Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Changing CHOST Safe?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rev138
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 848
Location: Vermont, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fixed it by creating a symlink from /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6 -> /usr/lib/gcc/3.4.4/i586-pc-linux-gnu/libstdc++.so.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hielvc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2801
Location: Oceanside, Ca

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive done this also, but does this really need to be done? As I understand it CHOST is used only by gnu make. Though its nice to have it reflect your real i686 as oposed to i386, does it really mattrer one iota :?:
_________________
An A-Z Index of the Linux BASH command line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nicias
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recently changed the CHOST on my machine (I had set it incorrectly when I installed) I had no trouble emerging the toolchain (did this twice.) I had all of the "i386..." not found errors people had reported once I started emerge -e system. Emerging xorg-x11 and python first fixed those errors, I also did what was suggested here:

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-321340-start-0-postdays-0-postorder-asc-highlight-changing+chost.html

and it seems to be going fine. I am on my second emerge -e system and all seems to be going well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nicias
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, finished all my emerge's everything went well. Only problem was the python and xorg-x11 one mentioned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
f.kater
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 334
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 9:14 pm    Post subject: is it save to change CHOST? Reply with quote

Hi,

I've installed an old harddisc with gentoo into a new computer with a pentium III processor. May I now change CHOST in /etc/make.conf from i486-.. to i686-.. without running into trouble?

The whole system seems to be compiled with CFLAGS="-03 -mcpu=i686 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer".

And, ehm, I do have ssh connection to the box only...

Felix
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SinoTech
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 2579
Location: Neunkirchen / Saarland / Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Changing the CHOST will cause trouble the one way or the other. So you should really know what you're doing if changing it. If you only has ssh access to the box, you shouldn't do such experiments ;).

Regards,

Sino
_________________
Help to answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Merged above two posts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
applejack69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Location: Frankston, Victoria

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just thought i'd add my $0.02 worth:

I tried some of the suggestions as described in these posts, but they all failed miserably at some stage.
Then I came to thing about how gcc upgrades are handled, and came up with this:


Set your new CHOST in make.conf, and change optimization settings as needed.

in my case, I was changing from i686 to i586 (amd duron to pentium-mmx).

then:

emerge gcc
gcc-config -f i586-pc-linux-gnu-3.4.6
emerge --oneshot libtool
emerge -e world
env-update
source /etc/profile
emerge -e world

this seemed to work for me, even tho you're left with a stale copy of the old chost compiler.

Kind Regards,

John Hansen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kbps
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Location: Vladivostok, Russia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I change i386 to i686 (CHOST) and I've the same problem...
and I fix it !!
Now not more:

    grep: /usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.6/libstdc++.la: No such file or directory
    /bin/sed: can't read /usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.6/libstdc++.la: No such file or directory
    libtool: link: `/usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.6/libstdc++.la' is not a valid libtool archive


wait... I emerge kdelibs-3.5.3-r3 now... after - I give you needed command :)

p.s. I change CHOST from i386 on stage3 [for livecd] to i686.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kbps
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Location: Vladivostok, Russia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, kdelibs emerged successful !

just before
Code:

# emerge -av binutils-config gnuconfig m4 bison libintl gcc-config autoconf autoconf-wrapper automake pkgconfig make flex gdb patch
# env-update && source /etc/profile


:P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MdaG
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 945
Location: Stockholm, Sverige

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

glibc is bugging me about changing CHOST:
Code:
 * glibc-2.4 is nptl-only!
 * NPTL requires a CHOST of i486 or better

!!! ERROR: sys-libs/glibc-2.4-r3 failed.
Call stack:
  ebuild.sh, line 1555:   Called dyn_setup
  ebuild.sh, line 668:   Called pkg_setup
  glibc-2.4-r3.ebuild, line 1079:   Called die

So I'm wondering, isn't it easier to just do a clean install rather than change the CHOST (and gcc-version) and do:
Code:
# emerge -e system
# emerge -e system
# emerge -e world
# emerge -e world

Especially nowadays, when Gentoo actually has an installer ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
michaeljt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the above problem. Being a bit lazy I have not reemerged world, but just the toolchain (twice), a few other tools and done a revdep-rebuild.

One thing I have noticed which does not seem quite right to me is that the revdep-rebuild does not catch all dependencies. The most recent one was that kdevelop depended on cervisia. As far as I can see, this is not explicit, but rather autoconf finds cersivia on the system and pulls it in. cervisia was only scheduled to be rebuilt later in the revdep-rebuild. Is this right, or is it a bug? I would have thought that a programme should not depend on libraries which happen to be on the system unless the USE flags explicitly state that it should.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tribue
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have changed the CHOST to i686-pc-linux-gnu and I am trying to update my system. Actually I use paludis instead of portage, and when I try to reinstall system says:

Code:
-common -s -o .libs/file file.o  ./.libs/libmagic.so -lz
creating file
Making all in magic
Making all in doc
Making all in python
running build
running build_ext
building 'magic' extension
creating build
creating build/temp.linux-i686-2.4
i586-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -DNDEBUG -march=pentium-m -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -D_GNU_SOURCE -fPIC -I./ -I../ -I../src -I/usr/include/ -I/usr/include/python2.4 -c py_magic.c -o build/temp.linux-i686-2.4/py_magic.o
gcc-config error: Could not run/locate "i586-pc-linux-gnu-gcc"
error: command 'i586-pc-linux-gnu-gcc' failed with exit status 1

!!! ERROR in sys-apps/file-4.20-r1:
!!! In distutils_src_compile at line 1259
!!! compilation failed

!!! Call stack:
!!!    * distutils_src_compile (/var/tmp/paludis/sys-apps/file-4.20-r1/temp/loadsaveenv:1259)
!!!    * src_compile (/var/tmp/paludis/sys-apps/file-4.20-r1/temp/loadsaveenv:3883)
!!!    * ebuild_f_compile (/usr/libexec/paludis/src_compile.bash:51)
!!!    * ebuild_main (/usr/libexec/paludis/ebuild.bash:354)
!!!    * main (/usr/libexec/paludis/ebuild.bash:372)

die trap: exiting with error.

Install error:
  * In program paludis -i system:
  * When performing install action from command line:
  * When executing install task:
  * When installing 'sys-apps/file-4.20-r1':
  * Install error: Install failed for 'sys-apps/file-4.20-r1::gentoo'


Resume command: paludis --log-level qa --dl-deps-default discard --install '=sys-apps/file-4.20-r1::gentoo' '=sys-apps/net-tools-1.60-r13::gentoo' '=sys-devel/flex-2.5.33-r2::gentoo' '=dev-libs/mpfr-2.2.1_p5::gentoo' '=media-libs/libart_lgpl-2.3.19-r1::gentoo' '=sys-fs/e2fsprogs-1.39-r2::gentoo' '=dev-db/postgresql-8.1.8::gentoo' '=app-admin/eselect-1.0.9::gentoo' '=media-sound/esound-0.2.37-r1::gentoo' '=media-libs/jpeg-6b-r8::gentoo' '=app-editors/xemacs-21.4.20-r2::gentoo' '=app-arch/gzip-1.3.11::gentoo' '=net-misc/openssh-4.6_p1-r1::gentoo' '=sys-apps/busybox-1.5.0::gentoo' '=sys-apps/hdparm-6.9-r1::gentoo' '=sys-apps/man-pages-2.43::gentoo' '=app-i18n/man-pages-es-1.55-r1::gentoo' --add-to-world-spec '( )'

Any way to workaround this mess and get it working again? Well, my system is working perfectly but I cannot install/update packages due to Could not run/locate "i586-pc-linux-gnu-gcc".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum