Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Watch this video of Firefox in Xorg, does yours do this?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 12:27 am    Post subject: Watch this video of Firefox in Xorg, does yours do this? Reply with quote

It's only about a 114 kb download:
http://www.network32.net/sterling/firefox-animation.mpeg

This only happens with Firefox, not Mozilla, or Konqueror. And it happens consistantly - I've never seen it not happen at any of the phpbb forums I've posted at (the emoticons to the left are doing it as I type this right now). It's a little different each time, but there's always at least one icon doing that.

The funny thing is, phpbb forums are the only sites I've seen animated gifs doing that, and it only happens on the post a new topic and edit topic pages. The same emoticons look fine when I see them in a post.

Also, sometimes to top 1 or 2 row of pixels on a line of text are missing. But I haven't been able to record that because anything that causes the text to be redrawn makes it go away (if I select the text, or it gets obscured by another window, etc). It happens occasionally and randomly, usually to a line or two in a paragraph of text.

And sometimes the first part of the url in the address bar (about 50 pixels wide) is 1 or 2 pixels higher than the rest of the url. I haven't been able to record that either.

And it has had these 3 bugs since (I think) back when I switch from Xorg 6.7 to 6.8 and from Firefox 0.8 to 0.9 (I've stayed current ~x86 all this time). It's only now tht I've learned how to capture part of the screen to an mpeg.

Recompiling my entire Gentoo system with conservative CFLAGS didn't help. CFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon-xp -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"

I don't think this is a CFLAGS or ebuild issue, because Firefox does the same thing on Arch Linux. I don't know of any other distros to test that also use Xorg 6.8

MY gfx card is an nVidia GeForce FX 5700 , and it doesn't matter what drivers I use, nor whether I turn on composite or renderaccel.

Is anybody else with Xorg 6.8 and Firefox seeing anything like this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 2135
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine did that for a while around 0.8-0.9. Haven't seen it recently though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Peach
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 3680
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here... happened with <1.0 but forgot as it has never been a serious problem ;)
_________________
Gentoo user since 2004.
"It's all fun and games, until someone loses an eye" - mom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dud3!
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 93
Location: Boringville, Florida, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine does it a little, not as much as that video though. I think it's probably just PHPBB, it's pretty sad.
_________________
"There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

spb wrote:
Mine did that for a while around 0.8-0.9. Haven't seen it recently though.

This is happening with 1.0 here. I've tried both mozilla-firefox and mozilla-firefox-bin... what could you and Peach be doing differently?

Dud3! wrote:
Mine does it a little, not as much as that video though. I think it's probably just PHPBB, it's pretty sad.

But it doesn't happen in Konqueror or Mozilla on the exact same page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dud3!
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 93
Location: Boringville, Florida, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Konqueror is worse than IE when it comes to rendering any sort of garbage you throw at it, Mozilla isn't as strict as Firefox either.

If you'll check the source, PHPBB uses tables to do the icons, tables aren't supposed to be used for layouts and Firefox gives no quarter to non-valid stuff like that. If the width was specified it wouldn't do that, click the (non-valid) pop-up for my (non-valid but greatly improved) tagboard here:

[url]http://woodturnedcreations.com/Dud3!/[/url]

They have some space around them so they don't do that. I'm going to get rid of that thing eventually because it's the only thing on my site I didn't make myself and that's not strict XHTML.
_________________
"There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dud3!: I also recommend using a font that supports AA, because Helvetica does not look very nice seeing that it has no AA support. Also, you should check into XHTML 1.1 compliance. :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenwhen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How did you make the video? :)

I don't have this issue with FF 1.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zenwhen wrote:
How did you make the video? :)

I don't have this issue with FF 1.0.

Probably xvidcap for the video. Also, I have this problem but I do not really care. Maybe it is because people are using different DPIs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dud3!
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 93
Location: Boringville, Florida, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pwnz3r wrote:
Dud3!: I also recommend using a font that supports AA, because Helvetica does not look very nice seeing that it has no AA support. Also, you should check into XHTML 1.1 compliance. :wink:


Yeah, I didn't spend any time on fonts and haven't touched that site in a while. If you'll check any page other than the front page, you'll see it's all XHTML 1.1. Front page is 1.0 because of that hacked tagboard...
_________________
"There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dud3! wrote:
Yeah, I didn't spend any time on fonts and haven't touched that site in a while. If you'll check any page other than the front page, you'll see it's all XHTML 1.1. Front page is 1.0 because of that hacked tagboard...

I was just giving some tips....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dud3!
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 93
Location: Boringville, Florida, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

8O I know, I was just telling you I am using XHTML 1.1. What's a good font to use that most people will have (including portable devices)?
_________________
"There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
solatis
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 214
Location: University of Twente, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, for me, it does this when I'm running xcompmgr.
_________________
Grtz,

Leon Mergen
http://www.solatis.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thechris
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 1203

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for fonts, how about "serif". you don't have to specify a specific font after all, you can just say the font family.

IMO CSS needs to be redone. there seems to be a lot of stuff it just can't do. it needs a horizontal align property because the current method is kinda hackish and unreliable... also, it has issues with margins, adding or ignoring for unknown reasons.

there is no obvious way to get objects to be seperated by 16px or maybe 5%. margin should do this, but doesn't. i've taken to making a div block with a single br in it. terrible idea, but it works a lot better then the correct but nonfunctional way.

also, CSS seems to ignore any property if you need nested tables.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sjokki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

About the emoticons:

I don't have that problem anymore. I start X with: 'startx -- -dpi 96' and in Firefox i have set the resolution to 96 dpi (preferences -> general -> fonts & colors)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, the 96dpi idea seems to fix it but I use an 18.1" LCD and fonts look awesome at ~72dpi. And now for some reason they look fine after changing the DPI in Firefox back to the system setting. Odd crap.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dud3!
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 93
Location: Boringville, Florida, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tip: Make a file called startx96, put startx -- -dpi 96 in it, save it, cp to /usr/local/bin, chmod 755. That way, just type startx96 to get 96 dpi.
_________________
"There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sheepdogj15
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 430
Location: Backyard

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dang! i've had this exact problem. i dunno... it's always the little things about Linux that bugs me.

but, sweet, i've been meaning to look up a solution to this problem with the animated gifs.
_________________
Sheepdog
Why Risk It? | Samba Howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16116
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. (Galeon)
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sheepdogj15
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 430
Location: Backyard

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cool pjp.... i might try Galeon out sometime.

now, i would like to use kdm (xdm?) for a graphical logon. how would i set it to use the 96 dpi setting in that setup?

[edit] Nevermind. it seems that just setting it in Firefox did the trick for me.
_________________
Sheepdog
Why Risk It? | Samba Howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum