Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Is Debian About Open Source Or Shared Binaries?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
EzInKy
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2002 12:44 am    Post subject: Is Debian About Open Source Or Shared Binaries? Reply with quote

Recently, I replaced Mandrake with Debian because, although I have been using Gnu/Linux for a few years now, I just never got around to trying it out. I found the install not nearly as hard as many people lead me to believe, quite the opposite as a matter of fact. The system is well organized and apt is just as awesome in upgrading software as advertised.

What I was disappointed with is its software. Sure there is plenty of it but the majority of packages, even in "unstable", are two or three versions behind what is available in the "wild". Curious as to why this was and hearing rumors of an "apt-build" program I did some lurking on linux.debian.devel and was immediatly attracted to a thread with the title "Are we losing users to Gentoo?". After reading it, I got the idea that many of the Debian developers felt that compiling code for particular hardware was a waste of time, and something that users should not be routinely doing.

Now that really bothered me. Is Debian, the flagship of the open source movement, really about nothing more than distributing precompiled binaries?
klieber
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2002 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not gentoo-related that I can see. Moving from chat to OTW.

--kurt
echeslack
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2002 7:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote