Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Optirun + wine + eve online
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mrmarbury
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 1:50 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Optirun + wine + eve online Reply with quote

Hi,

my headline says it all. After spending a whole weekend figuring out how to get this Optirun stuff to work. "Native" games seem to work. At least Minecraft does. But I have Problems with Eve Online over Wine. Whenever I start it I get a black screen character selection screen. But I can click around in there and select my character. Then the GUI loads up as black screen as well but with the chat window accessible.

Then wine starts to puke onto my console, saying:

Code:
err:d3d:buffer_direct_upload >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> GL_INVALID_VALUE (0x501) from glMapBufferRange @ /var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/wine-1.7.28/work/wine-1.7.28/dlls/wined3d/buffer.c / 669
err:d3d:buffer_direct_upload Failed to map opengl buffer


until I stop the program.

The following things apply to my current setup:
- Lenovo T540p with Nvidia Optimus stuff
- Bumblebee/Optirun works for Minecraft without error
- I use x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-343.22-r2
- I have x11-misc/virtualgl installed, with ABI_X86="32 64 -x32"
- it doesn't matter if I do a eselect opengl set nvidia or eselect opengl set xorg-x11
- primusrun doesn't help either


Did anybody encounter this problem as well? I don't think this is solely related to eve online but an optirun + wine thing?

Cheers,
Stefan[/list]


Last edited by mrmarbury on Fri Oct 17, 2014 5:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrmarbury
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nobody has any idea? Hmm.

I fixed this in part by doing a:
Code:
export WINEPREFIX=win32
before starting the game. But the only thing that changes is that the failed to map opengl buffer error goes. The rest is still the same.

Cheers,
Stefan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tw04l124
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 1599
Location: A t z e l, lower austria

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well wine is / was / never will be perfect to run current wins... software at all

a) try around
b) wait at least 5 years until it may work
c) install a virtualization host with installed windows in it
d) dual boot windows

Personal opinion:

But most important when you buy windows game you say, yes I want windows as beeing the operating system of choice, i use windows and therefore i play on windows. I stopped supporting long time ago any windows game publisher because of it. there are plenty of choices out there without windows. e.g. steam may work recently with a few games

dosbox works now with any of the dos games i wanted to play, maybe in 20 years wine may play the games of this years flawless when it is abandonware...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrmarbury
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I play eve online on wine for years now and it always worked flawlessly. Even on FreeBSD. Where it runs out of the box even though FreeBSDs wine support is a bit hacky sometimes. But this is not the topic here . And it worked well until I had to use bumblebee last week.
So this is no "wine does not support this game"-thread but a "hey, I have to use bumblebee. Now wine complains about stuff that worked before. Can I have a little help please"-thread.

The "switch to winbloze" stuff doesn't really help here. Sorry.

But maybe a hint like "hey I had a similar problem. Did you try this ... ?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 887
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 2:45 pm    Post subject: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

Teegrins, mrmarbury!


I'm a little bit hesitant on jumping in on this one, as I have never had optirun and friends so I have no experience with them.

Have you asked via IRC at #winehq at Freenode?

mrmarbury wrote:
I fixed this in part by doing a:
Code:
export WINEPREFIX=win32
before starting the game. But the only thing that changes is that the failed to map opengl buffer error goes. The rest is still the same.

Do you really mean WINEPREFIX=win32?

This variable is used for setting the prefix, like, WINEPREFIX=/path/to/Wine/windows/installation.

If you meant WINEARCH, this would change nothing for an already created prefix. If you want to create a 32-bit installation, you need to set it before you create a new prefix. That is, before you run Wine after you delete or move your default /home/user/.wine directory elsewhere, or set another one.

For example:

Code:
WINEARCH=win32 WINEPREFIX=/path/to/blah winecfg

Have you tried disabling the graphics switching? I'm not sure if that even makes sense as a question, but I have this faint memory of reading other people dealing with optirun, and doing something along those lines... a real shot in the dark, I'm afraid! >.<

Looking just now at some bugs that have optirun mentioned, there indeed are some mentions towards that, for example in this Witcher bug.

I think those are what I would aim my research at first if I had the same issue.

tw04l124 wrote:
well wine is / was / never will be perfect to run current wins... software at all

a) try around
b) wait at least 5 years until it may work
c) install a virtualization host with installed windows in it
d) dual boot windows

Personal opinion:

But most important when you buy windows game you say, yes I want windows as beeing the operating system of choice, i use windows and therefore i play on windows. I stopped supporting long time ago any windows game publisher because of it. there are plenty of choices out there without windows. e.g. steam may work recently with a few games

dosbox works now with any of the dos games i wanted to play, maybe in 20 years wine may play the games of this years flawless when it is abandonware...

Wine actually is doing a great job with many (most that I have tried) games and software. From what you write, I would say much, much better than what you might think. ^^

In the case of Eve Online, the current and most recent AppDB results are all 'gold', so it should run pretty well indeed out-of-the-box.

I suspect optirun etc. indeed have something to do with the issue.
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrmarbury
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 3:54 pm    Post subject: Re: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

Hi,

Chiitoo wrote:
If you meant WINEARCH, this would change nothing for an already created prefix. If you want to create a 32-bit installation, you need to set it before you create a new prefix. That is, before you run Wine after you delete or move your default /home/user/.wine directory elsewhere, or set another one.

For example:

Code:
WINEARCH=win32 WINEPREFIX=/path/to/blah winecfg


Gee! You are right. And that was what I have meant. I must have been asleep when I wrote this :roll:

I recalled the actions I took from my head and must have mixed up some stuff. Yes, I've deleted .wine and recreated it with the WIREARCH variable set. After that and the reinstallation the error was gone ... at least. But the background is still black.

Chiitoo wrote:

Have you tried disabling the graphics switching? I'm not sure if that even makes sense as a question, but I have this faint memory of reading other people dealing with optirun, and doing something along those lines... a real shot in the dark, I'm afraid! >.<
Looking just now at some bugs that have optirun mentioned, there indeed are some mentions towards that, for example in this Witcher bug.

Not yet. Because I wasn't able to get any 3d working with the internel Intel card when I first tested, if I can live without optimus stuff.

Chiitoo wrote:

I suspect optirun etc. indeed have something to do with the issue.

I am not quite sure. I will install eve again with "play on linux" and test stuff then.

Cheers,
Stefan

P.S. Thx for jumping in ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 836
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Sorry for OT, but is there any topic to explain, how to run Eve on Gentoo?

I can run Minecraft and lots of other games with optirun or primusrun (much more fps that optirun), but I never could run EVE :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrmarbury
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh darn it ... it works!

Some idiot (me 8) ) forgot to put himself into the video group.

So for completeness of contents - what did I do?

0 - get bumblebee to work with proprietary nvidia drivers and do eselect opengl set nvidia
1 - install the latest wine package ( 1.7.28 )
2 - install virtualgl with 32 and 64bit ABI_X86
3 - install d3dx9_<latest>, corefonts, vcrun2005-2010, gecko via winetricks
4 - create 32bit wine prefix: WINEARCH=win32 winecfg (deleted .wine beforehand)
5 - in winecfg in Library overrides:
5.1 - select d3dx11 and disable it
5.2 - select msvcr100 and edit as: builtin, native
5.3 - select d3dx9_<latest>
6 - Download and install the latest eve online
7 - gpasswd -a video <user>
8 - start eve: optirun wine explorer /desktop=EVE,1920x1040 c:\\Program\ Files\\CCP\\EVE\\eve.exe
9 - have fun :)

I hope that helps somebody else ...

Cheers,
Stefan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 836
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrmarbury wrote:
Oh darn it ... it works!

Some idiot (me 8) ) forgot to put himself into the video group.

So for completeness of contents - what did I do?

0 - get bumblebee to work with proprietary nvidia drivers and do eselect opengl set nvidia
1 - install the latest wine package ( 1.7.28 )
2 - install virtualgl with 32 and 64bit ABI_X86
3 - install d3dx9_<latest>, corefonts, vcrun2005-2010, gecko via winetricks
4 - create 32bit wine prefix: WINEARCH=win32 winecfg (deleted .wine beforehand)
5 - in winecfg in Library overrides:
5.1 - select d3dx11 and disable it
5.2 - select msvcr100 and edit as: builtin, native
5.3 - select d3dx9_<latest>
6 - Download and install the latest eve online
7 - gpasswd -a video <user>
8 - start eve: optirun wine explorer /desktop=EVE,1920x1040 c:\\Program\ Files\\CCP\\EVE\\eve.exe
9 - have fun :)

I hope that helps somebody else ...

Cheers,
Stefan


Quote:
0 - get bumblebee to work with proprietary nvidia drivers and do eselect opengl set nvidia
Got it
Quote:
1 - install the latest wine package ( 1.7.28 )
Got it

Quote:
2 - install virtualgl with 32 and 64bit ABI_X86

It looks I do not have 64bit, and I do not have set USE flags for ABI 32 bit. Should I set those flag only for this package or for whole system?
Code:
# equery u virtualgl
[ Legend : U - final flag setting for installation]
[        : I - package is installed with flag     ]
[ Colors : set, unset                             ]
 * Found these USE flags for x11-misc/virtualgl-2.3.3:
 U I
 - - abi_x86_32 : 32-bit (x86) libraries
 + + ssl        : Add support for Secure Socket Layer connections


Quote:
3 - install d3dx9_<latest>, corefonts, vcrun2005-2010, gecko via winetricks

Code:
# emerge winetricks
WARNING: One or more repositories have missing repo_name entries:

        /usr/local/my/profiles/repo_name

NOTE: Each repo_name entry should be a plain text file containing a
unique name for the repository on the first line.


Calculating dependencies... done!

!!! The ebuild selected to satisfy ">=net-libs/webkit-gtk-1.4.0:3" has unmet requirements.
- net-libs/webkit-gtk-2.4.6::gentoo USE="X egl geoloc gles2 gstreamer introspection jit opengl spell webgl (-aqua) -coverage -debug -libsecret -test -wayland" ABI_X86="64"

  The following REQUIRED_USE flag constraints are unsatisfied:
    webgl? ( exactly-one-of ( gles2 opengl ) )

  The above constraints are a subset of the following complete expression:
    geoloc? ( introspection ) introspection? ( gstreamer ) gles2? ( egl ) webgl? ( exactly-one-of ( gles2 opengl ) ) !webgl? ( at-most-one-of ( gles2 opengl ) ) any-of ( aqua wayland X )

(dependency required by "gnome-extra/zenity-3.12.1[webkit]" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "app-emulation/winetricks-20140302[gtk]" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "winetricks" [argument])
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum