Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
create ebuild for ipe howto
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
_hephaistos_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 2694
Location: salzburg, austria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 10:11 am    Post subject: create ebuild for ipe howto Reply with quote

hello!

(It's my first ebuild!)
I'd like to create an ebuild for IPE (http://ipe.compgeom.org/).
I of course read the gentoo ebuild howto but there are some things I don't really understand howto solve:

1) filename is: ipe-6.0pre23-src.tar.gz the gentoo ebuild doc says that it should be ipe-6.0_pre23-src.tar.gz... notfiy the "_" between version and pre. I thought I solve this by declaring an extra variable:
Code:
PROGRAM_NAME="ipe-6.0pre23-src.tar.gz"


2) but if I do not name the ebuild "6.0pre"... the uncompressed version has a directory called "ipe-6.0pre23" I have to cd into. so I just hardcoded in src_compile:
Code:

cd "work/ipe-6.0pre23/src"


3) the next one is: in the "ipe-6.0pre23/src" directory is a config.pro where a IPEPREFIX variable has to be uncommented and should be set!
Code:

IPEPREFIX="/usr/local/ipe" #or similar

where should I install ipe to? /usr/share?? the ipe binary goes to /usr/bin?

4) the next thing is that ipe has some libs which have to be entered into the /etc/ld.so.conf. If I enter the path to the libs manually the line is removed automatically...

thx in advance,
ciao
_________________
-l: signature: command not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pythonhead
Developer
Developer


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 1801
Location: Redondo Beach, Republic of Calif.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 4:57 pm    Post subject: Re: create ebuild for ipe howto Reply with quote

hephaistos6 wrote:

1) filename is: ipe-6.0pre23-src.tar.gz the gentoo ebuild doc says that it should be ipe-6.0_pre23-src.tar.gz... notfiy the "_" between version and pre. I thought I solve this by declaring an extra variable:
Code:
PROGRAM_NAME="ipe-6.0pre23-src.tar.gz"



Traditionally we use MY_P when modifying P. In this case, if your ebuild name is ipe-6.0_pre23.ebuild you'd use:

Code:
MY_P="${PN}-${PV/_/}-src"
SRC_URI="http://ipe.compgeom.org/${MY_P}.tar.gz"


Quote:

2) but if I do not name the ebuild "6.0pre"... the uncompressed version has a directory called "ipe-6.0pre23" I have to cd into. so I just hardcoded in src_compile:
Code:

cd "work/ipe-6.0pre23/src"



Change S to this and the cd... line:
Code:
S=${WORKDIR}/${MY_P/-src//}
cd ${S}/src


Quote:

3) the next one is: in the "ipe-6.0pre23/src" directory is a config.pro where a IPEPREFIX variable has to be uncommented and should be set!
Code:

IPEPREFIX="/usr/local/ipe" #or similar

where should I install ipe to? /usr/share?? the ipe binary goes to /usr/bin?


Change /usr/local/ipe using esed to /usr/share/ipe, most likely. But it depends on what they are installing in it. The binary goes in /usr/bin

Quote:

4) the next thing is that ipe has some libs which have to be entered into the /etc/ld.so.conf. If I enter the path to the libs manually the line is removed automatically...


You should probably put the libs in a standard place so you won't have to mess with ld.so.conf, like /usr/lib
Where does it want to put them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_hephaistos_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 2694
Location: salzburg, austria

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi!

thx for your reply.

I'll try those things you told me!

the problem is that IPE does NOT put the libs somewhere... it has a /lib directory, but someone on the mailing list told me that I have to enter the path in the /etc/ld.so.conf...
I will try to put them into /usr/lib/ipe.
could you please tell me howto "pretty" move the lib files? should I use something like:
Code:

mv ${S}/build/lib/* /usr/lib/ipe/


thx in advance!
_________________
-l: signature: command not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pythonhead
Developer
Developer


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 1801
Location: Redondo Beach, Republic of Calif.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hephaistos6 wrote:

could you please tell me howto "pretty" move the lib files? should I use something like:
Code:

mv ${S}/build/lib/* /usr/lib/ipe/



Yes, but you put it in ${D}, and let emerge move it to the actual file system itself:
Code:

dodir /usr/lib/ipe (or mkdir -p ${D}/usr/lib/ipe)
mv ${S}/build/lib/* ${D}/usr/lib/ipe/
(also look at "dolib")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_hephaistos_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 2694
Location: salzburg, austria

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi there!

now I always get some QT "ACCESS DENIED" messages ending up in sandbox violation:
Quote:

--------------------------- ACCESS VIOLATION SUMMARY ---------------------------
LOG FILE = "/tmp/sandbox-dev-tex_-_ipe-6.0_pre23-13062.log"

open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qt_plugins_3.3rc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qt_plugins_3.3rc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qt_plugins_3.3rc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qt_plugins_3.3rc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qt_plugins_3.3rc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qt_plugins_3.3rc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qtrc.lock
open_wr: /usr/qt/3/etc/settings/.qt_plugins_3.3rc.lock
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


could you pleas tell me what might be wrong?

another question: do you think I should post a bug report for this ebuild (because it's missing...)?

thx in advance
_________________
-l: signature: command not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pythonhead
Developer
Developer


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 1801
Location: Redondo Beach, Republic of Calif.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hephaistos6 wrote:

now I always get some QT "ACCESS DENIED" messages ending up in sandbox violation:


Depending on the version of qt required, put this at the top of the ebuild with any other inherits:

Code:
inherit kde-functions
need-qt 3


Look at /usr/portage/eclass/kde-functions to see how it fixes the sandbox problem.

Quote:

another question: do you think I should post a bug report for this ebuild (because it's missing...)?


I didn't look to see what the package is, but if you think it should be in portage, tell why you think it would make a good addition in your bug report.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_hephaistos_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 2694
Location: salzburg, austria

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi again!

thx for your patience, but I'm absolutely not familar with ebuild creation!

I now got everything I think it might be right in the ${D} directory.
how can I now install these things without violating against the sandbox :)

thx in advance!
_________________
-l: signature: command not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_hephaistos_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 2694
Location: salzburg, austria

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*bump*
_________________
-l: signature: command not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ciaranm
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 1719
Location: In Hiding

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 10:34 pm    Post subject: Re: create ebuild for ipe howto Reply with quote

Pythonhead wrote:
Code:
MY_P="${PN}-${PV/_/}-src"
SRC_URI="http://ipe.compgeom.org/${MY_P}.tar.gz"


Or, to avoid the voodoo, you can do:
Code:

inherit versionator
MY_P="${PN}-$(replace_version_separator 2 '' )-src"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_hephaistos_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 2694
Location: salzburg, austria

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi!

could you please tell me howto install the created image too?

thx in advance!
_________________
-l: signature: command not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pythonhead
Developer
Developer


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 1801
Location: Redondo Beach, Republic of Calif.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using the ebuild command to install it in ${D}?
Code:

ebuild /path/to/your/ebuild unpack
ebuild /path/to/your/ebuild compile
ebuild /path/to/your/ebuild install
ebuild /path/to/your/ebuild qmerge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_hephaistos_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 2694
Location: salzburg, austria

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi!

happy new year :)

you mean the src_install() {} function I think.
what should I write in there? I tried "make INSTALL_ROOT="${D}" install" but there was no rule to make target :)

thx in advance again!
_________________
-l: signature: command not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fritz Heinrichmeyer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Hagen, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 1:34 pm    Post subject: ipe ebuild results so far Reply with quote

could you please post your so far created ebuild ...

mabe someone (i) finishes it ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fritz Heinrichmeyer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Hagen, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, i filed my/your ebuild

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=80448
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pythonhead
Developer
Developer


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 1801
Location: Redondo Beach, Republic of Calif.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I cleaned up your ebuild a bit:

Set S, got rid of MY_S so you could remove src_unpack
Put both inherits on one line
Simplified MY_P a bit

https://bugs.gentoo.org/attachment.cgi?id=50213&action=view

I haven't tested compiled it and don't have kde, so I'm not sure
about your comment on IPEBROWSER. You probably want to set IUSE with the available flags (kde whatever) and then set that variable accordingly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7753
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just installed it with the ebuild from the bugreport, worked like a charm. It would be a nice addition to the portage tree.

Moved from Portage & Programming to Unsupported Software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum