Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Wireless configuration and startup - The Gentoo way (part 2)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 15, 16, 17  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

golgo13 wrote:
I'm thuroughly confused. Am I supposed to be using /etc/conf.d/net or /etc/conf.d/wireless with ndiswrapper? Looking back in this thread it looks as though I am supposed to use /etc/conf.d/wireless however Uberlord's networking-in-progress handbook http://dev.gentoo.org/~uberlord/net-book/hb_part1_chap4.html only uses /etc/conf.d/net.


The reasons are twofold - when baselayout first introduced wireless, the maintainer (and maybe still is - lol) about the ammount of wireless config variables, so we decided to have two seperate files.

However, as the documentation is now on-line - and you don't really need that many variables it makes more sense to just add to the conf.d/net file.

HTF did you get that form the documentation?
Here is a working one

/etc/conf.d/net
Code:

modules=( "iwconfig" )
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
iwconfig_wlan0="power period 3"
dhcpcd_wlan0="-HDN"


/etc/conf.d/wireless - or simply add it to /etc/conf.d/net
Code:

preferred_aps=( "coachbuilder" "linksys" "ball" "dlink" "rccd" "any" )
mac_essid_000C853E2200="rccd"


Last edited by UberLord on Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:51 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nichocouk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 585
Location: Glasgow

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Uberlord,

I've looked at your online documentation and again, as explained e.g. in this post https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=2272056#2272056 I cannot get wpa_supplicant to connect to my AP when I ask for WPA-PSK. I tried several possibilities as detailed in your doc or in the wpa_supplicant.conf.example. Only WEP works. This ennoys me as I chose wpa_supplicant to be able to use WPA-PSK encryption. What could be the reason? Is there some specific module or kernel configuration I should look at for WPA-PSK encryption to work?

Thanks!
_________________
nichocouk

L'Etat, c'est moi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wpa_supplicant can be hard to debug - but it is possible. Add "-d" to the wpa_supplicant options to enter debug mode.

Then you'll get a whole load of stuff that's going on, but it should tell you what is is not doing correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nichocouk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 585
Location: Glasgow

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks,
I'll have a look tonight when I'm back home.
Cheers,
_________________
nichocouk

L'Etat, c'est moi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
golgo13
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord, thanks for the quick reply. Thanks to you, it seems, that everything is working as it should.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhboricua
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 May 2002
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:17 am    Post subject: Re: weird startup issue. Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
jhboricua wrote:
So the first thing that bugs me is that it says "Stopping wpa...." FIRST!!! Why?? Then it starts it again, 'connects' and runs dhcpcd, which complains it is already running on eth0. To make matters worse, it doesn't pull an IP so I end up with no connectivity. However, if I log as root and do
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
I get the first output I posted above which shows the interface pulling an IP and NONE of the complaints about DHCP already running. Can someone shed some light on this? Why is the interface able to startup fine when I run the script from console but not when the PC reboots and goes thru the startup scripts??? Its my understanding that it is using the same init.d script to bring the interface up, right?


https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=78495
But, I'm not using hotplug, which is what that bugzila page talks about. Nevertheless, I'm looking to see if the file that the patch is for exist anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhboricua
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 May 2002
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I'll be damned. I patched the /etc/hotplug/net.agent file with the patch on that bugzilla page and upon rebooting the interface came up right. I don't understand it since I don't have hotplug in any runlevel but I'll take it. :)

Thanx Uber.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jhboricua wrote:
Well I'll be damned. I patched the /etc/hotplug/net.agent file with the patch on that bugzilla page and upon rebooting the interface came up right. I don't understand it since I don't have hotplug in any runlevel but I'll take it. :)

Thanx Uber.


If you read the comments on the bug, hotplug just needs to be installed - if it's in a runlevel or not is irrelevant
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nichocouk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 585
Location: Glasgow

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:17 am    Post subject: Problem with WPA-PSK and wpa_supplicant Reply with quote

Hello there,
I finally managed to add the debug option to wpa_supplicant and do some tests (I could not do it before as I needed a continuously running connection).
If I choose a simple configuration like this one:
Code:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
eapol_version=1
ap_scan=1
network={
        ssid="my_ssid"
       psk="my ascii pass"
}

I get this :
Code:

# /etc/init.d/net.ath0 start
  * Starting ath0
  *    Starting wpa_supplicant on ath0 ...
  Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
  Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
  ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
  ctrl_interface_group=0
  eapol_version=1
  ap_scan=1
  Priority group 0
     id=0 ssid='my_ssid'
     EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
     EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
     EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
     EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
     EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
     EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
     wpa_driver_madwifi_set_wpa: enabled=1
     wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=0
     wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=1
     wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=2
     wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=3
     wpa_driver_madwifi_set_countermeasures: enabled=0
     wpa_driver_madwifi_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=1
     Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
     Daemonize..            [ ok ]
      *       timed out            [ !! ]

Just fyi here is the output of lsmod:
Code:

# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
wlan_wep                7040  1
lp                      9604  0
uhci_hcd               31248  0
parport_pc             23748  1
parport                22208  2 lp,parport_pc
ath_pci                55200  0
ath_rate_onoe           8200  1 ath_pci
ath_hal               148048  2 ath_pci
usb_storage            30464  0
sis900                 19332  0
ehci_hcd               30344  0
usbcore               108152  4 uhci_hcd,usb_storage,ehci_hcd
wlan_tkip              12032  0
wlan                  110556  5 wlan_wep,ath_pci,ath_rate_onoe,wlan_tkip
nvidia               3917564  14

I've added wlan_tkip in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 to make sure it is loaded at boot, but I'm not sure it has any effect...

Any idea?

Thanks,
_________________
nichocouk

L'Etat, c'est moi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try running wpa_supplicant manually - baselayout puts wpa_supplicant into Daemon mode which you can't really debug under.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nichocouk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 585
Location: Glasgow

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone, Hi Uberlord,

sorry to be so long to reply, I couldn't make it sooner.

Here is the output of running wpa_supplicant manually:
Code:
# wpa_supplicant -Dmadwifi -d -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -i ath0
Initializing interface 'ath0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'madwifi'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ctrl_interface_group=0
eapol_version=1
ap_scan=1
Priority group 0
   id=0 ssid='my_ssid'
Initializing interface (2) 'ath0'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
Own MAC address: 00:02:8a:b8:15:1e
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_wpa: enabled=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=2
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=3
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_countermeasures: enabled=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=1
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=8
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'ath0' added
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'ath0' added
Starting AP scan (broadcast SSID)
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b1a len=12
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b19 len=12
Received 459 bytes of scan results (2 BSSes)
Scan results: 2
Selecting BSS from priority group 0
0: 00:05:b4:07:e9:91 ssid='my_ssid' wpa_ie_len=26 rsn_ie_len=0
   selected
Trying to associate with 00:05:b4:07:e9:91 (SSID='my_ssid' freq=2437 MHz)
Cancelling scan request
Automatic auth_alg selection: 0x1
WPA: using IEEE 802.11i/D3.0
WPA: Selected cipher suites: group 8 pairwise 8 key_mgmt 2
WPA: using GTK TKIP
WPA: using PTK TKIP
WPA: using KEY_MGMT WPA-PSK
WPA: Own WPA IE - hexdump(len=24): obscured
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_associate
Setting authentication timeout: 5 sec 0 usec
EAPOL: External notification - EAP success=0
EAPOL: External notification - EAP fail=0
EAPOL: External notification - portControl=Auto
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b1a len=23
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b15 len=20
Wireless event: new AP: 00:05:b4:07:e9:91
Association event - clear replay counter
Associated to a new BSS: BSSID=00:05:b4:07:e9:91
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
Associated with 00:05:b4:07:e9:91
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
EAPOL: External notification - EAP success=0
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=1
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state CONNECTING
EAPOL: txStart
WPA: drop TX EAPOL in non-IEEE 802.1X mode (type=1 len=0)
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state IDLE
EAP: EAP entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state IDLE
Setting authentication timeout: 10 sec 0 usec
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'ath0' added
RX EAPOL from 00:05:b4:07:e9:8e
Setting authentication timeout: 10 sec 0 usec
EAPOL: Ignoring WPA EAPOL-Key frame in EAPOL state machines
IEEE 802.1X RX: version=1 type=3 length=95
  EAPOL-Key type=254
WPA: RX message 1 of 4-Way Handshake from 00:05:b4:07:e9:8e (ver=1)
WPA: WPA IE for msg 2/4 - hexdump(len=24): obscured
WPA: Renewed SNonce - hexdump(len=32): obscured
WPA: PMK - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
WPA: PTK - hexdump(len=64): [REMOVED]
WPA: EAPOL-Key MIC - hexdump(len=16): obscured
WPA: Sending EAPOL-Key 2/4
RX EAPOL from 00:05:b4:07:e9:8e
EAPOL: Ignoring WPA EAPOL-Key frame in EAPOL state machines
IEEE 802.1X RX: version=1 type=3 length=95
  EAPOL-Key type=254
WPA: RX message 1 of 4-Way Handshake from 00:05:b4:07:e9:8e (ver=1)
WPA: WPA IE for msg 2/4 - hexdump(len=24): obscured
WPA: PMK - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
WPA: PTK - hexdump(len=64): [REMOVED]
WPA: EAPOL-Key MIC - hexdump(len=16): obscured
WPA: Sending EAPOL-Key 2/4
RX EAPOL from 00:05:b4:07:e9:8e
EAPOL: Ignoring WPA EAPOL-Key frame in EAPOL state machines
IEEE 802.1X RX: version=1 type=3 length=95
  EAPOL-Key type=254
WPA: RX message 1 of 4-Way Handshake from 00:05:b4:07:e9:8e (ver=1)
WPA: WPA IE for msg 2/4 - hexdump(len=24): obscured
WPA: PMK - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
WPA: PTK - hexdump(len=64): [REMOVED]
WPA: EAPOL-Key MIC - hexdump(len=16): obscured
WPA: Sending EAPOL-Key 2/4
Signal 2 received - terminating [i hit ^C]
wpa_driver_madwifi_deauthenticate
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_wpa: enabled=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_countermeasures: enabled=0


Just to refresh memories, my conf file is:
Code:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
eapol_version=1
ap_scan=1
network={
        ssid="my_ssid"
       psk="my ascii pass"
}


Thanks for your help!
_________________
nichocouk

L'Etat, c'est moi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_loki_
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 680
Location: in the shell

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 5:33 pm    Post subject: best wlan driver?! Reply with quote

I'm running a Prism2 based card, so I have the choice of 3 diffrent drivers to use: hostap-driver, orinoco (the new version as a module, not the old in kernel) and linux-wlan-ng. I successfully tested all of them, but I'm not sure about their major differences. Is one of them supperior about the others?
Thanks for your opinion!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

orinoco (in portage) should be the most reliable
hostap-driver offers more features, but it's not as extensively used

linux-wlan-ng is the worst simply because it insists on using it's icky configuration and setup

But that's my opinion ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_loki_
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 680
Location: in the shell

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 1:05 pm    Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

regarding wlan-ng that's exactly what messed it up for after all, as I wanted to use the new wireless implementation in baselayout.. Trieing it the last time I still had diffisulties with wireless scan using the orinoco driver (from portage), the wireless-script kept complaining that the driver does not support scanning.. I'm runnig the hostap-driver right now, seems to be stable..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zigver
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what's the current status of wpa_supplicant being able to connect to non-encrypted APs?

The wiki page says "The bonus in configuring your wireless setup using wpa_supplicant is that it supports all types of encryption currently used: WEP, WPA, and even non-encrypted." while the wireless networking documentation on gentoo.org says "wpa_suppliant is the best choice, but it does not support all cards/drivers and currently cannot connect to un-encypted Access Points."

Last time I tried connecting to a non-encrypted AP with wpa_supplicant, I couldn't. But then again, I might not have had my configs right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 12:30 am    Post subject: Re: Thanks Reply with quote

_loki_ wrote:
Trieing it the last time I still had diffisulties with wireless scan using the orinoco driver (from portage), the wireless-script kept complaining that the driver does not support scanning..


My script does not lie there - some itterations of the orionoco driver in portage don't support scanning, but they all support monitor (guess the maintainer is a war driver)

Quote:
I'm runnig the hostap-driver right now, seems to be stable..


Excellent :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_loki_
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 680
Location: in the shell

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 6:57 pm    Post subject: excellent! Reply with quote

pretty much though! hostap scanning mode allows me to use the full capacibilitys of you script (thaks a lot by the way). At home I can use my private network and being in University the driver connects automaticly to thier network after setting it up in the prfered list..
Anyway I had some minor problems to get hostap to work and posted my (suboptimal) solutions in this post:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-330402-highlight-.html
If there is someone who likes to take a look on it I'll appreciate!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JerMe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 4:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only way I could get wpa_supplicant to work was to issue it by commandline. For some reason, net.eth0 isn't available anymore, so I can't use rc-update add net.eth0 default to bring eth0 up at boottime...

Code:
wpa_supplicant -Dipw -ieth0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -B
dhcpcd eth0


The only lines in my /etc/conf.d/net:

Code:
modules=("wpa_supplicant")
config_eth0="dhcp"
wpa_supplicant_eth0="-Dipw"


... but it seems like the code is being ignored at boot. At least I know wpa_supplicant works in my system, right? :) Could you help me to get wpa_supplicant to work on boot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Create a smbolic link from net.lo to net.eth0
Code:
cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.eth0


Then you can rc-update it and see it working!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JerMe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Man I'm such a newb. :) Thanks UberLord, it works!

What's really weird, though, was that when I did what you said and rebooted, it would bring eth0 up, start wpa_supplicant, connect to the router, run DHCP to get an IP from the router... and right after it got the IP, it would bring eth0 down. :cry:

I thought maybe it was because I was downstairs and too far from the router. So I shut off the lappy, went upstairs close to where the router was, plugged in, turned the lappy on and watched to see if it would the same thing. This time no problem - it connected just fine (after a period of time trying to connect to the router.)

Maybe it was the shutdown, maybe it's because I'm closer to the router now, 'Im not sure. I'll try to replicate it again. Thank you for the help! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yesi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2004
Posts: 331

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi

i have my wireless network is fine untill here: my config worked and works fine.
But since i'd like to change my kernel gentoo-sources-2.6.11-gentoo-r5 to -r6 (or to come back 2.6.10-gentoo-r6 ), it seems that my /etc/conf.d/wireless config doesn't seem to work.
i have :
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 -> net.lo

in my /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
auto_interface="yes"
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
modules=( "iwconfig" )
dhcpcd_wlan0="-t 10"
dhcpcd_wlan0="-HD"
dhcpcd_wlan0="-N"

in my /etc/conf.d/wireless
Code:
essid_wlan0="toto"
mode_wlan0="Managed"
channel_wlan0="4"
iwconfig_wlan0="rate 11M"
key_toto="XXXXXX enc open"
mac_key_XXX="XXXXX"

and
Code:
sys-apps/baselayout-1.12.0_alpha2-r1


when i switch to a different kernel, after the boot i did
Code:
iwconfig wlan0
and i got something différent from the config of my /etc/con.d/wireless.

i don't know what to do to at the boot, my network run my /etc/con.d/wireless...
so i'm still with gentoo-sources-2.6.11-gentoo-before that works fine but for the next gentoo-sources, what's should i do...? :(

thanks in advance


Last edited by yesi on Mon May 02, 2005 10:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xline
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 May 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello I hope you ppl can help me its going in 3 days since I have tried for the fist time install the rt2500 in gentoo... I had this wireless pcmcia working in a nother linux disto. but in gentoo it does not work i have compiled and instmod. of the driver but the utility stil tells me that theirs no driver...
i have tried to use the Rat2500 whith i have in windows full working... in the make process tels tha my linux sistem does not suport this driver...
the opensource ones.. rt2500-cvs-2.... they cmpile no erro's fund... but iwconfig. ra0 no device found iwconfig wlan0 no device found and so on....
I have loaded the module my self and some times it does finds and tells no wirelles extentions... but silt in that case the driver is not found by the utility..
i cant connect by eth0 because my university only suports wlan.. and i don't have internet at the un residential....
can any one help me....

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yesi wrote:
-> net.lo[/code]
in my /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
auto_interface="yes"
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
modules=( "iwconfig" )
dhcpcd_wlan0="-t 10"
dhcpcd_wlan0="-HD"
dhcpcd_wlan0="-N"


This makes no sense - the last dhcpcd_wlan0 overwrites the others.
Code:
dhcpcd_wlan0="-t 10 -H -D -N"


Quote:

in my /etc/conf.d/wireless
Code:
essid_wlan0="toto"
mode_wlan0="Managed"
channel_wlan0="4"
iwconfig_wlan0="rate 11M"
key_toto="XXXXXX enc open"
mac_key_XXX="XXXXX"

and
Code:
sys-apps/baselayout-1.12.0_alpha2-r1


Right. You're using an alpha version. Maybe try the latest 1.11.x of baselayout?
BTW, in Managed mode there is no point in specifying the channel.

Quote:

when i switch to a different kernel, after the boot i did
Code:
iwconfig wlan0
and i got something différent from the config of my /etc/con.d/wireless


Did you emerge your wireless driver after changing kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xline wrote:
hello I hope you ppl can help me its going in 3 days since I have tried for the fist time install the rt2500 in gentoo... I had this wireless pcmcia working in a nother linux disto. but in gentoo it does not work i have compiled and instmod. of the driver but the utility stil tells me that theirs no driver...
i have tried to use the Rat2500 whith i have in windows full working... in the make process tels tha my linux sistem does not suport this driver...
the opensource ones.. rt2500-cvs-2.... they cmpile no erro's fund... but iwconfig. ra0 no device found iwconfig wlan0 no device found and so on....
I have loaded the module my self and some times it does finds and tells no wirelles extentions... but silt in that case the driver is not found by the utility..
i cant connect by eth0 because my university only suports wlan.. and i don't have internet at the un residential....
can any one help me....

thanks


I don't do driver support, but check that you have wireless support enabled in your kernel.
If that fails, or you already have it enabled, try starting a new thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xline
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 May 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes I have enabled the wireless suport on the kernel what do you mean by starting a new thread. ?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 16 of 17

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum