Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
argg kde3 starting problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nzer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2002
Posts: 34
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2002 11:26 pm    Post subject: argg kde3 starting problems Reply with quote

Hi,

To cut a long story short i had gentoo installed for about 2 months then HDD failed and so now i'm installing again. It is possible i have screwed up during the install but I don't think so.

What i've done so far:

Installed gentoo using rc6 boot ISO.
Update the profile early in the stage to the 1.0 version of Gentoo
System install and boots fine
emerge kde
installs X fine and i get X going.
kde appears to install fine

Now.. the KDE emerge DIDN'T install KDM.. infact emerge search kdm doesn't even find anything.. same thing with XDM. So i thought i'll just do
/usr/bin/kde/3/startkde .. and i get this error message

mkdir: cannot create directory '/root/.kde3' : File Exists

xsetroot: unable to open display ""
xset: unable to open display ""
xset: unable to open display ""
xset: unable to open display ""

iceauth: creating new authority file /root/.ICQauthority
iceauth:/tmp/dcoplryYgA:1: bad "add" command line
iceauth:/tmp/dcoplryYgA:2: bad "add" command line

DCOPClient::attachInternal. Attach failed Authentication Rejected, reason :None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host based authentication failed
ICE Connection rejected

DCOPClient::attachInternal. Attach failed Authentication Rejected, reason :None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host based authentication failed
ICE Connection rejected

kpersonlizer: cannot connect to X server
kpersonlizer: cannot connect to X server
kpersonlizer: cannot connect to X server
kpersonlizer: cannot connect to X server
kpersonlizer: cannot connect to X server

and so on...

okay.. i have no idea what that means so i try some other stuff. I go startx and then in one of the Xterms i type exec startkde. The same error messages pop up BUT i start seeing the KDE configuration thing (the thing where it asks you where you live and all that stuff) but while this is going on heaps of interprocess errors are popping up. So .. KDE is installed properly but something else is going wrong.. what? :-)

i was going to try using GDM to start KDE but don't want to download and compile all of Gnome.

Can anybody help me?

Cheers,

Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nzer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2002
Posts: 34
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 12:25 am    Post subject: fixed... Reply with quote

fixed it.. turned out to be a problem with my hostname *sigh*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Location: Columbus, OH -- USA

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2002 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you be more specific about what you did? i am having the same problems and am looking for the answer.
_________________
Plem
"Sit down and shut up, try not live up to all my expectations." -- Special Agent Polk, The Sting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Location: Columbus, OH -- USA

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2002 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

helps when you read the directions. I forgot to put startkde in my .xinitrc.
_________________
Plem
"Sit down and shut up, try not live up to all my expectations." -- Special Agent Polk, The Sting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum