Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
scp copy has different speed on different boxs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lsaller
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Location: germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 8:10 pm    Post subject: scp copy has different speed on different boxs Reply with quote

Hi *,

I have 2 gentoo and 1 WinXp (I know, I know) boxes on a switch. Copy with scp from gentoo box1 to win goes with 2MB/s but from the other gentoo box to win it is only 500kB/s.
The gentoo setup on both maschines is indentical. And funny is: the box which gives me 2MB is a K6/500MHz and the 500KB is a XP/1.8GHz.
The NIC's, sshd_config, running processes are all identical.

I don't know where to search.
Can somebody give me a hint??

Thanks!

Ludwig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigfunkymo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you use any firewalling or traffic shaping on either gentoo box?
_________________
[No package... Grabbing a set.]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jake
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Jul 2003
Posts: 1128

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you get between the two Gentoo machines? How about to 127.0.0.1 on the slow one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lsaller
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Location: germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried 127.0.0.1 and the name of the host and it's 192.168.... IP number all with very high speed: 9.9MB/s.
Between the 2 gentoo boxes I got 2.4MB/s.
I have changed the cables from the maschines against each other and replaced with new ones -> same result.

The boxes are on a swich and there is no firewalling between the hosts.

??I dont understand this??

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigfunkymo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do both of your computers have their hdparm settings tuned?
_________________
[No package... Grabbing a set.]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lsaller
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Location: germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm, I don't think that the hdparms belong to this issue because the slow scp box is very fast excpet while coping with scp.
Here is the output of hdparm -i <dev where the file is>

Model=SAMSUNG SV1203N, FwRev=TQ100-23, SerialNo=0727J1FWA17844
Config={ HardSect NotMFM HdSw>15uSec Fixed DTR>10Mbs }
RawCHS=16383/16/63, TrkSize=34902, SectSize=554, ECCbytes=4
BuffType=DualPortCache, BuffSize=2048kB, MaxMultSect=16, MultSect=16
CurCHS=16383/16/63, CurSects=16514064, LBA=yes, LBAsects=217102411
IORDY=on/off, tPIO={min:240,w/IORDY:120}, tDMA={min:120,rec:120}
PIO modes: pio0 pio1 pio2 pio3 pio4
DMA modes: mdma0 mdma1 mdma2
UDMA modes: udma0 udma1 udma2 udma3 udma4 *udma5
AdvancedPM=no WriteCache=enabled
Drive conforms to: (null):

And here the fast scp box:

Model=IC35L120AVVA07-0, FwRev=VA6OA52A, SerialNo=VNC602A6L16EAA
Config={ HardSect NotMFM HdSw>15uSec Fixed DTR>10Mbs }
RawCHS=16383/16/63, TrkSize=0, SectSize=0, ECCbytes=52
BuffType=DualPortCache, BuffSize=1863kB, MaxMultSect=16, MultSect=16
CurCHS=4047/16/255, CurSects=16511760, LBA=yes, LBAsects=241254720
IORDY=on/off, tPIO={min:240,w/IORDY:120}, tDMA={min:120,rec:120}
PIO modes: pio0 pio1 pio2 pio3 pio4
DMA modes: mdma0 mdma1 mdma2
UDMA modes: udma0 udma1 udma2 udma3 *udma4 udma5
AdvancedPM=yes: disabled (255) WriteCache=enabled
Drive conforms to: ATA/ATAPI-5 T13 1321D revision 1:

Did you see something bad?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
christsong84
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Apr 2003
Posts: 1002
Location: GMT-8 (Spokane)

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm...is one box doing a lot more than the other? e.g. processes taking up more resources?
_________________
while(true) {self.input(sugar);} :twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dtmf
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you using the same file system on both computers??
also it looks like one of the drives it set to a lower dma then the other.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lsaller
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Location: germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The load is not very high
this is from the fast scp box:
load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00

and the slow:
load average: 0.15, 0.06, 0.02

on the slow box (keep in mind this is the 1.8GHz box) runs X but not much processes and on both runs apache and samba only for intranet. Both servers sleep the most time.

On the slow box I use reiserfs and the fast ext3. The lower dma is because the old box dosn't support more.
This is what makes me silly the dam old K6 is 3 times faster while copy over ssh.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum