Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Steam on Gentoo ~amd64 [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 843
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 3:35 pm    Post subject: Steam on Gentoo ~amd64 [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi,

After reading this:
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Steam

I have this: (is steam still in portage?)
Code:
# emerge --ask @steam

emerge: There are no sets to satisfy 'steam'. The following sets exist:

    changed-deps
    downgrade
    installed
    live-rebuild
    module-rebuild
    preserved-rebuild
    rebuilt-binaries
    security
    selected
    system
    unavailable
    unavailable-binaries
    world
    x11-module-rebuild


Last edited by Xywa on Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
j_c_p
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Aug 2003
Posts: 297
Location: France - Colmar

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

-> http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Steam/Manual_installation
That's the way to install Steam imho : it's working perfectly for me.
_________________
Lian Li PC60 - AMD Phenom II X6 1100T BE - Asrock 990FX EXTREME9 - MSI 480GTX TFII - M-Audio Delta Audiophile 24/96
Kernel 3.14.4 KDE 4.13.1 GCC 4.8.2 x86_64 05/16/2014


Last edited by j_c_p on Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 843
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

j_c_p wrote:
-> http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Steam/Manual_installation
That's the way to install Steam imho : it's working perfect for me.


I did try it before, but I have steam
Quote:
Fatal Error: Failed to load steamui.dll


Code:
$ ./steam.sh
Running Steam on gentoo  64-bit
STEAM_RUNTIME is enabled automatically
[2014-11-08 18:24:30] Startup - updater built Aug 26 2014 15:35:42
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(0_client)
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1.0)
[2014-11-08 18:24:30] uninstalled manifest found in /mnt/twardy/steam/package/steam_client_ubuntu12 (1).
[2014-11-08 18:24:30] Found pending update
[2014-11-08 18:24:30] Installing update...
[2014-11-08 18:24:30] Extracting package...
[2014-11-08 18:24:43] Installing update...
[2014-11-08 18:24:44] BCommitUpdatedFiles: failed to create directory ./steam/cached
[2014-11-08 18:24:44] BCommitUpdatedFiles: failed to process ./steam
[2014-11-08 18:24:44] Failed to apply update, reverting...
[2014-11-08 18:24:44] Verifying installation...
[2014-11-08 18:24:44] Unable to read and verify install manifest /mnt/twardy/steam/package/steam_client_ubuntu12.installed
[2014-11-08 18:24:44] Verification complete
[2014-11-08 18:24:44] Downloading update...
[2014-11-08 18:24:44] Checking for available updates...
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1.0)
[2014-11-08 18:24:44] Download complete.
[2014-11-08 18:24:44] Extracting package...
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1.0)
[2014-11-08 18:24:56] Installing update...
[2014-11-08 18:24:57] BCommitUpdatedFiles: failed to create directory ./steam/cached
[2014-11-08 18:24:57] BCommitUpdatedFiles: failed to process ./steam
[2014-11-08 18:24:57] Failed to apply update, reverting...

[2014-11-08 18:26:38] Shutdown
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hasufell
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like you have permission problems, check the output. It cannot create some directories.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 843
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hasufell wrote:
Looks like you have permission problems, check the output. It cannot create some directories.


I have made this directory ./steam/cached mannually, but it did not help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hasufell
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xywa wrote:
hasufell wrote:
Looks like you have permission problems, check the output. It cannot create some directories.


I have made this directory ./steam/cached mannually, but it did not help.

Because creating directories manually does not fix permission problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 843
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hasufell wrote:
Xywa wrote:
hasufell wrote:
Looks like you have permission problems, check the output. It cannot create some directories.


I have made this directory ./steam/cached mannually, but it did not help.

Because creating directories manually does not fix permission problems.


All permissions looks OK here.

Does anyone can use Steam on Gentoo ~amd64?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
santosjaycee0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 6:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xywa wrote:
Does anyone can use Steam on Gentoo ~amd64?

I am able to use Steam on ~amd64. I followed the manual installation too.

I might suggest redownloading/reinstalling Steam.

https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Steam_under_Linux#Gentoo mentions gamerlay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dweezil-n0xad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 83
Location: Ostend, Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use Steam on ~amd64. I used the steam overlay: https://github.com/anyc/steam-overlay
_________________
ASUS N56VV | i7-3630QM @ 2,4GHZ | 12GB DDR3 | NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2GB | 256GB SSD
HP HDX 18 | C2Q Q9000 @2GHz | 6GB DDR3 | NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT 1GB | 128GB SSD | 500GB HD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1447
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have done the manual installation, too, and it works like a charm.

Honestly, the "ebuild-way" only puts some (tiny!) stuff in central places, but users still have to install to their home folders anyway. Like on windows. Every user is on their own. Therefore I do not see any reason to use ebuilds with steam. It is just not worth the many hassles. And if your system is single-user only ...
_________________
systemd - The biggest fallacies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 843
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dweezil-n0xad wrote:
I use Steam on ~amd64. I used the steam overlay: https://github.com/anyc/steam-overlay


How to run it? I cannot find any command like 'steam' after installing it from layman.
I've got:
Code:
# layman -a steam

 * Adding overlay...
 * Overlay "steam" is not an official. Continue install? [y/n]: y
 * Running Git... # ( cd /var/lib/layman  && /usr/bin/git clone git://github.com/anyc/steam-overlay.git /var/lib/layman/steam )
Cloning into '/var/lib/layman/steam'...
remote: Counting objects: 1435, done.
remote: Total 1435 (delta 0), reused 0 (delta 0)
Receiving objects: 100% (1435/1435), 291.16 KiB | 101.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (605/605), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
 * Running Git... # ( cd /var/lib/layman/steam  && /usr/bin/git config user.name "layman" )
 * Running Git... # ( cd /var/lib/layman/steam  && /usr/bin/git config user.email "layman@localhost" )
 * Successfully added overlay(s) steam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dweezil-n0xad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 83
Location: Ostend, Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Checking my system...
Code:
dweezil@hdx-18 ~ $ equery belongs /usr/bin/steam
 * Searching for /usr/bin/steam ...
games-util/steam-launcher-1.0.0.49 (/usr/bin/steam)
dweezil@hdx-18 ~ $ emerge games-util/steam-launcher -pv

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] games-util/steam-launcher-1.0.0.49::steam-overlay  USE="steamruntime" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB
the readme needs to be updated.
_________________
ASUS N56VV | i7-3630QM @ 2,4GHZ | 12GB DDR3 | NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2GB | 256GB SSD
HP HDX 18 | C2Q Q9000 @2GHz | 6GB DDR3 | NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT 1GB | 128GB SSD | 500GB HD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 843
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dweezil-n0xad wrote:
Checking my system...
Code:
dweezil@hdx-18 ~ $ equery belongs /usr/bin/steam
 * Searching for /usr/bin/steam ...
games-util/steam-launcher-1.0.0.49 (/usr/bin/steam)
dweezil@hdx-18 ~ $ emerge games-util/steam-launcher -pv

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] games-util/steam-launcher-1.0.0.49::steam-overlay  USE="steamruntime" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB
the readme needs to be updated.


Many thanks! This did the job! SOLVED 8) :D 8) :D

Another question: How you run steam on Optimus Laptops? I have downloaded Legend of Grimrock, and when I run it by 'optirun stem' when games starts, I have a blank screen, mouse pointer form the game, and freeze... When I started with 'primusrun steam' system says it do not suport Intel card (looks like nvidia doesn't work).

I have the same game bought direct from game developer and works perfectly as 'optirun grimrock' and 'primusrun' grimrock.

Do I have any options for Nvidia Optimus card inside steam software or should I do anything else in Gentoo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1447
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xywa wrote:
Another question: How you run steam on Optimus Laptops?
In the settings for your game you can set command line options.

right click on a game
-> Properties
-> Set Launch Options
-> Enter "primusrun %command%"

Done.
_________________
systemd - The biggest fallacies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 843
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yamakuzure wrote:
Xywa wrote:
Another question: How you run steam on Optimus Laptops?
In the settings for your game you can set command line options.

right click on a game
-> Properties
-> Set Launch Options
-> Enter "primusrun %command%"

Done.


Still the same :(

I have installed this:
Code:
*  media-libs/libtxc_dxtn
      Latest version available: 1.0.1-r1
      Latest version installed: 1.0.1-r1
      Size of files: 210 KiB
      Homepage:      http://cgit.freedesktop.org/~mareko/libtxc_dxtn/
      Description:   Helper library for S3TC texture (de)compression
      License:       MIT

as is told here:
http://www.grimrock.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=4604

Maybe my primus is not 32bit?
Quote:
Note - Primus must be installed with 32-bit support because Steam for Linux (and most games downloaded from Steam) are 32-bit.

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=6316-GJKC-7437
Code:
# equery u primus
[ Legend : U - final flag setting for installation]
[        : I - package is installed with flag     ]
[ Colors : set, unset                             ]
 * Found these USE flags for x11-misc/primus-9999:
 U I
 - - abi_x86_32 : 32-bit (x86) libraries



Sorry - update!!!

This did the job!! 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8)
Code:
USE="abi_x86_32" emerge primus

everything works fine now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum