Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo Musicians
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
emency
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 6:34 pm    Post subject: Licensing...eh.. Reply with quote

Hello, my first post here..
I'm a gentoo user and a solo artist. I play guitar, drums, bass, keyboard, and I sing. I also do all of my own production in a home studio using Cakewalk Pro Audio 9. Eagerly awaiting the day that linux can compete and I can get rid of my fat partition.
Anyway, my music is classified as 'art rock' - rock, but more musical than the crunchy hard stuff. I also do some classical piano type stuff.
I'd be all about having my stuff available for Gentoo. The only problem is, I'm about to cut my demo in a week or two, and I'll need to have things copyrighted and such for submission to labels. Will this conflict with the licensing goals of the project?
--emency
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zypher
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 413
Location: Cologne, ger.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I give sweep a try when I return home. (My laptop's fan is much too noisy to compile stuff at work)
Anyway, doing a simple ebuild is easy!
All you have to to is to try econf and emake and check out if the sources need some tweaking (in the Makefile mostly).
The rezound ebuild for example was nothing more than a ten minutes job.
_________________
linux user 65882
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
french tony
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Aug 2002
Posts: 148
Location: Belfast

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zipher said
Quote:
Anyway, doing a simple ebuild is easy!


I had a look at making ebuilds yesterday, and yes it doesn't look too complicated. Sweep compiled first time without any problems, so it should be pretty straight forward. I might have a go just to see... :wink:

One app that would be a lot trickier is alsa modular synth. No automake or autoconf support, ouch. Shame cause I'd really like to give it a go....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orb9
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2002
Posts: 82
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there Gentoo musicians!
I'm an electronic musician doing eletronic stuff for over eight years now. I have to admit, that making music is the only reason for booting windows.

Don't get me wrong, Linux is great and i love gentoo, but when making music i want my Reason, Wavelab, Cubase and Live - and there's nothing comparable under Linux up to now. :cry:
So at least i'm currently trying to transform my laptop into an gentoo-music-station:
- compiled a low-latency-kernel succesfully (latency ~3ms, you don't get this under win).
- Ardour is running.
- PD (jack patch applied) compiled and running
Today found hydrogen and will give it a try (i need beats :wink: )
- Sweep (good sample-editor)

Soundcard: Midiman Delta66 (fine card)

So, if there are any questions regarding the above, give me a shout.
_________________
"Without music, life would be a mistake - I would only believe in a god who knew how to dance." (Nietzsche)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Oct 2002
Posts: 263

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How did you get your latency that low?

I compiled the Ck sources mainly because they have ALSA built in and ALSA wouldn't build as a module for my junky onboard VIA soundchip but have also enabled some sort of latency patch (the one with adj freq or something like that) but I still think there is some lag there.


How are you finding the driver? I'm looking into the revolution card for myself, but I'm still waiting on an email from M-Audio on whether it will have ALSA support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zypher
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 413
Location: Cologne, ger.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, If you made an ebuild, just submit it to bugs.gentoo.org and post the bug-number here ;)
I think I will give it a try though I'm very happy with rezound.
Ardour compiled fine for me after I followed your hints but it won't start.
It always complains about not beeing able to start the gui and I don't know where to put it's config files...
Could some1 give me a clue?
_________________
linux user 65882
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
french tony
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Aug 2002
Posts: 148
Location: Belfast

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Could some1 give me a clue?


sure can:
first copy /etc/ardour.rc to ur ~/
then edit it these two lines so they read:
Code:
 <Option name="ui-rcfile" value="/usr/share/ardour/ardour_ui.rc"/>
<Option name="pixmap-path" value="/usr/share/ardour/pixmaps"/>



that should be it.
next you need to create a folder in ur ~/ that will contain ur sessions, and a file which will be ur sound file database, then edit ~/ardour.rc again and replace these two values

Code:
<Option name="session-path" value="~/sessions"/>
<Option name="soundfile-db" value="~/sfdb"/>


that sould get u up and running... :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
french tony
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Aug 2002
Posts: 148
Location: Belfast

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

- PD (jack patch applied) compiled and running

Nice, have to check it out myself


Quote:

Today found hydrogen and will give it a try (i need beats icon_wink.gif )


wouldn't compile for me, keep us posted if u get any results
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zypher
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 413
Location: Cologne, ger.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you give me the hydrogen error?
I made the ebuild and would like to know...
_________________
linux user 65882
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zypher
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 413
Location: Cologne, ger.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ardour: [INFO]: UI: setting up images used for interface ...
ardour: [ERROR]: No on/off button pixmaps found to match rec-enable-button[0-9]*.xpm$
ardour: [ERROR]: could not create ARDOUR GUI


That's my error and I still get it.
I followed your steps but it didn't work.

I'll play with it a while, maybe I just stick with protux...
_________________
linux user 65882
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
french tony
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Aug 2002
Posts: 148
Location: Belfast

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zipher:
about hydrogen: I tried to compile straight from source, couse I didn't know what to do with ur ebuilds :oops:
I haven't had the time to read the relevant doc on ebuilding, been busy playing with ardour


about ardour.rc: you might need to copy the ~/ardour.rc to /usr/share/ardour/
(not sure now)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orb9
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2002
Posts: 82
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2003 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

french tony: zyphers ebuild worked fine for me. hydrogen is up and running. :lol:
do an
Code:
cd /usr/portage
tar -zxvf pathto/hdydrogen-ebuild.tar.gz

This will unpack media-libs/libhydrogen and media-sound/hydrogen. First emerge the lib, then hydrogen itself.

zenon:
I applied this patch: http://www.zip.com.au/~akpm/linux/schedlat.html#downloads
and tested with latencytest found here: http://www.gardena.net/benno/linux/audio/
According to this test i have an maximum latency of 2.8ms :D

:?: Is anybody using a "MIDISPORT 2x2 USB" device ?
_________________
"Without music, life would be a mistake - I would only believe in a god who knew how to dance." (Nietzsche)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Oct 2002
Posts: 263

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What the heck does the author mean by? "Don't run hdparm. It chews 50 milliseconds."

It's the only way I know of to enable DMA, without DMA all the low latency in the world doesn't help my system.. I found out the hard way by installing the ck sources and noticing nothing, with DMA and Ultra ATA 66 enabled my sytem's running much better.

Do you know if the patch will work on the ck sources? (My system's finally running nice, but the temptation of lower latency is HARD to resist)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orb9
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2002
Posts: 82
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2003 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
What the heck does the author mean by? "Don't run hdparm. It chews 50 milliseconds."

Hmm, don't know. I'm using hdparm to tune my disk and i have no problems here. If there is some time left, i'll disable all disk tuning and try the latencytest again to check.
Don't know about the ck sources, sorry. i'm using vanilla.
About my soundcard: Oops, i mixed something up. The Midiman Delta66 is working in my desktop machine.. not in my laptop (i think it's a ess in there).
Quote:
I'm looking into the revolution card for myself, but I'm still waiting on an email from M-Audio on whether it will have ALSA support.

Don't know about the revolution card, but according your email: IMHO M-Audio doesn't develop linux drivers theirself. They depend on the ALSA-project so you should ask them.
:?: Has anybody tried "Ultramaster Juno-6" ? The description on http://sound.condorow.net/ sounds nice, but the link www.ultramaster.com doesn't work for me :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
french tony
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Aug 2002
Posts: 148
Location: Belfast

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2003 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

What the heck does the author mean by? "Don't run hdparm. It chews 50 milliseconds."


hdparm only runs once to tune ur hd's. Once it's done, it's done. It chews 50ms only at the moment u press enter after
hdparm [options] device
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cies
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2003 5:18 pm    Post subject: Brahms/ Ardour look nice to me... Reply with quote

First i learned cubase, then i switched to logic (it was more logic). Now logic wont do x86 anymore... ...so i'm back to cubase, and its new version -- cubase SL, SX -- looks _very_ nice to me. Especially the network transperacy.

I have tried so many time to use brahms (http://brahms.sourceforge.net/) or ardour (http://ardour.sourceforge.net/, lacks a good MIDI sequecer) (the GPL programs the comes most close to cubase/logic), but compiling was to hard for me... swah.

Maybe an ebuilds for these tools will help...

Greets,
Cies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
therobot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 256
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2003 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a musician, but theres reallly nothing offered in linux that can compare with windows in the audio department.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
french tony
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Aug 2002
Posts: 148
Location: Belfast

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

theres reallly nothing offered in linux that can compare with windows in the audio department.

That is true when it comes to end-user applications.
On the other hand, linux has MUCH to offer in terms of design, and that one day will be repercuted to end user applications.
The fact is that audio application programming is a complicated task. windoze or os9 audio apps such as cubase, logic or cakewalk have many years or devlopment by professional teams of developers behind them. that is not the case when it comes to linux audio apps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
therobot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 256
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

french tony wrote:
Quote:

theres reallly nothing offered in linux that can compare with windows in the audio department.

That is true when it comes to end-user applications.
On the other hand, linux has MUCH to offer in terms of design, and that one day will be repercuted to end user applications.
The fact is that audio application programming is a complicated task. windoze or os9 audio apps such as cubase, logic or cakewalk have many years or devlopment by professional teams of developers behind them. that is not the case when it comes to linux audio apps.


I completly understand that, I can't wait till I can finally rid my system of windows, but this is one of the few things holding me back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Regor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 545
Location: 39° 2' 48" N, 120° 59' 2" W

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

french tony wrote:
I just finished compiling ardour!
And it works!
the ebuild does not take in account the 2 new libraries:
liblrdf-0.2.3
raptor

once I compiled these two libraries, everything went fine :)
first release of ardour will be out soon :wink:


Did you have any trouble getting ardour and JACK to play nice with each other? I'm starting jack with the following command which seems to work:
Code:
# jackd -v -d alsa
jackd 0.51.0
Copyright 2001-2002 Paul Davis and others.
jackd comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY
This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
under certain conditions; see the file COPYING for details

5345 waiting for signals
loading driver ..
creating alsa driver ... default|1024|2|48000|swmon|rt


Then I start ardour in another window:
Code:
# ardour
Ardour/GTK 0.330.2 running with libardour 0.641.0
Copyright 1999-2003 Paul Davis
Ardour comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY
This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
under certain conditions; see the file COPYING for details
cannot determine shared memory segment for port segment key 0x0 (Invalid argument)
ardour: [ERROR]: No JACK server found.
Killed


JACK reports seeing ardour start, however.
Code:
new client: ardour, id = 1 type 2 @ 0x411d4000 fd = 11


I don't know what's going wrong. I know most of the jackd examples I've seen involve specifying a card in addition to just putting "-d alsa" but I couldn't figure out what to put there for my card (SB AWE64).

I have had some success doing basic recording with audacity however, so I guess I qualify as a "Gentoo Musician" :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
french tony
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Aug 2002
Posts: 148
Location: Belfast

PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2003 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Regor:

do you start jakcd and ardour as super user?

this is how i start jackd, although I am not sure if it is actually right:
Code:

jackd -a -R -d alsa -r 44100


also, there has been a version bump. to use the latest ardour CVS you have to emerge the new jackd and new alsa. This has given some trouble when using lolo sources (ardour freezes on playback :cry: ), but I haven't isolated the cause yet, so I can't tell if it's to do with ardour, jackd, alsa or the kernel...

let us know if you make any progress...

unfortunately, all the documantation about ardour has gone offline, due the fact that Paul Davis wants to release the doc in non GNU license to amke some money...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
french tony
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Aug 2002
Posts: 148
Location: Belfast

PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2003 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Code:

jackd -a -R -d alsa -r 44100


ok, new findings about jackd, this seems to give me better results:
Code:

jackd -a -v -R -d alsa -d hw:0 -p 512 -r 4410


that's for a sblive!, and running at 44.1 MHz.

I'm now running the ck sources.
couple of links that I have found useful:
http://www.djcj.org/LAU/jack/
Planet ccrma on various system tuning issues
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zypher
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 413
Location: Cologne, ger.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

laptop root # jackd -a -v -R -d alsa -d hw:0 -p 512 -r 44100
jackd 0.51.0
Copyright 2001-2002 Paul Davis and others.
jackd comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY
This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
under certain conditions; see the file COPYING for details

5235 waiting for signals
loading driver ..
creating alsa driver ... hw:0|512|2|44100|swmon|rt
ALSA: the playback and capture components for this PCM device differ in their use of channel interleaving. We cannot use this PCM device.
cannot load driver module alsa
jack main caught signal 15


Sigh, that's what I get on my laptop's es1968 (Maestro ESS 2e).
Does this mean "No way do do some audio stuff on your laptop"?
_________________
linux user 65882
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
french tony
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Aug 2002
Posts: 148
Location: Belfast

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zipher,
I have jackd runing on my laptop which has es1968 with jack-cvs-0.44.ebuild.
the only thing i can think of is the
Code:
-d alsa -d hw:0

what does your .asoundrc look like? did you give your card a name? if so, replace hw:0 with that name and see what happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zypher
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 413
Location: Cologne, ger.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Harrrgh!
I just emerged jack-cvs and now my box is freezing when starting jackd!
I'll try it again as soon as gcc is finished...
May be it has to do with the ck-sources? Or optimization flags?
Or X 4.2.99? Or the weather?
IMHO this whole jack/ardour stuff is not ready for testing yet, al least on my box...
_________________
linux user 65882
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 3 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum