Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Why Does 3D acc have to be such a problem?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mikecore
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 11:10 pm    Post subject: Why Does 3D acc have to be such a problem? Reply with quote

I don't understand why 3D has to be such a problem.

I have an ATI igp card in my laptop and a gforce 3ti200 in my desktop

both don't have 3D acc working I try to follow the guides and believe I'm doing everything right but I guess I'm not cause other seem to make theres work I just can't get mine to work

why does it need to be this difficult? seems like you realy have to hunt around for patches and stuff patch this and that don't build this into the kernel
why does the MM/love kernels support ATI IGP but Gentoo kernels don't ?

im really a noob thats most of the problem but seems like with all the post regarding ATI the deve would have patched gentoo kernels to support ATI
without a problem.
pianosaurus
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The biggest problems is that the big companies in 3D hardware won't release any specifications. That makes it rather hard to create drivers. ATI is not very nice to the Linux community by not releasing binaries either. That is why most people here use nvidia (including me) even though ATI's cards are in many's opinion (including mine) superior.
Jake
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote