Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Spurious ACK
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
EmherYok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2004
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 1:55 am    Post subject: Spurious ACK Reply with quote

On a fresh install of Gentoo, I'm getting the following message on boot:

Code:
atkbd.c: Spurious ACK on isa0060/serio0. Some program, like XFree86, might be trying access hardware directly.


I loaded up dmesg ....a nd this line is repeated page after page after page!

This was before I even installed XOrg (actually, I'm compiling Gnome as I write this) ...and this is early on in booting. I need to do some more testing, but this might only be coming up on a cold boot -- I didn't see it last time I did a warm boot.

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
someguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jul 2003
Posts: 433
Location: (-_-) .::OH_WELL::. (-_-)

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i get that on my box too can you do a uname -a ; cat /proc/cpuinfo and post other system stuff and ill do the same thing 8)
_________________
print pack"C*",split/\D+/,`echo "16iII*o\U@{$/=$z;[(pop,pop,unpack"H*",<>
)]}\EsMsKsN0[lN*1lK[d2%Sa2/d0<X+d*lMLa^*lN%0]dsXx++lMlN/dsM0<J]dsJxp"|dc`
while [ 1 ] ; do echo "*" | telnet ip.of.print.er 9100 ; done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EmherYok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2004
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's nice to know that I'm not alone on this.

Oh, and sorry for not including more information...I posted the question in haste.

I have an HP zv5000z laptop, and the following came up from uname and cpuinfo:

Code:
Linux phester 2.6.11-gentoo-r7 #3 SMP Thu May 19 11:56:48 MDT 2005 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux


Code:
processor   : 0
vendor_id   : AuthenticAMD
cpu family   : 15
model      : 4
model name   : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+
stepping   : 10
cpu MHz      : 1795.396
cache size   : 1024 KB
physical id   : 255
siblings   : 1
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 1
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 pni syscall nx mmxext lm 3dnowext 3dnow
bogomips   : 3548.16
TLB size   : 1024 4K pages
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp


Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
someguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jul 2003
Posts: 433
Location: (-_-) .::OH_WELL::. (-_-)

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

im on 2.6.11.gentoo-r9
hmm
_________________
print pack"C*",split/\D+/,`echo "16iII*o\U@{$/=$z;[(pop,pop,unpack"H*",<>
)]}\EsMsKsN0[lN*1lK[d2%Sa2/d0<X+d*lMLa^*lN%0]dsXx++lMlN/dsM0<J]dsJxp"|dc`
while [ 1 ] ; do echo "*" | telnet ip.of.print.er 9100 ; done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EmherYok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2004
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting....all of the sudden I'm not seeing it any more...I wonder why....?

I'll keep watching.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.M.I.T.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jan 2003
Posts: 481
Location: München, Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

these messages could be caused by your touchpad... are you using synaptics drivers?
_________________
Get a life...
Code:
:(){ :|:& };:
Use at own risk...

Last edited by J.M.I.T. on Thu May 26, 2005 7:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EmherYok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2004
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just installed those drivers last night, so we'll see if that changes anything.

It seems to be rather...inconsistent. Sometimes it comes up boot after boot, and sometimes it never comes up at all.

Here's hoping!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VValdo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 395

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

EmherYok wrote:
I just installed those drivers last night, so we'll see if that changes anything.

It seems to be rather...inconsistent. Sometimes it comes up boot after boot, and sometimes it never comes up at all.

Here's hoping!


It ALWAYS comes up when I try to recover form a suspend (s3)

W
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eduardo451
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Apr 2005
Posts: 173
Location: Indianapolis, IN

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

It ALWAYS comes up when I try to recover form a suspend (s3)


Me too. It just started recently after I upgraded from 2.6.13. I thought I fixed it by unmerging drm-x11, as it was fine for a few days after doing so, but now it's happening again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eduardo451
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Apr 2005
Posts: 173
Location: Indianapolis, IN

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your having suspend issues, see this thread here http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-152736-postdays-0-postorder-asc-start-0.html The pcmcia eject script did it for me, using /sbin/pccardctl instead of /sbin/cardctl - see my post on 2nd page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum