Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.11-rc1-nitro0: Back To The Basics
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Illissius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 395
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BlinkEye wrote:
Illissius wrote:
BlinkEye wrote:
Illissius wrote:
Hmm. I'm having a really strange problem: when I try and copy large amounts of stuff (when it's just a few files it works fine, but not with eg. my 10GB of music) to my iRiver (iHP-120, uses plain USB mass storage), at some point the transfer always freezes -- the disk access light keeps going constantly on the iRiver, even after I kill the transferring program, log out of KDE (which I had previously attributed the bug to, but apparently not), unmount the drive, anything, but after that point nothing seems to actually get transferred and it just corrupts the drive. So that leaves two possibilities: kernel, or hardware. I'm currently on 2.6.10-nitro2, but it's done this with every kernel I've used so far (I think they were nearly all nitros).
So my question is threefold:
1) Has anyone experienced anything similar?
2) Any config options I should look at?
3) Has there been any activity around this part of the kernel recently, eg, would it be worth it to try and upgrade? (I'd rather avoid rc versions, and would like to keep nvagp as well.)

i bet you're using reiser4

You lose that bet. Reiser3. It did the same thing with ext3.

alright. it's just that i had a similar behaviour with reiser4 with a lot of kernels while copying/untarring large files. i'm not betting again but i'd "say" it's kernel related :wink:

More info:
- when it corrupts the drive, it does it so that neither the player itself or windows can read it (iirc, linux could, but not sure). doing mkfs.msdos -F 32 makes it readable in linux, but the player and windows still don't see it -- a quick format in windows fixes it however.
- apparently, it also has the same bug when reading, but it doesn't corrupt the drive in that case.
- Earlier today I was making a backup of a disk on a different machine, and transferring the stuff from there to the player worked fine; however, trying to retrieve them on mine caused winderz to lock up about half way through, and the disk access light on the iRiver kept going all the way through a reboot until windows was mostly loaded (presumably, the point where it loads the UMS drivers). This rules out the kernel, and leaves hardware: either iRiver or motherboard. The fact that it worked on a different machine and it caused winderz to lock up means I'm inclined towards the motherboard being the culprit.
So, to sum up: God fucking damnit.
_________________
Work is punishment for failing to procrastinate effectively.
last.fm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hyp0luxa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

any chance LIRC will be back in nitro?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hyp0luxa: I'll look into it for the next release.
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pifactorial
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 77
Location: 3<x<4 on the gamma function

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 5:53 pm    Post subject: Countdown Reply with quote

I know I'm an impatient troll, but how long do we have to wait for nitro1?

:( *wimper

The anticipation is killing me...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As some software vendor once said:
Quote:

Release date: When it's done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chunderbunny
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 1281
Location: 51°24'27" N, 0°57'15" W

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tiger683 wrote:
As some software vendor once said:
Quote:

Release date: When it's done.


Yes, and we are still waiting for Duke Nukem Forever, 5 years later. "When it's done" doesn't fill anyone with confidence. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
a13x
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will supermount be included in the next release ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sorcerer'sApprentice
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jan 2005
Posts: 121
Location: Jesus College, Cambridge, England

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a13x wrote:
Will supermount be included in the next release ?


Have you tried ivman? I started using it recently, and it is more simple, clean and efficient than supermount. I recommend you have a look at this HOWTO.
_________________
"One of the major problems encountered in time travel is not that of accidentally becoming your own father or mother ... The major problem is quite simply one of grammar..."

Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ninpo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone gonna have a stab at my problem with the mm patches? See previous page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

change
Code:
agp_bridge
to
Code:
bridge


in file drivers/video/aty/radeon_pm.c line 874

for the second one, i think darckness did a little too rough hackery in this one.... ;)

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ninpo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot man :)

All I need now is a fix for the pcmcia and I can join the latest nitro users
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this one:

add
Code:

#include <asm-i386/mach-default/irq_vectors_limits.h>


into the file in includes block.

EDIT: well, will probably not work, the wonderful kernel-devs removed these funcs...
EDIT2: i have a bad feeling that the future kernel releases will get a really BIIIIIG pain in the as.s. so much stuff getting converted and removed....

Hey, ninpo, try reconfiguring the kernel and throw pcmcia away, that schould do unless u running a laptop with pcmcia cards in it....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The next nitro should be out by Friday.
Supermount will never be included to my knowledge.
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boroshan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 730
Location: upside down

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 2:10 am    Post subject: FWIW Reply with quote

If it helps any, I can confirm a couple of problems using experimental:

First, my system hangs on removal of my USB key. I do unmount first. No errors I've been able to find.

Second, the alsa modules report many many linking errors.

Haven't checked against the non-exprimental version, and with a new nitro en route probably won't unless it'd help in some way.
_________________
Don't let THEM immanentize the Eschaton!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allex87
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 154
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All right.. this baby's building right now! :) Hope this will be fast and stable ;-) Yeah right right? :P

Well I have hopes ;-)

Also, why is the Bootsplash option weird? I see it but I cannot enter the submenu... :/


Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allex87
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 154
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm this kernel seems a bit SLOWER than gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.10-rc4... Why is that? :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desertstalker
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darckness wrote:
I didn't put bootsplash in. It's in rc1. I'll add fbsplash back in when I can (when it doesn't break everything).


Bootsplash is not in rc1 it is in swsusp2. you need to revers patch 130 (i think) to patch in fbsplash there is only one small modification needed.

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Legoguy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 165
Location: Gurnee, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Illissius wrote:
Hmm. I'm having a really strange problem: when I try and copy large amounts of stuff (when it's just a few files it works fine, but not with eg. my 10GB of music) to my iRiver (iHP-120, uses plain USB mass storage), at some point the transfer always freezes -- the disk access light keeps going constantly on the iRiver, even after I kill the transferring program, log out of KDE (which I had previously attributed the bug to, but apparently not), unmount the drive, anything, but after that point nothing seems to actually get transferred and it just corrupts the drive. So that leaves two possibilities: kernel, or hardware. I'm currently on 2.6.10-nitro2, but it's done this with every kernel I've used so far (I think they were nearly all nitros).
So my question is threefold:
1) Has anyone experienced anything similar?
2) Any config options I should look at?
3) Has there been any activity around this part of the kernel recently, eg, would it be worth it to try and upgrade? (I'd rather avoid rc versions, and would like to keep nvagp as well.)


Pretty sure this is hardware. I have two iRiver iFPs, and they have a couple non-standard-ish or not-well-implemented things in the UMS protocol. Try this patch and report back:
http://turbogfx.homelinux.org/iriver.patch (might not apply cleanly, probably just a couple offset lines, it's not a big patch though).
Just trying to help although I'm not sure if it would fix your problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jods
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 83
Location: Patiala, Punjab.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 8:10 am    Post subject: Still unable to use nvidia drivers Reply with quote

i compiled the nvidia drivers but on bootup the screen hangs at the nvidia splash screen.
I am using riva tnt2 on athlon 2400+
my device section in XF86coonfig is as follows:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Riva"
Driver "nvidia"
VideoRam 32768
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
Option "NvAgp" "0"

Is there any other thing i need to change?

I am being forced to use the default nv drivers as the downgraded versions of nvidia drivers are not compiling :((.

Please help.

Thanks,
Jodhbir
_________________
My software has no bugs, it just develops unexplained random features.
Junkyard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mben
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Mar 2004
Posts: 465
Location: New York, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:15 pm    Post subject: Re: FWIW Reply with quote

boroshan wrote:
If it helps any, I can confirm a couple of problems using experimental:

First, my system hangs on removal of my USB key. I do unmount first. No errors I've been able to find.

Second, the alsa modules report many many linking errors.

Haven't checked against the non-exprimental version, and with a new nitro en route probably won't unless it'd help in some way.


the usb key thing, switch to the first console (ctrl+alt+f1) before unplugging and several pages of errors ending with a kernel panic are printed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
a13x
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thx, Sorcerer'sApprentice, now I don't need supermount any more. Project Utopia works for me ! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BloodyNewbie
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:08 pm    Post subject: kernel panic Reply with quote

Hi

With 2.6.11-rc1_r0 from nitro-sources I receive
Code:

Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(3,6)


My grub.conf looks like:
Code:

title=my panic attack
root(hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/kernel-2.6.11-rc1_r0 root=/dev/hda6


important fstab entry:
Code:

/dev/hda6     /      reiser4      noatime      0 1


My root partition is on /dev/hda6
And in the kernel config I have set the entry for Reiser4 support
(this wasn't able in former nitro kernels, but it worked there anyway).

I thought, that it may be that the kernel doesn't see the /dev/hda6 because it can't read the reiser4 filesystem.
It could imo also be that the kernel searches in a wrong place (where is block 3,6 anyway)...

Thanks for your consideration :)

best regards
patrick
_________________
gentoo - per aspera ad astra, or: riding on a rocket :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrApples
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2002
Posts: 511

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that usually happens if you dont have the filesystem compiled in or you dont have the necessary ide drivers compiled in

note that i said compiled in and not as modules, else it wont work
_________________
http://www.whatsinyourbox.org -- Technology discussion, news, and more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xithix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LILO wouldn't boot my kernel with 16k stacks, fyi.
_________________
:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fender1212
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Sep 2004
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

someone posted this as a problem on a thread in the amd64 section of the forums, even though it's not 64 specific. learned it was specific to 2.6.11-r1-nitro0 sources, so i thought i should post it here. if you compile the ati-drivers with the new nitro sources, drm doesn;t become built. which means no ati module at all. hope this gets fixed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 4 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum