Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
A n00b's guide to set up printing with CUPS
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mkershaw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Dirty Jersey

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just wanted to let you know......yet another happy customer!!


thnx much man...worked like a charm...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mayhem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 70
Location: Spijkenisse, the Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 1:23 pm    Post subject: gimp-print-cups Reply with quote

Hey,

Is it me or is gimp-print-cups not in portage atm?
_________________
I laugh in the face of danger... Then i hide until it goes away.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ian Goldby
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2002
Posts: 539
Location: (Inactive member)

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 7:23 pm    Post subject: Re: gimp-print-cups Reply with quote

Mayhem wrote:
Is it me or is gimp-print-cups not in portage atm?
If your USE variable has CUPS in it, then an emerge gimp-print will actually give you gimp-print-cups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasonMouse
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 146
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had trouble getting CUPS to work but eventually got it all ironed out thanks in part to the Gentoo Printing Guide and posts on the forum, but for the life of me I never could figure out how to print to a remote CUPS server. The docs say to use printername@servername but that never worked. I tried http://servername/printername, ipp://servername/printername, Samba, and just about every possible combination I could think of, but to no avail. Finally I figured out the part I was missing. If you need to print to a remote server, edit /etc/cups/client.conf on your client machine and where it says ServerName, enter, obviously, the name of the print server. Now just add the printer on your client using only the name of the printer and bingo! You're up and printing.

In my case, my server is named pony and my printer is an hp1120 so the line in /etc/cups/client.conf on both of my client machines reads:

ServerName pony

Then I just add hp1120 as my printer name and it's a go - I use XFCE so I add it to the Printer Management dialogue box. No need to tell the computer that it's a remote printer because client.conf handles that part.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
echo6
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 587

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to configure CUPS with KDE and a shared Samba printer on my XP machine.

Whenever I try http://localhost:631 I get an error

Quote:
An error occured while loading http://localhost:631:


Could not connect to host localhost (port 631)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
echo6
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 587

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ignore the last, something on my system was truly borked.

Code:
emerge -C cups
rm -rf /etc/cups
emerge cups


It's now working very sweetly the foomatic drivers :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
!db!
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 172
Location: A frozen, barren wasteland

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still in first week of fiddling with my Gentoo installation. Going over the Gentoo Printing Guide (as I've read in this previous set of posts, not the best Gentoo guide), I was struck by the following instructions:

[mine is parallel, local printer]

"Now that the necessary packages are installed, it is time to install the printer.

Depending on what type of printer connection you will be using, it will be necessary to enable either parallel port or USB port printer connections in the kernel. [...]

To enable Parallel port support, go to Parallel port support and enable Parallel port support and PC-style hardware. Depending on your printer you also have to activate Multi-IO cards (parallel and serial), Support for foreign hardware and IEEE 1284 transfer mode. Then go to Character devices and enable Parallel Printer Support.

After the kernel is built, make sure that the printer is plugged in and then restart your computer. Now it is time to load the necessary modules: [...]"

Wowwwwwwwwwww! (newbie reaction)

1. How does one check if Parallel port support is already in place or not;
2. If not, where is this 'Parallel port support' (file?)?
3. How does one add a kernel module(?) for this ?

8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gpmartinson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 54
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 12:51 pm    Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

Wow, this worked like a charm
it's as simple as:
1. unmerge all printing stuff
2. make sure that make.conf has cups samba ppds and foomaticdb
3. emerge cups foomatic gimp-print
4. There is no step four.
Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrGreen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I have just used your guide and my HP 660C is working ....Thank you

I have noticed the colours are out how do I fix this ?

Mr G :mrgreen:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lsiden
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Feb 2003
Posts: 116
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2004 2:13 am    Post subject: Re: Success! Parallel Port wasn't completely supported in ke Reply with quote

Tuxuser wrote:
:-)

I made it. Trick was that the parallel port is mentioned twice in the kernel configuration.
First: "Parallel port support" (obvious)
Second: "Character devices" (less obivous) :!:


I'm having this problem too! But I've checked, and I already have both Parallel Printer Support and Character Devices/Parallel Printer support compiled into the kernel image. So why doesn't "Parallel" appear in the dropdown of devices in the CUPS "add printer" admin page?
_________________
-ls

"In Heaven, if everyone is supposed to be happy, who cleans the toilets?"
--Jordan Siden, age 10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16106
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't take this the wrong way, but are there any options for LPT1 or 2?
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lsiden
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Feb 2003
Posts: 116
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2004 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pjp wrote:
Don't take this the wrong way, but are there any options for LPT1 or 2?


You're not gonna believe this, but when I looked again, I now have an option labelled "Parallel Port #1" in the dropdown that wasn't there before! I'm not sure what I did besides reboot! I'm going to bed! :)
_________________
-ls

"In Heaven, if everyone is supposed to be happy, who cleans the toilets?"
--Jordan Siden, age 10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redeeman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 957
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

im surely gonna try this! it looks easy and nice
_________________
Sandberg Enterprises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I see the last post here is at least year old so things have moved on.

gimp-print-cups is no longer in portage. May it is integrated into gimp-print or just not needed.

also latest cupsd seems to correctly report printers on USB so the un-mergre re-emerge step is not needed for cups


I dont know how relavant this thread is now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Thanks Reply with quote

gpmartinson wrote:
Wow, this worked like a charm
it's as simple as:
1. unmerge all printing stuff
2. make sure that make.conf has cups samba ppds and foomaticdb
3. emerge cups foomatic gimp-print
4. There is no step four.
Thanks for the help!


Yeah, WOW! :lol:

worked here too.

Shame I had to waste a whole day screwing around before I found the thread.

Nice work anyway. Just what I needed.

Thanks. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dkaplowitz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 596
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for posting this thread. I struggled with setting up my HP LaserJet 2100 (on a JetDirect card) on my LAN for several hours a few months ago and gave up in frustration.

I came back to it today and dicked around with the http://localhost:631/ settings and somehow magically got it to work.

Here is how I configured it (which was mostly defaults by and large):
Location: LAN
Description: LaserJet
Device: AppSocket/HP JetDirect
Device URI: socket://192.168.0.15:9100/
Make: HP
Model HP LaserJet Series CUPS v1.1 (en)

So psyched to have it working now. It's one of the last few things I had to configure on the machine.

Thanks for your post. It definitely helped me at least get to a point where I could start figuring stuff out.
_________________
http://dkap.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
t_2199
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks this guide saved me alot of time !

My only problem was you need to install the driver for your printer before you can set it up with Cups..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erickfq
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:08 am    Post subject: printer headache Reply with quote

I have this problem on my cups configuration, i install tha parport and parport_pc modules, and the printer y on parport0 in /proc/... i think that the problem is that i dont have a /dev/lp0 8O


Device URI: parallel:/dev/unknown-parallel0 <---believe that this is my problem

8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aloha99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another satisfied customer!

I'm using an Epson Stylus C80, so I use the gimp-print driver, which kind of precludes the use of PPD-o-matic. Not sure why yet, but had to reboot before cups would see all the drivers for gimp-print. Once I did ... success!! Thanks!
_________________
When I was 14, I couldn't believe how stupid my father was.
When I was 21, I couldn't believe how much he'd learned in only 7 years.
-- Mark Twain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G2k
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 672
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you're the best...there's nothing else to it. ive been trying to set this HP DeskJet 820 Cse up for soooo long. it was a matter of doing
Code:

# /etc/init.d/cupsd stop
# emerge -C cups ghostscript && rm -rf /etc/cups && emerge cups ghostscript
# /etc/init.d/cupsd start

everything was smooth after that!
thnx
_________________
Animula vagula blandula,
Hospes comesque corporis,
Quae nunc abibis in loca
Pallidula rigida nudula,
Nec ut soles dabis iocos...
- Imp. Caesar Hadrianus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
torchZ06
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 175
Location: the front range

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nice job, sessionID! worked like a champ for me on a HP Color Laserjet 4550 at work (hooked to a jet direct card). i used the ipp:ip-address and the PPD file downloaded from linuxprinting.org. only thing was after copying it into /usr/share/cups/model i noticed a 'HEWLETT-PACKARD' choice in the CUPS dropdown menu (as well as the 'HP' choice that i noticed before i did your proceedure-- maybe it was there all along, but i can't say for certain)

anyway there were like 3 choices for HP Color Laserjet 4550/Postscript (recommended) in the HP section and like 2 more in the HEWLETT-PACKARD section. it wasn't until like the 4th one that i managed to get it to print non-garbled output and produce the familiar CUPS test page. i don't know where all those other ones came from as i didn't see them before i copied the .ppd file over.... maybe i'm imagining things.... all i know is it works now! gracias!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mxc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2003
Posts: 442
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having problems with printing to cups-pdf from client machines. If I print a test page from the web management console it works fine. As soon as I try and print from any client machine via the normal print dialog box the printer crashes. I get the following errors in my log file

Quote:
I [06/Apr/2005:19:09:58 +0200] Job 301 queued on 'PDF' by 'abd'.
I [06/Apr/2005:19:09:58 +0200] Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/pstops (PID 17714) for job 301.
I [06/Apr/2005:19:09:58 +0200] Started backend /usr/lib/cups/backend/cups-pdf (PID 17715) for job 301.
E [06/Apr/2005:19:09:58 +0200] PID 17715 stopped with status 249!
I [06/Apr/2005:19:09:58 +0200] Hint: Try setting the LogLevel to "debug" to find out more.
I [06/Apr/2005:19:09:58 +0200] Saving printers.conf...
E [06/Apr/2005:19:10:28 +0200] Bad request line "g" from 192.168.10.225!
E [06/Apr/2005:19:10:28 +0200] Bad request line "g" from 192.168.10.225!
E [06/Apr/2005:19:10:30 +0200] Bad request line "g" from 192.168.10.225!


I tried changing the log level to debug but the volume of info was so large I couldnt find anything new. I thought it might have something to do with setting the page size to A4 but leaving it as letter didnt work.
_________________
http://www.CyberDesigns.co.za
http://www.Jumpingbean.co.za
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marelven
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much for your guide ! :D

It helped me to solve a weird problem I had with my HP Deskjet 950C. I could print but the colors were kind of "dotted".
After installing the right PPD file found on linuxprinting.org for my printer, I could print in plain colors again ! :P
I didn't even have to uninstall the current version of cups or gimp-print-cups. Nice.

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge can't seem to find gimp-print and ghostscript
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7746
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See app-text/ghostscript-gpl and net-print/gutenprint (new name for gimp-print). That said, that guide is over 10 years old and apparently unmaintained. You should expect some problems and be prepared to research solutions. ;)

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum