Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
paranode
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Info for opening one up for RAM upgrades etc.:

http://www.smashsworld.com/2005/01/taking-apart-mac-mini-how-to.php

(may be under Slashdot effect or moved at any time, dunno)
technomage
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 9:28 pm    Post subject: Mini & MacOS X Reply with quote

Hi there!

As i have quite a bit experience with Mac OS X (in my side job i am a mac technician) as well as with gentoo (my favourite x86 OS), i have to admit that Mac OS X by far is the easiest to use and to administrate OS around.
A litte history:
Mac OS X has it's roots in NEXTSTEP, a unix flavour based on BSD and the Mach microkernel that was developed by a team around Steve Jobs in the time between 1985 and 1995 ( in that time he was not working for apple; in fact, he was thrown out 1985). Later in the 90's, when apple was desperately searching for a new OS (Mac OS 9 and it's predecessors were easier to use then any Windows, but it's capabilities, stability and security features were compareable to those of Win 98...;-), Jobs offered Apple his already far developed OS and, as it was accepted as the base of Apples future OS, became CEO of this nice little company again...
(you can read more on http://www.kernelthread.com/mac/osx/history.html)
The technical side of view: