge, to start use /etc/init.d/fsfn (as root on command line or add it using rc-update)
* For the OSD, you must launch the "fsfn -o" as "normal" user, inside your X session (hint: gnome-session / kde Autostart).... The error you have seems coz you lauch it outside of X
* for the /etc/fsfn.conf : The ebuild don't install it. Only needed if you want to change/tweak the default settings (cf man 5 fsfn)

* For the kernel patch, shouldn't be a problem, but I think it's easier to use an external module: you don't need to find a patch again your current kernel... you just need to recompile the module (if you used sony_acpi ebuild, check sys-kernel/module-rebuild ;-))


Very thanks for helping a newbie :)
i got some errors i cannot undestand:

1) emerged successfully fsfn & sonyacpi ebuilds overlays

2) rc-update add fsfn default

3) After loading stufs like alsa...

Code:

fsfn[12141] config...
fsfn[12141] config...
fsfn[12141] config...
fsfn[12141] config...
fsfn[12141] default configuration done
fsfn[12141]error opening config file[/b]
fsfn[12141]autodevice determines /dev/inpu/event-1 as keyboard event
fsfn[12141]event interface (/dev/input/event-1) open failed: no such file or direcotory
fsfn[12141]autodevice determines /dev/inpu/event-1 as last chance keyboard event
fsfn[12141]event interface (/dev/input/event-1) open failed: no such file or direcotory


maybe some kernel features missing? :oops: :oops:

4) where to add /usr/bin/fsfn -o? How, can you explain exactely? I'm a two-mounths gentoo user :)

bye!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gremo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks to Pierre i have solved my problems, it was evdev not enabled in config.
Anyone can use SI & S2 buttons?
i can't...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gremo wrote:
thanks to Pierre i have solved my problems, it was evdev not enabled in config.
Anyone can use SI & S2 buttons?
i can't...


You should be able to add the 2 following entries in /etc/fsfn.conf:
S1_CMD=somecommand
S2_CMD=somecommand

Limitations:
* The command cannot take parameters (if you need parameters, then you will need to create a shell script to execute the command
* The command will be executed as root and not as current user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gremo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pijalu wrote:
Gremo wrote:
thanks to Pierre i have solved my problems, it was evdev not enabled in config.
Anyone can use SI & S2 buttons?
i can't...


You should be able to add the 2 following entries in /etc/fsfn.conf:
S1_CMD=somecommand
S2_CMD=somecommand

Limitations:
* The command cannot take parameters (if you need parameters, then you will need to create a shell script to execute the command
* The command will be executed as root and not as current user


so..is this right?
turn off monitor...
Code:

# touch lcdoff
# echo "xset dpms force off" > lcdoff
# chmod u+x lcdoff
# S1_CMD=/path/to/lcdoff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually no, because xset has to be executed by current user in your X session... something the daemon cannot do :(
(yet... but I am currently out of time to correct this...but it's still on my todo list... maybe this week-end if i found the time... drop me mail if you don't see news next monday to complain about it ;-) )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gremo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pijalu wrote:
Actually no, because xset has to be executed by current user in your X session... something the daemon cannot do :(
(yet... but I am currently out of time to correct this...but it's still on my todo list... maybe this week-end if i found the time... drop me mail if you don't see news next monday to complain about it ;-) )


ok, thanks again, i think power off monitor is a must for a laptop user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gremo wrote:
pijalu wrote:
Actually no, because xset has to be executed by current user in your X session... something the daemon cannot do :(
(yet... but I am currently out of time to correct this...but it's still on my todo list... maybe this week-end if i found the time... drop me mail if you don't see news next monday to complain about it ;-) )


ok, thanks again, i think power off monitor is a must for a laptop user


EDIT: See next post :)


Last edited by pijalu on Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Call for testers
Hi, just finished my work on fsfn 1.2 and this one needs testers before going public ;-)
ebuild - tarball
Changes:
* The OSD supports cmd execution using ~/.fsfn.conf file (for commands not set in /etc/fsfn.conf)
* new use flag (or --enable-moreconf [configure]) : allows settings of "internal" keycode to support exotic new Vaio laptop
* More bugs ???

Have phun
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G2k
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 672
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# emerge -avuD world

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating world dependencies

emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy ">=app-laptop/sonyacpi-0.1".
(dependency required by "app-misc/fsfn-1.2" [ebuild])

!!! Problem resolving dependencies for app-misc/fsfn
!!! Depgraph creation failed.
I have sonyacpi in /usr/local/portage/app-misc. Maybe we should establish a universally correct path for the sonyacpi ebuild?

Edit:
after having restarted /etc/init.d/fsfn, restarting X and chaning the setting in my ~/.fluxbox/startup to `/usr/bin/fsfn -o &` it seems to be working properly. I didn't try the new use flag though as I don't understand what it's for exactly (I'm using a vaio vgn-fs660)

Just a thought but do you think that the xosd part of fsfn could become prettier? Like, if you look at amaroK's OSD it has some pretty nice features such as alpha blending, color selection, font selection and a fade-out. Could the same be done for fsfn's OSD?
Thanks for the hard work!
_________________
Animula vagula blandula,
Hospes comesque corporis,
Quae nunc abibis in loca
Pallidula rigida nudula,
Nec ut soles dabis iocos...
- Imp. Caesar Hadrianus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

G2k wrote:
Code:
# emerge -avuD world

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating world dependencies

emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy ">=app-laptop/sonyacpi-0.1".
(dependency required by "app-misc/fsfn-1.2" [ebuild])

!!! Problem resolving dependencies for app-misc/fsfn
!!! Depgraph creation failed.
I have sonyacpi in /usr/local/portage/app-misc. Maybe we should establish a universally correct path for the sonyacpi ebuild?

Edit:
after having restarted /etc/init.d/fsfn, restarting X and chaning the setting in my ~/.fluxbox/startup to `/usr/bin/fsfn -o &` it seems to be working properly. I didn't try the new use flag though as I don't understand what it's for exactly (I'm using a vaio vgn-fs660)

Just a thought but do you think that the xosd part of fsfn could become prettier? Like, if you look at amaroK's OSD it has some pretty nice features such as alpha blending, color selection, font selection and a fade-out. Could the same be done for fsfn's OSD?
Thanks for the hard work!


Thx for testing,
for the ebuild path, app-laptop seems to be the most correct, at least for me ;-)
The new flag (moreconf) should'nt be used unless you NEED it, since it eat more CPU - this should be reserved for some exotic laptop ;) (A user of a Vaio VGN-FJ170/B sended a patch to help supporting his laptop)

For the OSD, you can change the font and color using /etc/fsfn.conf or ~/.fsfn.conf. (check man 5 fsfn)
eg: my ~/.fsfn.conf:
Code:

OSD_FONT=-*-lucida-*-*-*-*-14-*-100-100-*-*-*-*
OSD_VCOLOR=green
OSD_VCOLORZ=red
OSD_BCOLOR=LawnGreen
OSD_MSG_VOLUME=Volume (%d %%)
OSD_MSG_BRIGHT=Brightness (%d)
SOUND_STEP=5
S1_CMD=/usr/bin/dpmsoff


To be honest, I just wanted to allow "user space" execution for this version (since this is a really important features....), for OSD look... hmmm, would be great but I don't have really lots of time to play with this ;)

But feel free to propose a patch for this feature ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
at240
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 603
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pijalu, THANKS---v1.0 worked perfectly straight away on a new FS415M. :D Great little utility. Are you going to try to get it into portage? It certainly deserves to be there.

One little thing I noticed was: when I adjust the brightness, the first time the on-screen gauge appears it appears in a low position. From then on when it reappears it always appears in a higher position, exactly where the volume display appears. Is this a tiny bug?

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G2k
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 672
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's an in-kernel option called SONYPI...is this the equivalent of the sony-acpi ebuild? Should the fsfn ebuild be updated to account for the already present sonypi or the lack thereof?
_________________
Animula vagula blandula,
Hospes comesque corporis,
Quae nunc abibis in loca
Pallidula rigida nudula,
Nec ut soles dabis iocos...
- Imp. Caesar Hadrianus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sonypi is not compatible with the FS laptop series :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
B2382F29
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, tried everything, my Laptop (VGN-FS115B) won't work with fsfn

/proc/acpi/sony/fnkeys exists

with sonyfn (polling) the keys are working.

cat /dev/input/event2
shows garbage when pressing the fn-keys

in syslog, i get this:
Quote:
atkbd.c: Unknown key pressed (translated set 2, code 0xf6 on isa0060/serio0).
atkbd.c: Use 'setkeycodes e076 <keycode>' to make it known.



This is the relevant output from /proc/bus/input/devices
Quote:
I: Bus=0011 Vendor=0001 Product=0001 Version=ab41
N: Name="AT Translated Set 2 keyboard"
P: Phys=isa0060/serio0/input0
S: Sysfs=/class/input/input2
H: Handlers=kbd event2
B: EV=120013
B: KEY=4 2000000 3802078 f840d001 f2ffffdf ffefffff ffffffff fffffffe
B: MSC=10
B: LED=7


fsfn seems to ignore it completely

Someone has an idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

B2382F29 wrote:
Ok, tried everything, my Laptop (VGN-FS115B) won't work with fsfn

/proc/acpi/sony/fnkeys exists

with sonyfn (polling) the keys are working.

cat /dev/input/event2
shows garbage when pressing the fn-keys

in syslog, i get this:
Quote:
atkbd.c: Unknown key pressed (translated set 2, code 0xf6 on isa0060/serio0).
atkbd.c: Use 'setkeycodes e076 <keycode>' to make it known.


This message is "normal", the reason is fn+key generate a key, but the kernel don't know what to do with it... If you take a look at the init script, you can set a fake key value to it in order to avoid this error message.

What I will like to see is the output of fsfn on syslog (you need to start the fsfn service or launch fsfn as root) :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 5 of 9

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum