Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
emerge system failed
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
webhawg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2002 11:51 pm    Post subject: emerge system failed Reply with quote

I'm in the process of installing gentoo. I just finished the bootstrap. Now I'm trying to emerge system, but it fails everytime.

Code:

Resolving www.ibiblio.org.... failed:  Host not found.

Resolving alpha.gnu.org.... failed:  Host not found.
Couldn't download autoconf-2.53a.tar.ba2.  Aborting.


Is something wrong with my network configuration? It was working fine during the bootstrap and my other pc's are connecting fine.

Code:

cdimage portage # ifconfig
bash: ifconfig: command not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roTor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2002
Posts: 55
Location: Atlanta, GA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2002 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try /sbin/ifconfig -a
This should show a NIC and a loopback running if you have both enabled.
_________________
Even if you're on the right track, you'll get run over if you just sit there.
-- Will Rogers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
webhawg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2002 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Try /sbin/ifconfig -a
This should show a NIC and a loopback running if you have both enabled.

I get this...

cdimage portage # /sbin/ifconfig -a
bash: /sbin/ifconfig: no such file or directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2002 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

webhawg wrote:
Quote:

Try /sbin/ifconfig -a
This should show a NIC and a loopback running if you have both enabled.

I get this...

cdimage portage # /sbin/ifconfig -a
bash: /sbin/ifconfig: no such file or directory

Where are you running this command from?
From the chroot'ed environment or from the CD environemnt? In other words, from the console prompt where you ran the bootstrap or from another console window?

I have a feeling that you are running this command from the bootstrap windo. try to switch to another console and log in as root before you run the command.

You can also try to exit out of all your console windows and reboot with the CD, then log in again, run net-setup eth0, make sure that the network is up and running, create /mnt/gentoo again and mount all of your partitions, chroot again and try to emerge system again.

Erik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum