Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Xorg.conf for Blade 1000 with PGX64?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
firdarrig
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Glendale, CA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 4:27 pm    Post subject: Xorg.conf for Blade 1000 with PGX64? Reply with quote

OK, after doing the complicated mating dance required to get Gentoo running on my Blade 1000, I'm very happy with it. Things just work, and all is happy...except X. I've got a PGX64 graphics card (ATI 3D RAGE XL chip underneath), but any attempt to fire up X fails, badly.

The only graphics chip setting in xorg.conf that X will actually do something for (as opposed to immediately erroring out) is this:
Code:
  Section Device
    Identifier "PGX64"
    Driver "ati"
  EndSection


Unfortunately, firing up X with that in the config file results in an X process that uses 99% of the CPU and blanks the screen without producing output...and the process can't be killed, so I have to reboot between tries. Just for kicks, I've tried the above both with and without Option "UseFBDev" "true"--doesn't seem to make a difference.

Anyone successfully gotten X working with this configuration? Thanks in advance for any help!

(EDIT) Here's my Xorg.cfg if anyone would like to to peruse it:

http://www.ibiblio.org/purvis/gentoo/Xorg.cfg


Last edited by firdarrig on Thu Oct 14, 2004 5:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Emphii
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello firdarig.

I mostly got same problem like you have, with U10. But after couple of tryings and (unwanted) boots I found help for this from following message thread:

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=228445

By reading that tread carefully you get hint, what might get wrong. First of all,
your /etc/X11/xorg.conf seems to be quite direct copy from .example.
Try running Xorg -configure and after that modify your /root/xorg.conf.new
with your most favourite editor (mine is vi ! =) ) and remember to take a
close look to /var/log/Xorg.0.log. Now after many hours of hacking, I managed
to start X, but I still have a /etc/issue with resolution.

Anyway - Remember that when the log says -> use kdb instead of keyboard <-
DON'T use. At least not first. I got only weird behaving keyboard and
quite slowly starting gnome, which "zapped" by telling me, that there
is another Xmanager running. There weren't.

I hope, this will help.
_________________
/tmp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ferris
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 426
Location: N. Virginia (USA)

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With kernel 2.4.xx, don't use 'kbd' Keyboard driver at first or later, either. There's special code in the
ebuild script just so that you can use the 'keyboard' driver.

I'd like to see the configuration file for anyone who can make the combination
kernel-2.4.27+sun-keyboard+'kbd' do anything reasonable. (That's not a joke or a challenge; it's a request.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firdarrig
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Glendale, CA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Emphii wrote:
First of all,
your /etc/X11/xorg.conf seems to be quite direct copy from .example.
Try running Xorg -configure and after that modify your /root/xorg.conf.new
with your most favourite editor (mine is vi ! =) ) and remember to take a
close look to /var/log/Xorg.0.log.


To paraphrase Jack Nicholson, "I'd be the luckiest man alive if that did it for me." :) Seriously, thanks for the tip! Unfortunately, running "Xorg -configure" produces the same result as "Xorg -config /root/xorg.conf.new"--I get a black screen and no response, while the CPU pegs at 100%. Bad stuff, eh? Not sure what the deal is; I'll have to play around a bit more and see if I can convince it to at least run the configure script.

Emphii wrote:
I hope, this will help.


Thanks for the help! I'll keep wrestling with it, and pass along anything I come up with. :)

--J
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum