Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
boot problem(SOLVED)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
onimusha123
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 8:11 am    Post subject: boot problem(SOLVED) Reply with quote

i went thoug the installation based upon the document. after i reboot, the grub didn't show boot table at all for my dual boot configuration, it just show "grub" command screen.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
here is my fdisk -l output:
Code:

fdisk -l

/dev/hda1  Dell utility
/dev/hda2   NTFS
/dev/hda3   linux
/dev/hda4    w95 Extended(LBA)
/dev/hda5    linux swap
/dev/hda6    linux
/dev/hda7    fat32
/dev/hda8    NTFS


>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
here is my /mnt/gentoo/etc/fstab output:
Code:


/dev/hda3              /boot    ext3    defaults,noatime           1 2
/dev/hda5              none     swap   sw                               0 0
/dev/hda6               /          ext3    noatime                       0 1
/dev/hda7               /mnt/windows  vfat  rw,umask=0         0 0


>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
here is my /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf:
Code:

default 1
timeout 30

splashimage=(hd0,2)   /grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=gentoo 2.6.11 dev kernel
root (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r4 root=/dev/hda6

title=windows xp
root (hd0,1)
chainloader +1


>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
here is my "ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot" output:
Code:

System.map-2.6.11-gentoo-r4
boot
grub
kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r4


after i umount /mnt/gentoo/proc /mnt/gentoo/boot /mnt/gentoo and "reboot", it didn't even show boot table, just "grub" command screen,
in "grub" command screen, i typed
Code:

grub> root
(hd0,2)


any help would be appreciated. thanks,


Last edited by onimusha123 on Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:47 am; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fdisk shows your root file system to be on /dev/hda5 and swap being on /dev/hda6, yet both your fstab and your grub.conf have the root file system set to /dev/hda6 and swap to /dev/hda5. Fix that.
Also, you have a space after the closing parenthesis on your splashimage line in grub.conf. Get rid of it.
_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
onimusha123
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 8:31 am    Post subject: sorry, there is typ0 in fdisk Reply with quote

i typed them wrong, it should be:

/dev/hda5 linux swap
/dev/hda6 linux

here is in my grub.conf:
Code:

title=gentoo 2.6.11 dev kernel
root (hd0,2)


i thought in grub, (hd0,2) translate to (hda3) which is /boot partition in fstab, is that right?

Code:

kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r4 root=/dev/hda6


somehoe my impression from document, this line root is pointing to "/" partition, that was why i set to /dev/hda6 which is root "/" partition in my fstab. is that right?

i am going to remove the space after spash closing parenthesis. thanks for the help, appreciate it.


Last edited by onimusha123 on Sun Mar 27, 2005 10:30 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
onimusha123
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i fixed the space after splash line.

now it still didn't load boot table, it showed "grub" command screen again.

grub>root
(hd0,2): filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83

what does it mean?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't yell at me for asking this, but I have to make sure - are you 100% positive that you've installed the grub loader on the correct hard drive, and are booting from the correct hard drive? *ducks to avoid brick*
What happens if, at the grub prompt, you manually type in the commands you had in your grub.conf? I.e., type
Code:
root (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r4 root=/dev/hda6
boot


On a sidenote: You mentioned you had typed the contents of the files incoprrectly. You shouldn't type them in, you should paste them in. Also, when posting file contents and the like, make sure you place them in [code] blocks (that way it's easier to read and letters like uppercase i and lowercase L don't get confused). If you're not sure what I mean, see this: https://forums.gentoo.org/faq.php?mode=bbcode#5
_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
onimusha123
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i won't yell :-), what i did was:
Code:

emerge grub
nano /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf
grub-install --root-directory=/boot /dev/hda

pretty much as menu says.

after rebooting, on grub command screen, if i typed
Code:

grub>root (hd0,2)
filesystem type 9s ext2fs, partition type 0x83


i checked grub error list, it said that it might be menu.lst was missing, but there is a file /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/menu.lst. also i re-run "grub-install", it didn't help to fix this problem.

yeah, now since i can't boot in that computer, i had to post from another one here :-(, sorry for any confusion. hopefully i can boot and load to gentoo soon, can't wait to see that happening.

thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
onimusha123
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just trying to make grub working, just found out some valuable information on grub errors:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-122656.html

it mentioned a symbolic link:
ibis wrote:

You may also want to try this tip provided by ibis:
ibis wrote:
Try restoring the /boot/boot symlinkCode:
# cd /boot
# ln -s ./ boot
And then run grub-install againCode:
# grub-install --root-directory=/boot /dev/hda

currently
Code:

ls /mnt/gentoo/boot

System.map-2.6.11-gentoo-r4
boot
grub
kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r4



here is what i did:
Code:

cd /mnt/gentoo/boot
ln -s ./ boot
ln: `boot/ .':cannot overwrite directory

where should i put the symbolic link? i do have "boot" directory under "/mnt/gentoo/boot", but it is not a symbolic link though.

thanks,


Last edited by onimusha123 on Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:50 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2968

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

onimusha123 wrote:
just trying to make grub working,

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-122656.html

it mentioned a symbolic link:

where should i put the symbolic link?

Inside /boot directory.

The commands are provided below. Note the period between "-s" and "boot" in the second command.
Code:
cd /boot
ln -s . boot

Also, please use the [quote="some person"] ... [/quote] BBcode tags when you are pasting in quoted text. Do not use >>> or any other symbols, they make your post harder to read. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
onimusha123
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the tip,

just try to make sure i am going to do the right thing:


i currently logged in though live CD, i had to mount again:
Code:

mount /dev/hda6 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo/boot


Code:

cd /boot
ls
System.map-2.6.9-gentoo-r1
boot ----> .
initrd-2.6.9-gentoo-r1
kernel-2.6.9-gentoo-r1


Code:

cd /mnt/gentoo/boot
ls

System.map-2.6.11-gentoo-r4
boot
grub
kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r4


i guess "/boot" is directory on the live CD, right? but i should use "/mnt/gentoo/boot" since that is mounted to my partition.

Code:

cd /mnt/gentoo/boot
ln -s . boot
ln: `boot/.': cannot overwrite directory


is that right i create the soft link /mnt/gentoo/boot ? how come i got an error?

thanks,


Last edited by onimusha123 on Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:36 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2968

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

onimusha123 wrote:
Code:
ln: `boot/.': cannot overwrite directory

is that right i create the soft link /mnt/gentoo/boot ? how come i got an error?

You will need to do this from inside /boot:
Code:
rm -r boot


This happens because there is already a /boot/boot directory. But we do not want that. We want a /boot/boot symbolic link (symlink). This the ln command will help us create. But ln cannot make symlinks with the same name as a file or directory which already exists, hence the error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
onimusha123
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i am in gentoo now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thanks so much for the help from kimchi_sg, ibis, moocha, and gentoo developers, very cool!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum