Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eclipse-sdk
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tdi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2005 4:58 pm    Post subject: eclipse-sdk Reply with quote

why there is no ebuild for binary eclipse ?

i was adn not there is no such thing..

not eveerybody have >700ram to complile the thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3327

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2005 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just leave it compiling over night or set up a couple of boxes ans distcc it
_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi

Cold is gods way to tell us to burn more Catholics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tdi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep it fails becasue of small amount of ram..
this is the only problem..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3327

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it wouldn't fail because of the amount of RAM
_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi

Cold is gods way to tell us to burn more Catholics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tyris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Cincinnati, OH

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As strange as it sounds for it to fail because of RAM limits, it definitely does as it has happened to me before on boxes with small amounts. Now, you may or may not be able to get it to compile with excessive amounts of swap standing in for RAM, I'm not sure. Anyway, this happens to people, since the ebuilds for eclipse-sdk specifically check how much RAM you have and then tell you it's probably not enough if it's below 768 MB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3327

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

from the ebuild:
Code:
ewarn "To build Eclipse, at least 768MB of RAM is recommended."
ewarn "Your machine has less RAM. Continuing anyway."
it should be fine, if not submit a bug report
_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi

Cold is gods way to tell us to burn more Catholics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonnevers
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 1593
Location: Gentoo64 land

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cokehabit wrote:
just leave it compiling over night or set up a couple of boxes ans distcc it


eclipse is written in java. java in portage typically uses Ant to compile the source into bytefiles. It is a very real possibility that the limit is serious. Personally I'd try removing the check from the ebuild. Then again why not just try installing eclipse by hand from the binary pacakge on eclipse.org? its all contained in one directory which you can just extract to say, /opt/eclipse. The by hand method has the added bonus is letting you use Eclipse's built in update manager without getting out of sync with portage. (emerge 3.0.1 in portage, use update manager to get to 3.0.2, portage still thinks 3.0.1 and wants to update again, etc)

- Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tdi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i use binary package. downloaded by hand. it is way more convenient than trying to compile eclipse from portage.

in near futire i will buy additional 512 ram and then we will see.
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
olberd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I compiled it just fine with :
Code:

ip10 root # free -m
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:           249        243          5          0         21         56
-/+ buffers/cache:        166         83
Swap:          525        163        361
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tdi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ive got new super fast machine..ill compile on it and make binary package.
ill try also my 256ram box..

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schrepfler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 56
Location: Bologna, Italy

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it makes sense to have the binary packages for eclipse that would pull the milestone/integrationbuild/release from the eclipse mirrors. I for one have some problems with the java toolchain and java5 is not fully compatible with many packages (I tried compiling eclipse with 1.4.2 to be precise). I'm kind of very hopefull of the promises for the java roadmap and some talks about having tomcat 5.5 soon but let's not get too excited too soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tdi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2005 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i managed to build eclipse 3.1m6 with jdk-1.4.2.08
i do not know why so huge amount of ram is needed, i built it very fast and without killing my CPU with 100% load.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xHemi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 36
Location: /dev/urandom

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2005 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the easiest way is just to use distcc, if you have more machines that is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tdi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2005 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eclipse 3.1M7 built in 15 minutes. still on 256 ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charlieg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Jul 2002
Posts: 2149
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2005 8:02 pm    Post subject: Re: eclipse-sdk Reply with quote

tdi wrote:
why there is no ebuild for binary eclipse ?

Because downloading the binary from eclipse.org works on it's own?

Well, it does. ;)
_________________
Want Free games?
Free Gamer - open source games list & commentary

Open source web-enabled rich UI platform: Vexi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum