Linux in fiction: help
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kikinovak
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2002 12:15 pm    Post subject: Linux in fiction: help Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm an Austrian writer living in Montpellier/South France. I'm currently busy with my second novel "Austrian Psycho". One of my characters works on a PC and wonders about boot messages and viruses. Thought he might as well be a Linux user 8O

I myself was a Linux man (Slackware, Debian, Gentoo) until my PC got stolen. The thing I'm currently typing my novel and this message on is an Apple ibook with OS X.

Story plays between May 1999 and June 2000. Now that would be a Pentium II 233 MHz for the hardware (huh?), but what distro? Was that Slackware 7.1? Older?

1) what distro and what version in may 1999?

2) could someone print out a complete dmesg? What would the different boot messages in this old distro (kernel version, etc.) look like?

OK, it's not _really_ important, but I might as well be documented. Why put in anachronisms, when one can easily avoid them?

Besides, my first novel begins to sell rather well, so I guess this would be nice publicity for Linux 8)

Cheers,

Kiki Novak (http://www.kikinovak.net)
plate
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2002 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1999 isn't that much in the past. 233 Mhz sounds definitely more like what you'd find in a notebook, a desktop around that time would have had at least twice that much. The Coppermine Pentium III with 700 MHz came out later that year...