Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Denu 2.0 - GUI based menu editing.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 9, 10, 11  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TanNewt
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you confirm its working on ~amd64? I just uploaded it. I'll add ~amd64 in the next release. NOW denu should work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Restarting now works ...

Generate menu gives me this ... where /usr/share/pixmaps/Editor.png doesn't exist.

Quote:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/denu", line 320, in menugen_prep
self.menugen(tree, wm)
File "/usr/bin/denu", line 353, in menugen
menu = denu.submenu(structure,menu,wm,menu_images) #generate menu guts
File "/usr/bin/denu", line 222, in submenu
file = open('/usr/share/pixmaps/' + media_images[prgm[1]][0], 'w')
IOError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/usr/share/pixmaps/Editor.png'

_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TanNewt
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this 2.1.2? It should have been fixed in 2.1.2.

Edit: the -r1 ebuild has ~amd64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TanNewt wrote:
Is this 2.1.2? It should have been fixed in 2.1.2.

Edit: the -r1 ebuild has ~amd64


Ok, works good with 2.1.2r1 menu generated successfully as a user.

Good job.

Just need that import facility now ;)
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TanNewt
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm glad it works. Once you keep using denu you can import those structure files. You can do specials via the add special thing. All they are are text inserted into the menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep works.

Couple of small things ...

Theres no styles menu for Waimea (only flux) .... and Vmware Workstation title doesn't fit in the waimea menu for me :roll:

ps: Did you try and msg me?
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TanNewt
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OKay, for the styles thing you can add a custom special. Click -> Specials[New] and have the name be Styles (or whatever) Content is the string which will add the styles (I dont know what for waimea) and Widnow Manager is just 'waimea'.

For Vmware all I can suggest is add a custom program. Simply click Add Program and set the portage id to 'custom' the Name is what you want display Categories is where in the autofilled menu it should be you probably just want '|' which is the root (you can always move it and Commands would be 'vmware' or whatever it is. Then hit submit and it should be added to both your menu and the installed programs.

Thanks for your interest.

Edit:
I tried adding you to my buddy list. I'm scotto2495 or tan_newt@hotmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thanks for the info ... I'll give it a try later.

Sorry, :? I wasn't sure who it was! so rejected ... I'll add you.
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goya13
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very Very nice idea!

love it!

suggestion: enlightenment 16.x!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TanNewt
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Enlightenment wont be very easy. They use seperate files and folder and junk. NOT fun. Maybe in a few weeks, thats not a top priority.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gungholady
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The latest version created very nice menus. The only problem is that only some of the items in the gnome menu have icons such as gimp in the menu. I tried changing permissions to the /usr/share/pixmap folder and even tried copying the pixmaps to my /home/user/.denu/pixmap folder. I regenerated the menu using both ways. It still isn't using all the pixmaps for the items in the menu. Gimp, firefox, thunderbird, archive, terms, utilities and net are the only ones that show up when the menu is generated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TanNewt
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, thats because the database is sparse with icons. Within the next version or two I will add a feature where you can select a file from your computer but I have yet to do this. If you would like to help fill the database with more icons let me know and I can tell you how.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gungholady
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I figured out how to get the icons to show up on the gnome menu. It just took a while to go through all them to point it to the correct icons.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TanNewt
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you use absolute paths? like /usr/share/pixmaps/icon.jpg or just icon.jpg? If its absolute it should be a relatively easy feature to add.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gungholady
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TanNewt wrote:
Did you use absolute paths? like /usr/share/pixmaps/icon.jpg or just icon.jpg? If its absolute it should be a relatively easy feature to add.


I used absolute paths to get it working on mine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gungholady
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found another problem that I don't remember seeing mentioned. I used denu to generate menus for openbox and gnome as user1. I log out as user1 and log in as user2. Denu generates the open box menu just fine for user2. It refuses to generate the gnome menu for user2 though.

This is all that is in the .xsession-errors file for user2:

/etc/X11/gdm/PreSession/Default: Registering your session with wtmp and utmp
/etc/X11/gdm/PreSession/Default: running: /usr/bin/X11/sessreg -a -w /var/log/wtmp -u /var/run/utmp -x "/var/gdm/:0.Xservers" -h "" -l ":0" "phil"
/etc/X11/gdm/Xsession: Beginning session setup...
/etc/X11/gdm/Xsession: Setup done, will execute: /usr/bin/ssh-agent -- gnome-session
SESSION_MANAGER=local/gungholady:/tmp/.ICE-unix/7055

(gnome-session:7055): Gtk-WARNING **: Unable to locate theme engine in module_path: "thinice",
Window manager warning: Log level 16: Unable to locate theme engine in module_path: "thinice",

(gnome-panel:7127): Gtk-WARNING **: Unable to locate theme engine in module_path: "thinice",

(nautilus:7125): Gtk-WARNING **: Unable to locate theme engine in module_path: "thinice",
/usr/bin/denu:733: GtkWarning: Unable to locate theme engine in module_path: "thinice",
self.window = gtk.Window(gtk.WINDOW_TOPLEVEL)
/usr/bin/denu:733: GtkWarning: /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.4.0/engines/libredmond95.so: undefined symbol: gtk_widget_get_direction

This error is because there was a block on yesterday's updates and the thinice theme engine had to be unemerged in order for the updates to apply. There is nothing in /var/log/messages regarding this problem. These errors don't show up when user1 is logged in. Possibly because a different theme is used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TanNewt
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont see the connection between that error and Denu. Look on the forums and bugzilla to see if others are getting it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gungholady
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I couldn't see the connection either. I did't have denu open from a command prompt so I think I need to try that to see if can find just what the hold up is.

Edit:

It turns out that user2 was missing the .gnome2/vfolder directory and one of the files in /usr/share/denu still did not have the correct permission. Fixed those problems and it created the gnome menu for user2 just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TanNewt
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What exactly did you do? I'd like to know that so I can get it right for the next release. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gungholady
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had to chown root:root all the files in /usr/share/denu/directory_files with permissions 666. I had to create the missing /home/user2/.gnome2/vfolder directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TanNewt
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Denu is featured in this week's GWN. See here.

Along with that, I just released version 2.2. It features editing of entries so that commands can be customized and icons set. Now you can also select multiple entries using ctrl and add or delete them. I have also embarked on getting KDE to work which it does as long as you follow the instructions. However there may be some leftover entries. Also, the entries will not be in order. If you need documentation check here. Its basic but more than nothing. Bear in mind mine is only a draft.

If you wish to help with denu send me an email its in the about of denu. Or you can pm me. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Epcylon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2002
Posts: 34
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds good... Any chance of WindowMaker support any time soon? :D
_________________
Epcylon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EvilGrin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just installed Denu on my system. I've hit a few problems.

First, I had to give my unpriverlaged user write permissions on the following files:

/usr/share/denu/installedDB
/usr/share/denu/menu_images.p
/usr/share/denu/sysprgms.p
/usr/share/denu/sysprgms.txt

at that point I could run update and sysupdate without it complaining. However, I get nothing listed in the installed window and pressing autofill does nothing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vagabond
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jan 2003
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just installed denu 23.2 from the ebuld on sourceforge and I get this wonderful error:

Code:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/denu", line 1163, in ?
    treeviewdndex = DenuGUI()
  File "/usr/bin/denu", line 1048, in __init__
    self.populate_installed('', 'yes')
  File "/usr/bin/denu", line 732, in populate_installed
    prgm = ['folder', prgm[0], '', self.pixbuf_manager('/home/scott/.denu/pixmaps/denu_folder.png'), '']
  File "/usr/bin/denu", line 613, in pixbuf_manager
    self.pixbuf_index[filename] = gtk.gdk.pixbuf_new_from_file_at_size(full_filename, 16, 16)
gobject.GError: Failed to open file '/home/scott/.denu/pixmaps/denu_folder.png': No such file or directory


Looks like you've left a hard-coded path in there or something, tho denu did run the first time I tried it, but doing the update stuff didn't seem to do anything and those same errors were in the console.

Vag
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TanNewt
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EvilGrin, run denu from the command line and post the error. Thanks. Vagabond, nice catch. I'm fixing that right now.

Edit: Just released a fix, 2.2.1, try that it should work. It fixed a bug I found last night and the one you posted Vagabond. EvilGrin I havea feeling its the same bug for you.


Last edited by TanNewt on Mon Jan 10, 2005 4:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 3 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum