Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ok prompt?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
b4nsh33
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:43 pm    Post subject: ok prompt? Reply with quote

how to get the ok prompt from the command prompt in gentoo?
i installed it on sunfire v240, so no keyboard or monitor, i connect to it from another sun machine (solaris 8) using tip.
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AllTom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Nov 2003
Posts: 147
Location: Wherever danger lies...

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 10:29 pm    Post subject: Re: ok prompt? Reply with quote

b4nsh33 wrote:
how to get the ok prompt from the command prompt in gentoo?

Could you explain what the "ok prompt" is?
_________________
rtylershaw: "My computer doesn't even work and I love this distro. Weird."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b4nsh33
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when you have a sun box, you can send the break secuence using the sun keyboard using the combination of STOP+A, after that you get the "ok prompt"

ok>

there you can change the default boot secuence (harddisk) to cdrom typing

ok>boot cdrom

that is what i want, but without sun keyboard, using a serial connection with "tip" command in solaris 8,
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AllTom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Nov 2003
Posts: 147
Location: Wherever danger lies...

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whoosh, the sound of myself passing outside my area of expertise. And here I thought you were crazy. :) Good luck with this.

I did what searching I could, since I was interested in Sparc anyway, and came across this:
Quote:
Caution - Do not use STOP-A for SPARC machines or F1-A for IA (Intel architecture) machines on the host machine to send a break to stop the test machine. This action actually stops the host machine. To send a break to the test machine, type ~# in the tip window. Commands such as this are recognized only if they are the first characters on a line, so press the Return key or Control-U first if there is no effect.

So have you tried typing "~#"? (This was found in a Google search for 'sparc tip', by the way.)
_________________
rtylershaw: "My computer doesn't even work and I love this distro. Weird."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 269
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From a serial console, the Stop-A equivalent is a Line-Break, but I don't know how you'd get that from tip.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b4nsh33
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

~# did the trick, thanks to everybody
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum