Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Please Post ALL! Games That Need Either the Original Disk
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
elboricua
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 226
Location: Bronx, NY

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stahlsau wrote:
^^ mmh. neverwinternight-sources are downloaded by portage, aren´t they? I think so...but you need a cdkey or s/t.


You do need the cd for the expansions however.
_________________
Boricua Hasta La Muerte
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arkham
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 111
Location: Quilpue, Chile

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sir_tez wrote:
Warcraft III
Warcraft III Frozen Throne


Linux binaries already?? 8) NOT!!

?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VladP12
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 432
Location: San Fransisco

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arkham wrote:
sir_tez wrote:
Warcraft III
Warcraft III Frozen Throne


Linux binaries already?? 8) NOT!!

?


I believe he refers to cedega on this, because you don't really need a cd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
footloose
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Location: GMT-8

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

duke3d requires some files that aren't in portage, someone please correct me and tell me how to get it to work if i'm wrong!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wishkah
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 441
Location: de

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That "TA" in your list doesn't stand for "Total Annihilation", does it? I thought they never released the source...
_________________
if only I could fill my heart with love...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
russianpirate
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 1167
Location: Detroit, MI

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if u can get NWN from portage and all u need is a cdkey, isnt this a easy-way to get the game since many many people give their CDKEYS and GENERATORS that ppl can even find on google

hopefully this ^ is not considered discussing illegal information :P

NumaSan wrote:
Q3A + Team Arena

Team arena is not in portage, is it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NumaSan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Aug 2003
Posts: 100
Location: Copenhagen

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

russianpirate wrote:
Team arena is not in portage, is it?

No, but it needs the original disk to get the data (topic)

wishkah wrote:
That "TA" in your list doesn't stand for "Total Annihilation", does it? I thought they never released the source...

Sry, my bad. It's not Total Annihilation (unfortunately), but an abbreviation(sp?) of Team Arena.
_________________
--- checking for native Win32 platform... no
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3327

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So is it Team Arens or Total Annihilation?
_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi

Cold is gods way to tell us to burn more Catholics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NumaSan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Aug 2003
Posts: 100
Location: Copenhagen

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I wrote "TA" I meant "Team Arena". That's also why I edited my post from "Q3A + TA" to their real names, Again, sorry for the misunderstandings.

Anybody know if the linux-port (work in progress) of "Warzone 2100" need the original disks?
_________________
--- checking for native Win32 platform... no
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3327

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok matey changed it so it says
Quote:
Quake3
Quake3 Team Arena

_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi

Cold is gods way to tell us to burn more Catholics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wishkah
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 441
Location: de

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NumaSan wrote:
Anybody know if the linux-port (work in progress) of "Warzone 2100" need the original disks?

Yes, the wz2100 port to GNU/Linux (and other OS's) needs the original CD.

And I hate the people responsible (whoever that is) for not releasing the Total Annihilation source finally. It'd be so amazing to work on that source. I love that game.
_________________
if only I could fill my heart with love...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3327

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wishkah wrote:
NumaSan wrote:
Anybody know if the linux-port (work in progress) of "Warzone 2100" need the original disks?

Yes, the wz2100 port to GNU/Linux (and other OS's) needs the original CD.

added
_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi

Cold is gods way to tell us to burn more Catholics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aynjell
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 1117

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the scumm games:

Full Throttle
The Secret of Monkey Island
Monkey Island 2: LeChuck's Revenge
Loom
Sam & Max
Day of The Tentacle

Granted, there are several others, but I don't know them off the top of my head. ALso, FOTAQ is now freeware. The need for the discs is probably m00t. In fact, you can get it off of scummvm's site. The same also applies for Beneath A Steel Sky.
_________________
CPU: 3800+ X2 (2.5Ghz)
GPU: eVGA 7600GT (640/1700)
MOBO: DFI SLI-DR (Surprisingly good!)
RAM: 2 x OCZ Gold 1024 DDR500 3-4-3-7 (2048)
HDD: Western Digital Raptor


Last edited by Aynjell on Mon Jul 04, 2005 3:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Menfis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2005
Posts: 68
Location: /home/Latvia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Diablo2: lod 1.10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3327

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

whats lod?

Please give the correct, full names
_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi

Cold is gods way to tell us to burn more Catholics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Menfis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2005
Posts: 68
Location: /home/Latvia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DiabloII lord of destruction v1.10

EDIT:

Diablo can also be run with d2loader + copy all *.mpq from lord of destruction CD. But loader is only for win32 platforms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ScytheBlade1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2004
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:40 pm    Post subject: Correction Reply with quote

UT2003 and UT2004, with the latest patch applied, do not need a CD to play the game.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aynjell
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 1117

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I recall, this thread is to determine whether or not they are needed for the installation. No linux released game i've bought ever needed a CD in during play.
_________________
CPU: 3800+ X2 (2.5Ghz)
GPU: eVGA 7600GT (640/1700)
MOBO: DFI SLI-DR (Surprisingly good!)
RAM: 2 x OCZ Gold 1024 DDR500 3-4-3-7 (2048)
HDD: Western Digital Raptor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malevolent
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Barcelona

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aynjell wrote:
If I recall, this thread is to determine whether or not they are needed for the installation. No linux released game i've bought ever needed a CD in during play.


i cannot remeber right now... but didnt need Serious Sam the CD to play?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
huh_dude
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 166
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heroes of Might 'n Magic 7 (fer Blood n Honor)
my first desktop game ever
this game cannot be launched properly in winxp <sob>
it also needs a 3DO patchfix after 1st install for character inventory-screen overflows
_________________
teh last part was important, setflags bit in...
#include <milk>
#include <iomanip>
int main()
{
const float large_mug=pourPot;
cin>> coffee | large_mug;
cout<<"Coffee"=coffee;
}
#make Coffee ..was zero, the program wouldn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
player1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

russianpirate wrote:
if u can get NWN from portage and all u need is a cdkey, isnt this a easy-way to get the game since many many people give their CDKEYS and GENERATORS that ppl can even find on google


NWN is mostly played online, and I'm pretty sure that some kind of check would be performed either when you are connected to a network (a la Doom 3) or when you upgrade the client version.
_________________
--- Anything in parenthesis can (not) be ignored.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
/carlito
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 450
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quake 4
_________________

.O.
..O
OOO
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KosiarZ
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Warcraft 2
_________________
Contact:
IRC: KosiarZ @ quakenet
GG: 3227669
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
j_c_p
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Aug 2003
Posts: 297
Location: France - Colmar

PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KosiarZ wrote:
Warcraft 2

Better : Warcraft II in order to play Wargus :
http://wargus.sourceforge.net/
http://www.cse.lehigh.edu/~munoz/CSE497/assignments/WargusProject.html

edit : ooops, sorry it's already done -> http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=54991

edit2 : a personal shot -> http://img462.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wargus50sl.png
_________________
Lian Li PC60 - AMD Phenom II X6 1100T BE - Asrock 990FX EXTREME9 - MSI 480GTX TFII - M-Audio Delta Audiophile 24/96
Kernel 3.14.4 KDE 4.13.1 GCC 4.8.2 x86_64 05/16/2014
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wiz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Sep 2005
Posts: 121
Location: {€urope}

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gta, gta2 & wild metal :) old but freeee
http://www.rockstargames.com/classics/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum