Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
emerge -S doesn't work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iKiddo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 341
Location: Europe?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 9:59 am    Post subject: emerge -S doesn't work Reply with quote

Code:
[16:00@vc/2:ikiddo] emerge -S moz
Searching...  -Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 1387, in ?
    searchinstance.execute(mysearch)
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 250, in execute
    full_package = portage.portdb.xmatch("bestmatch-visible",package)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py", line 3181, in xmatch
    myval=best(self.xmatch("match-visible",None,mydep,mykey))
  File "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py", line 3192, in xmatch
    myval=self.match2(mydep,mykey,self.xmatch("list-visible",None,mydep,mykey))
  File "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py", line 3178, in xmatch
    myval=self.gvisible(self.visible(self.cp_list(mykey)))
  File "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py", line 3260, in gvisible
    myaux=db["/"]["porttree"].dbapi.aux_get(mycpv, ["KEYWORDS"])
  File "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py", line 2939, in aux_get
    myebuild=self.findname(mycpv)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py", line 2920, in findname
    myloc=self.oroot+"/"+mysplit[0]+"/"+psplit[0]+"/"+mysplit[1]+".ebuild"
TypeError: unsubscriptable object


It's what I get whenever I try to search for something :'(
Code:
*[16:04@vc/2:ikiddo] emerge info
Portage 2.0.46-r4 (default-x86-1.4, gcc-3.2.1, glibc-2.3.1-r2)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.4.19-gentoo-r10 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) Processor
USE="x86 cups motif zlib gdbm berkdb slang readline tcltk esd imlib -gtk2 -gnome2 3dnow avi gif gtk -ipv6 java jpeg -kde libg++ libwww mikmod -mmx -sse -sse2 mpeg oggvorbis opengl png python sdl svga truetype X xml xml2 xmms dga xv fbcon directfb qt -gnome bonobo -evo gtkhtml ncurses lcms quicktime alsa oss encode pam ssl crypt imap tcpd xface mozilla mozxmlterm spell pdflib tetex perl samba nls gpm -3dfx -matrox -apm -pcmcia -pnp -pda -qtmt -arts"
ARCH="x86"
COMPILER="gcc3"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=athlon -Os -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="-march=athlon -Os -pipe"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /etc /var/qmail/control /usr/share/config /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xkb"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/env.d"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
JDK_HOME="/opt/blackdown-jdk-1.3.1"
JAVA_HOME="/opt/blackdown-jdk-1.3.1"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
SYNC="rsync://ftp.snt.utwente.nl/gentoo-portage"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp://ftp.snt.utwente.nl/pub/os/linux/gentoo http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/distributions/gentoo"

Does anyone have an idea of what might be wrong ?? I only get this doing a "long" search (with capitol S). Tried searching the forum, but it takes too long, because two characters isn't long enough for a search term :(
I didn't find anything in bugzilla either. I've had this for some time already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:40 pm    Post subject: Re: emerge -S doesn't work Reply with quote

iKiddo wrote:
Tried searching the forum, but it takes too long, because two characters isn't long enough for a search term :(
Be a bit more creative with your search options. For example, I tried searching for "all" with emerge Traceback xmatch. A few results seemed relevant, but nothing with an obvious answer. Do you have any customized or homemade ebuilds?
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keratos68
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2002
Posts: 561
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does
Code:
emerge rsync
do?
_________________
Someone told me that "..they only ever made one mistake...."

...and that's when they said they were wrong!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iKiddo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 341
Location: Europe?

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2003 12:19 pm    Post subject: Re: emerge -S doesn't work Reply with quote

kanuslupus wrote:
iKiddo wrote:
Tried searching the forum, but it takes too long, because two characters isn't long enough for a search term :(
Be a bit more creative with your search options. For example, I tried searching for "all" with emerge Traceback xmatch. A few results seemed relevant, but nothing with an obvious answer. Do you have any customized or homemade ebuilds?


I looked throught those posts but couldn't find anything that could help me. Yes I have homemade ebuilds and also some I'm working on (in my overlay dir of course), will that matter? I'll try moving them.

dazzle68 wrote:
What does
Code:
emerge rsync
do?
It syncs my local portage tree with the official remote portage tree :D.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iKiddo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 341
Location: Europe?

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2003 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I moved my ebuilds I'm working on to my home dir and now I can Search properly, yay!
I'm not sure how handy it is that emerge searches in the overlay dir, I might file a bug. (You will know which ebuilds you have overlayed more or less, so you want need to search them.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2003 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Conceivably you could have alot of local ebuilds that might not be easy to remember. Or possibly, for a business, another administrator may not know what they are. Once the ebuilds work OK, the errors shouldl go away.

If there were a way for portage to more gracefully crash, that would be helpful.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keratos68
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2002
Posts: 561
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2003 7:58 pm    Post subject: Re: emerge -S doesn't work Reply with quote

iKiddo wrote:
It syncs my local portage tree with the official remote portage tree :D.


YES I KNOW THAT - I meant wht effect does it have - i.e. Does it solve anything - no matter, I'll assist elsewhere :evil:
_________________
Someone told me that "..they only ever made one mistake...."

...and that's when they said they were wrong!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iKiddo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 341
Location: Europe?

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2003 9:56 pm    Post subject: Re: emerge -S doesn't work Reply with quote

dazzle68 wrote:
iKiddo wrote:
It syncs my local portage tree with the official remote portage tree :D.


YES I KNOW THAT - I meant wht effect does it have - i.e. Does it solve anything - no matter, I'll assist elsewhere :evil:


I didn't mean to offend you (hence the smiley). Syncing didn't solve it, all I did was move my "experimental" ebuilds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum