Problems with Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ckrynne
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:20 pm    Post subject: Problems with Gentoo Reply with quote

I am really new to the Linux Operating System and a friend of mine introduced me to Gentoo over Mandrake. I was really impressed with the emerge utility that Gentoo offers, however, a few nights ago, I crashed my Gentoo Linux. I ended up having to re-install Mandrake just to get a Linux OS back onto my laptop.

Right now, I have everything pretty much configured the way that I would like it through Mandrake, except for the emerge tool.

Is there anyplace that I can download just emerge and it's dependancies?

Thanx in advance for all your help.

Ckrynne
Forse
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:38 pm    Post subject: Hmm... Reply with quote

Do you mean that you want to download packages from Mandrake so you don't have to do it again while installing gentoo? If so then you can do it by simply downloading files from gentoo mirrors and then placing them in where ever you PORTAGE_TMPDIR points to...

If you mean that you want to install emerge on mandrake, then it's possible too...I think. It was introduced in this forum...Don't remember who wrote...but I'm sure with a little searching on forum you'll find that topic. I just wouldn't reccomend using emerge on Mandrake.

Just download packages you need and fire up gentoo install :wink:
ckrynne
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 6:26 pm    Post subject: RE: Reply with quote

I am wanting to run emerge through Mandrake.

Why isn't that recommended?

Ckrynne
Forse
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 11:57 pm    Post subject: I don't get it... Reply with quote