Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDM woes.. remove "system" users from it?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 12:41 am    Post subject: KDM woes.. remove "system" users from it? Reply with quote

How do I remove system users from KDM?

I start up KDM, and the users it has in it are stuff like cron, etc...

I tried looking for documentation on disk, but unfortunately the furthest I could dig up about it was that it was part of kdebase and it uses pam. :)

can anyone help me out?

PS: I just installed Liquid on KDE, very nice and it speeds it up at that. (guess it's not just a theme) It's on apps.kde.org.

--
Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1140
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you mean from the logon?...good question...isnt there a user manager in kde...did you try userdel also?

and the mosfet liquid is also on portage...but no cystal artwork and icons as of yet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DarrenM
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 653
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can specify which users (or none) are visible in the kdmrc file. Do a "locate kdmrc" to find it.

To display all/selected/no users, modify the ShowUsers= and Users= lines. There are usually comments there to explain what you need to set them to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomte
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rommel wrote:
you mean from the logon?...good question...isnt there a user manager in kde...did you try userdel also?


is this a joke? please tell me it's a joke...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol
Back to top
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1140
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i swear i am smarter then that in real life...i just dont remember which life it was....LOL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnimalMachine
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 106
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you don't want to edit the rc file by hand there is a GUI configuration tool for KDM. Check your menu's, but I think it's somewhere in "Settings". (I'm at work on a Windows box, so I can't tell ATM)

Once you find the GUI config tool, I believe it's either the last tab, or the second to last tab, that lets you specify what users to show - or to turn that feature off completely.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 2:18 pm    Post subject: remove users Reply with quote

On KDE you may fire up the System Control ( green button on the bottom panel ) and open the last option in the tree in left side.
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rommel wrote:
you mean from the logon?...good question...isnt there a user manager in kde...did you try userdel also?


I did as you told (userdel) me and now my computer is starting to do wierd things... Keeps telling me that theres no such user or something every few seconds.

*JK* :lol:

Hey, I wanted to thank everyone who answered my question, I got it fixed in a jiffy thanks you to guys. I guess I needed to look around a bit more for the login manager. Once I got in there, I had issues with my 2 users on this machine not even being there. So, FYI for all of you that have this issue in a galaxy far far away, what I did was make sure that the default shell for the user in their entry in the /etc/passwd was set. (for some reason it was blank....)

After that, the users came up, and I have a non-crowded KDM screen for once!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One thing to note also, I tried to add a new window manager into the list and it wouldn't for the life of me stay. (kept knocking it out of the kdmrc file, whether by hand or through gui)

I had to remove the trailing comma after kde-3.0. Then, it stayed. wierd.... (if I put windowmaker at the end of the lineup it did the same thing)

anyway... fixed. just wanted to document that one thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum