Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
old distfiles
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dtun3Z
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 7:33 am    Post subject: old distfiles Reply with quote

Hi!

After installing a lot of portages, and updating them a lot of "old" distfiles will stay in the distfiles directory.
f.x if i install foobar-0.2 then foobar-0.2.tar.bz2 will be in /usr/portage/distfiles. But if foobar-0.3 is out, and portages gets updated then foobar-0.3.tar.bz2 also will be in distfiles. then i dont need foobar-0.2.tar.bz2.
is there a way to delete unused distfiles automaticly? (not the manual way)
_________________
Best regards
Christer Gundersen / dizzy tun3Z
http://dtz.cjb.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kerframil
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 710
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 7:35 pm    Post subject: Yes ... Reply with quote

Yes, with a suitable script! I'm working on one, and it will be posted in the Tips'n'Tricks section when I've finished.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dArkMaGE
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but be careful, you dont want to spend all those hours downloading kde or gnome, compile it, and then wipe out your distfiles only to find out a new revision of (kde/gnome/?) has been released, causing you to download the whole mess all over again when you try to update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stroke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2002
Posts: 36
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 9:16 pm    Post subject: distfiles cleaning... Reply with quote

I'm not pretty sure about this one but:
I've noticed that if I delete a particular tarball (in /usr/portage/distfiles)
of a package that is built and installed already, and then do an
emerge thatpackage well portage begins to compile and build again
that package.

This is happening with the same package version number.

eg: I do emerge package
package-1.0 gets compiled and installed
I rm /usr/portage/distfiles/package-1.0.tar.gz
I do emerge package again
package-1.0 is being re-downloaded, re-compiled, re-installed once again.

Is this the correct behaviour ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proxy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 253
Location: Chantilly, VA

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well yea, when you emerge the second time you saying "install it again", so it will download the sources and compile it for a fresh install.

proxy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWart
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 432
Location: Nashville,TN - USA

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2002 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In order to get aroud this, leave the download there, and it will not re-download it unless it is a major update rather than an alteration to the ebuild. But, you do lose some space, so it all depends on your diskspace and internet connection
_________________
Face it, we are all noobs.

On the box it said it was designed for Win XP or better, so why won't it work with Linux?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stroke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2002
Posts: 36
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2002 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
But, you do lose some space, so it all depends on your diskspace and internet connection


They are both laughable :cry:

56k and a not big enought HD. :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
balk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 62
Location: Olanda

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2002 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stroke wrote:
Quote:
But, you do lose some space, so it all depends on your diskspace and internet connection


They are both laughable :cry:

56k and a not big enought HD. :lol:

you can burn the large ones on cd (QT, kernel sources, LaTeX, emacs, X) and mount it when needed. You can also recover space by emptying /var/tmp/portage after every compilation. Deleting some locales (I do not need the Italian locales at all so why keep them? :D ) and manpages can also save space.
_________________
Powered by Gentoo since 1.0_rc6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stroke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2002
Posts: 36
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2002 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:D Thank you for the good tips ....

Quote:
(I do not need the Italian locales at all so why keep them? icon_biggrin.gif )


I don't need Italian locales either, even if my english is not that good :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kerframil
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 710
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 8:45 pm    Post subject: Here's a script that will clean out stale distfiles ... Reply with quote

OK, the script is ready - check out http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=3011. BTW, dArkMaGe - I have heeded your sage advice, the script will not delete the most current instance of any tarball, only stale ones. Any suggestions for improvements are welcome (I can think of plenty already) ...

EDIT: We also have a FAQ now. --pjp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum