Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.9-nitro2 "Now with wings"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
charlieg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Jul 2002
Posts: 2148
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dammit, this hangs on boot for me like all the other kernels I've tried since 2.6.8.1 based patchsets.

Although it hung at a more unusual point (usually hangs at "Loading keymaps" but was after restoring alsa mixer levels this time).

Not fair. :evil:
_________________
Want Free games?
Free Gamer - open source games list & commentary

Open source web-enabled rich UI platform: Vexi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Twiggy794
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 321
Location: Hershey, PA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have APIC turned off in the config right? AFAIK you shouldn't need it turned on when you have an SMP machine, but I could be wrong.
_________________
"Subtraction: Addition's tricky pal." --David Letterman
http://ferg.ath.cx == teh bL0g
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
utpark
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@seppe:

Win4Lin patch of 2.6.9-nitro2 is available :wink: .

http://dawoum.wowdns.com:8080/jsboard/read.php?table=Gentoo&no=77&page=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thnikkaman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:43 pm    Post subject: LEAP Anyone? Reply with quote

Anyone in here using this kernel patch with an Aironet card, and are successfuly LEAP authenticating?

My aironet card works well with an open access point, but no leap.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seppe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 431
Location: Hove, Antwerp, Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

utpark wrote:
@seppe:

Win4Lin patch of 2.6.9-nitro2 is available :wink: .

http://dawoum.wowdns.com:8080/jsboard/read.php?table=Gentoo&no=77&page=1


Thanks, I've updated my post.

Does is work when you've already applied the Software Suspend 2 patch?
_________________
nitro-sources, because between stable and experimental there exists only speed

Latest release I made: 2.6.13.2-nitro1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
utpark
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@seppe:

I didn't apply Software Suspend 2 patch.

but no rejection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdkbx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Does is work when you've already applied the Software Suspend 2 patch?


yes, it seems to work. i used win4lin, suspended, resumed, used win4lin again. looks good so far. xmms is skipping under load.

finally software suspend 2 and win4lin in nitro sources :P

thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sobers_2002
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 1128

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my nitro is skipping under load even without those patches......is there no soln for this problem??
_________________
Pdict - dockable dictionary client for linux
FREE97WIN: Use this code on Dreamhost and you get $97 off !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
artic
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 1208

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use 2.6.8.1-nitro6 it work fine with reiser4.I try compile other versions 2.6.9-nitro1 or nitro 2 ,i get warnings compiling reiser4 modules and when i boot the bzImage it works ,but i try to move a big file the system hang.I get the same error with other kernels with reiser4.
Have fun
_________________
Pwd by Gentoo | 2.6.28-gentoo-x64 | kde4.2| ext4 | xorg 7.4 |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bollucks
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Oct 2004
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sobers_2002 wrote:
my nitro is skipping under load even without those patches......is there no soln for this problem??


You wouldn't still be -nicing X would you? It is recommended to run X at nice 0 with the staircase scheduler. For resistant cases you can use SCHED_ISO with the schedtools for low cpu low latency things (audio):

schedtool -I -e xmms
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schizoid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Apr 2003
Posts: 267

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I boot with this kernel I am given a friendly message about how I am not using devfs or udev and that I should read the gentoo manual. After a 15 second pause it seems to boot fine using udev which I have been using for quite some time now.

When alsa starts it complains that there is a permission issue with the sound device but I am listening to mp3s right now so I don't know what that is all about.

I simply used the .config file from 2.6.9-nitro1 with 'make oldconfig' so I don't see what the problem is :(. Not a big deal I guess since everything seems to work....

I couldn't find anything relevant in a forum search.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sobers_2002
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 1128

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bollucks wrote:
sobers_2002 wrote:
my nitro is skipping under load even without those patches......is there no soln for this problem??


You wouldn't still be -nicing X would you? It is recommended to run X at nice 0 with the staircase scheduler. For resistant cases you can use SCHED_ISO with the schedtools for low cpu low latency things (audio):

schedtool -I -e xmms


i wasn't renicing X.........and that didn't help :( :(
_________________
Pdict - dockable dictionary client for linux
FREE97WIN: Use this code on Dreamhost and you get $97 off !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bollucks
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Oct 2004
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sobers_2002 wrote:
bollucks wrote:
sobers_2002 wrote:
my nitro is skipping under load even without those patches......is there no soln for this problem??


You wouldn't still be -nicing X would you? It is recommended to run X at nice 0 with the staircase scheduler. For resistant cases you can use SCHED_ISO with the schedtools for low cpu low latency things (audio):

schedtool -I -e xmms


i wasn't renicing X.........and that didn't help :( :(


Maybe you're using esd? Try using the alsa driver in your audio playback instead. If you still need audio mixing, use dmix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Isaiah
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 359

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flies thru the ET and Doom 3 test here - maybe it's time to go back to reiser4 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
k_max
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 7:56 am    Post subject: acpi-dsdt-initrd-patch-v0.6-2.6.9-for-nitro.diff Reply with quote

2 seppe

Quote:
acpi-dsdt-initrd-patch-v0.6-2.6.9-for-nitro.diff | Custom acpi dsdt (untested)


1) well, this seems to break CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_DSDT and CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_DSDT_FILE (included in 2.6.9 source from acpi-20040816-26-stable-release.diff.bz2), even if not used. I have a laptop with blacklisted ACPI (Presario 1700), and i've always compiled my DSDT (as C-file) into the kernel to have ACPI running. With this patch and my DSDT compiled in i got a lot of ACPI errors on boot and up to 40% lost packets when using built-in NIC (Tulip). Could you please exclude this patch from your nitro-sources or make 2 versions - with and without it?
Anyway, it's not possible to use one more initrd (initramfs with splash images and initrd with custom DSDT) when using fbsplash, isn't it?

2) Is vesa-tng generally broken or is it just not functional with VBE 2.0 cards? I have an ATI Rage Mobility P/M and it takes a looooot of time when switching from X to console and back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TecHunter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Feb 2003
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just tried. But the vesafb-tng didn't work, back to r1 now.
anyone has the same problem?
_________________
Gentoo is GREAT!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sobers_2002
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 1128

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bollucks wrote:

Maybe you're using esd? Try using the alsa driver in your audio playback instead. If you still need audio mixing, use dmix.


no i am using alsa with dmix... :( :(
_________________
Pdict - dockable dictionary client for linux
FREE97WIN: Use this code on Dreamhost and you get $97 off !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robin79
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Oct 2003
Posts: 632
Location: /home/valdemarsvik

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice one grabbing it when getting home tonight :)
_________________
Gentoo 2005.0
ASUS P5AD2 Deluxe MB
Intel P4 3.2GHz
PCI-E Nvidia Geforce PCX 5750
--------------------

Registered Linux User Nr # 319050 http://counter.li.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zerojay
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Aug 2003
Posts: 1033

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kernel kills interrupt handler as soon as emerge is run and according to the info that comes out, looks like it's a problem somewhere in preempt. I have preemptive kernel and preempting the big kernel lock on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SKLP
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 May 2004
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thx for this nice patchset.

no offense, but y bloat up the kernel with stuff that's available in portage, for example LIRC and LUFS.

and y include supermount even though u encourage ppl to not use it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sibov
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 147
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

link to win4lin patch seems to be broken for me :oops:

can anybody please check it? or post a new link if it is really broken?


thanx :wink:
_________________
Gentoo 2.6.17-gentoo-r5 with dmraid Raid0 Dualboot
AMD64 X2 3800+, 4x512MB DDR PC3200Pro Corsair Geforce EN6600GT silencer @ 256MB
4x250GB SATAII Samsung SP120, Asus A8N Premium, Plextor PX712SA DVDRW
Logitech Dinovo, SB Audigy4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirko_3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 605
Location: Birreria

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SKLP wrote:
thx for this nice patchset.

no offense, but y bloat up the kernel with stuff that's available in portage, for example LIRC and LUFS.

and y include supermount even though u encourage ppl to not use it?


Well, lirc for one requires a kernel patch and the userspace tools, so it's not redundant or anything...
_________________
Non fa male! Non fa male!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pumpkins
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mirko_3 wrote:


Well, lirc for one requires a kernel patch and the userspace tools, so it's not redundant or anything...


wrong, the 0.7pre serie can build modules with 2.6 kernel without any patch needed.:wink:
I'm currently using it with a ck kernel...

I'm not sure, but I think it goes the same way for lufs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baeksu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 609
Location: Seoul, Korea

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:15 pm    Post subject: Re: acpi-dsdt-initrd-patch-v0.6-2.6.9-for-nitro.diff Reply with quote

k_max wrote:

Anyway, it's not possible to use one more initrd (initramfs with splash images and initrd with custom DSDT) when using fbsplash, isn't it?


AFAIK, you can include the fixed dsdt in to the initrd.

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=760293#760293

At least it´s worked for me, though I can´t get fbsplash to work. Worked with bootsplash, though.
_________________
Gnome:
1. A legendary being.
2. A never ending quest to make unix friendly to people who don't want unix and excruciating for those that do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eikketk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2003
Posts: 270
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:32 pm    Post subject: Re: acpi-dsdt-initrd-patch-v0.6-2.6.9-for-nitro.diff Reply with quote

baeksu wrote:
k_max wrote:

Anyway, it's not possible to use one more initrd (initramfs with splash images and initrd with custom DSDT) when using fbsplash, isn't it?


AFAIK, you can include the fixed dsdt in to the initrd.

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=760293#760293

At least it´s worked for me, though I can´t get fbsplash to work. Worked with bootsplash, though.
Caus bootsplash uses initrd's, like the dsdt patch, and gensplash uses initramfs, which is something else.
_________________
Working day and night to enhance the Linux Desktop Experience :)

Homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 2 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum