Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Doom3 w/ Wine -IT CAN BE DONE
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 9, 10, 11  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
(l)user
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 334
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

k, that's because for some reason the GlobalMemoryStatusEx patch wasn't applyed to your code tree. Could you try starting from the applying the patch stage and try again?

Thanks, you are right. I figuret out that for some misterous reason my GlobalMemoryStatusExFixed.patch was an empty file. Now after redownoadling/repatching/recompiling everything works fine with sound! I hope that they will release linux native client soon, before i'll finish this game :-D.
_________________
Registered Linux user #302020
Gadu Gadu #490092
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 446
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you followed the tuorial you had an empty file because:

>> patch -p0 > GlobalMemoryStatusExFixed.patch

needs to be:

>> patch -p0 < GlobalMemoryStatusExFixed.patch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kormoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 272
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh crap, my mistake, sorry
I'll send off the fixed file and get it updated asap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 446
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Happy to help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 1375
Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uh any idea why the linux installer script just bombs on my system? I tried running as root and a user. Here is what I get every time. (Oh I did chmod +x the file, was I not supposed to?)

Code:
./doom3_installer.sh
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing Doom 3 Installer.......................................................
tail: `-1' option is obsolete; use `-n 1'
Try `tail --help' for more information.


I am running an AMD64 system 64bit Gentoo.

I opened the script and didn't find any reference to tail, maybe my version of tail is newer than was expected -- I'm not sure. I tried installing with Cedega binaries and it installed 100% but will not play (I read the howto and used the fixed binary) -- I had to install using Win98 winver setting though. I can't install with the wine from portage. I also tried launching the installed version using wine and it didn't like that either. I should mention that I cannot compile the winex-cvs from source on this system given the 32-bit nature doesn't play well in my 64-bit OS. I will need a package to use winex-cvs -- is that why the installer is dieing? Does it reference winex-cvs? I couldn't find any instance of winex-cvs in the script, but it references a setup.sh that I can't find in my /tmp either -- maybe setup.sh will later call winex-cvs?

I'm not all that worried about getting it working right now but I would like to learn better about what is going on in this script. Any news that is official on native binaries?

Regards,
BonezTheGoon
_________________
mcgruff wrote:
I can't promise to be civil.


pjp wrote:
The greater evil is voting for the "lesser evil."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kormoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 272
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BonezTheGoon wrote:
Uh any idea why the linux installer script just bombs on my system? I tried running as root and a user. Here is what I get every time. (Oh I did chmod +x the file, was I not supposed to?)

Code:
./doom3_installer.sh
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing Doom 3 Installer.......................................................
tail: `-1' option is obsolete; use `-n 1'
Try `tail --help' for more information.


I am running an AMD64 system 64bit Gentoo.

I opened the script and didn't find any reference to tail, maybe my version of tail is newer than was expected -- I'm not sure. I tried installing with Cedega binaries and it installed 100% but will not play (I read the howto and used the fixed binary) -- I had to install using Win98 winver setting though. I can't install with the wine from portage. I also tried launching the installed version using wine and it didn't like that either. I should mention that I cannot compile the winex-cvs from source on this system given the 32-bit nature doesn't play well in my 64-bit OS. I will need a package to use winex-cvs -- is that why the installer is dieing? Does it reference winex-cvs? I couldn't find any instance of winex-cvs in the script, but it references a setup.sh that I can't find in my /tmp either -- maybe setup.sh will later call winex-cvs?

I'm not all that worried about getting it working right now but I would like to learn better about what is going on in this script. Any news that is official on native binaries?

Regards,
BonezTheGoon


You were to chmod +x it, I'll add that to the howto. The actual useage of tail -1 is in setup.sh which is actually embedded in that file. The gentleman who rolled up that script said he'll fix it up tomorrow for you.

As for not being able to build the cvs branch in 64 bit system, I have no idea because I have never tried or looked into that, maybe someone else can look?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShuttleX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jerome187 wrote:
There better be a gun that had a flash light built into it pretty soon... either that or well lit rooms, I'm tired of peeing my pants when some freak sneaks up on my and takes a bit out of my neck!


Flash-light on a pistol Mod
http://www.fileplanet.com/files/140000/143916.shtml

Sentry-Bot Mod (you can get one with a flashlight)
http://www.fileplanet.com/files/140000/143914.shtml

Ungibbable Mod (makes the dead bodies not GIB)
http://www.fileplanet.com/files/140000/143915.shtml

:D

I'm going to try and play this now! :lol:
_________________
Shuttle SN41G2
nforce2 chipset/IGP
Onboard GF4 MX
AthlonXP 2500+
512mb PC3200 DDR
20GB IDE HDD
4x DVD+/-RW
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 446
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well... this is real annoying. Doom3 was working absolutely perfect for me. I had great framerate, videos were working, sound was working, and the graphics had no glitches. I decided to lower my res to see if I could raise my detail level to medium. I added 800x600 to my meta-modes and restarted my xserver. I started Doom3 and now my framerate is awful. It is absolutely unplayable. If anyone knows what could have caused this I would love to hear some ideas.

Here is an interesting thread for anyone looking for a huge boost in their framerate:

http://www.forumplanet.com/planetdoom/topic.asp?fid=5733&tid=1438663
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
senectus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The instructions say
Quote:
First we have to download the patch. You can get it Here (Right click and save as. Save it into the winex directory that was created in your home directory)


But I don't have a winex directroy in my home directory... I haven't seen any errors since I emerged cvs and done the cvs download thing.. What can I do to remedy it?
_________________
2800+XP A7N8X FX6600GT
www.modmeup.net |
Belief is 9/10 of YOUR reality.
Wise man say: A skilled troll is a master baiter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 446
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What directory were you in when you pulled from cvs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
senectus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh

I didn't realize I needed to be that careful..

I have no idea where I was...
should I go back and do it from my home dir?
do I do it as root or as me?


**edit** Doh! I was in ut2004 dir...
Quote:
root@one-eye ut2004 # pwd
/opt/ut2004
root@one-eye ut2004 # ls
AirBuccaneers CBall Manual Patch11.txt StaticMeshes UT2004_EULA.txt setup.sh
AlienSwarm ForceFeedback Maps README.linux SwarmReadMe.txt Web ut2004
Animations Help Music README.neotokyo System bin ut2004.xpm
Benchmark KarmaData Neotokyo Sounds Textures setup.data winex

_________________
2800+XP A7N8X FX6600GT
www.modmeup.net |
Belief is 9/10 of YOUR reality.
Wise man say: A skilled troll is a master baiter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 446
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

senectus wrote:
oh

I didn't realize I needed to be that careful..

I have no idea where I was...
should I go back and do it from my home dir?
do I do it as root or as me?


**edit** Doh! I was in ut2004 dir...
Quote:
root@one-eye ut2004 # pwd
/opt/ut2004
root@one-eye ut2004 # ls
AirBuccaneers CBall Manual Patch11.txt StaticMeshes UT2004_EULA.txt setup.sh
AlienSwarm ForceFeedback Maps README.linux SwarmReadMe.txt Web ut2004
Animations Help Music README.neotokyo System bin ut2004.xpm
Benchmark KarmaData Neotokyo Sounds Textures setup.data winex


Thats where the dir is then. You can move it pretty easily.

mv winex ~/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kormoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 272
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure you refresh the howto as well, it's been updated earlier this evening, and you want to make sure that it's the newest version :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
senectus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeap.. got that.. its compiling now :-D

You guys are great.. thanks for this, from the bottom of my (empty) wallet.
_________________
2800+XP A7N8X FX6600GT
www.modmeup.net |
Belief is 9/10 of YOUR reality.
Wise man say: A skilled troll is a master baiter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
senectus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

erk.. more errors.. :-(

Code:
hud.c:97: error: syntax error before "profile_font"
hud.c:97: warning: type defaults to `int' in declaration of `profile_font'
hud.c:234: warning: data definition has no type or storage class
hud.c:241: warning: `last_profile' defined but not used
hud.c:242: warning: `prof_timers' defined but not used
hud.c:243: warning: `prof_counters' defined but not used
hud.c:244: warning: `num_timers' defined but not used
hud.c:244: warning: `num_counters' defined but not used
hud.c:254: warning: `compute_fps' defined but not used
hud.c:311: warning: `ConvMB' defined but not used
make[2]: *** [hud.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/senectus/winex/dlls/x11drv'
make[1]: *** [x11drv/libx11drv.so] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/senectus/winex/dlls'
make: *** [dlls] Error 2


This happened during the make process.. any idea's?
_________________
2800+XP A7N8X FX6600GT
www.modmeup.net |
Belief is 9/10 of YOUR reality.
Wise man say: A skilled troll is a master baiter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JBB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 51
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting the same as senectus.

I tried this without being sure if it was the right solution:

Quote:
Help! Pthread Errors or unable to load x11drv or gl libarys!
If you get pthread errors or it can't load x11drv or gl libarys , you'll have to add nptl to your use flags and reemerge glibc.


It wasn't. Still no luck. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
senectus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wiped the winex dir and started from scratch just in case I tripped up somewhere... but I got the same result again :-(

hey JBB do you by any chance have distcc installed on your machine?
_________________
2800+XP A7N8X FX6600GT
www.modmeup.net |
Belief is 9/10 of YOUR reality.
Wise man say: A skilled troll is a master baiter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JBB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 51
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, can't say I do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
senectus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm ok its not that then.
_________________
2800+XP A7N8X FX6600GT
www.modmeup.net |
Belief is 9/10 of YOUR reality.
Wise man say: A skilled troll is a master baiter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mani_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

mani@manuel ~/doom3 $ winex-cvs Doom3.exe
/usr/lib/winex-cvs/winex/bin/wine: cannot find 'Doom3.exe'


I followed the guide, any idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DarrenM
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 653
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to be in the doom directory or specify the full path. Also, for you guys having trouble getting winex to compile, just try wine. Stable version in portage works perfectly.

I've been playing it tonight, just can't help myself. I don't mind the flashlight so far but the fact that the flashlight is offset to the right is a real pain. Whoever thought that was a good idea needs to have a good hard look at themselves. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neenee
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 1786

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wine shows only static on most of the consoles / monitors though,
and the flashlight 'cone' is messed up with wine as well.

winex-cvs with that patch is the only good option i'm afraid :wink:
_________________
proud to be a scout and a chronic penguin hugger
Legion of Lore - site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mani_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DarrenM wrote:
You need to be in the doom directory or specify the full path. Also, for you guys having trouble getting winex to compile, just try wine. Stable version in portage works perfectly.

I've been playing it tonight, just can't help myself. I don't mind the flashlight so far but the fact that the flashlight is offset to the right is a real pain. Whoever thought that was a good idea needs to have a good hard look at themselves. :?


well, as you can see, I'm in my doom3 directory, also tried to pass over the full path, same error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kormoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 272
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mani_ wrote:
DarrenM wrote:
You need to be in the doom directory or specify the full path. Also, for you guys having trouble getting winex to compile, just try wine. Stable version in portage works perfectly.

I've been playing it tonight, just can't help myself. I don't mind the flashlight so far but the fact that the flashlight is offset to the right is a real pain. Whoever thought that was a good idea needs to have a good hard look at themselves. :?


well, as you can see, I'm in my doom3 directory, also tried to pass over the full path, same error


You have a Doom3 or DOOM3 in your /home/dir/ as well

try renaming it to Doom3_cd or similar.

I should explain, because wine/winex is case insensetive, it goes via the first directory entry it finds, in this case Doom3 or DOOM3 or similar, So when you rename it, it now will find the doom3 directory.

Hope that helps!


Last edited by kormoc on Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kormoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 272
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

senectus wrote:
erk.. more errors.. :-(

Code:
hud.c:97: error: syntax error before "profile_font"
hud.c:97: warning: type defaults to `int' in declaration of `profile_font'
hud.c:234: warning: data definition has no type or storage class
hud.c:241: warning: `last_profile' defined but not used
hud.c:242: warning: `prof_timers' defined but not used
hud.c:243: warning: `prof_counters' defined but not used
hud.c:244: warning: `num_timers' defined but not used
hud.c:244: warning: `num_counters' defined but not used
hud.c:254: warning: `compute_fps' defined but not used
hud.c:311: warning: `ConvMB' defined but not used
make[2]: *** [hud.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/senectus/winex/dlls/x11drv'
make[1]: *** [x11drv/libx11drv.so] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/senectus/winex/dlls'
make: *** [dlls] Error 2


This happened during the make process.. any idea's?


I think that has to do with missing font libarys. When you run configure theres a few lines that are important, here's the output of mine:
Code:

checking for FT_Init_FreeType in -lfreetype... yes
checking for freetype-config... freetype-config
checking ft2build.h usability... yes
checking ft2build.h presence... yes
checking for ft2build.h... yes
checking for freetype/freetype.h... yes
checking for freetype/ftglyph.h... yes
checking for freetype/tttables.h... yes
checking for freetype/ftnames.h... no
checking for freetype/ftsnames.h... yes
checking for freetype/ttnameid.h... yes
checking for freetype/ftoutln.h... yes
checking for freetype/internal/sfnt.h... yes
checking for FcInit in -lfontconfig... yes
checking fontconfig/fontconfig.h usability... yes
checking fontconfig/fontconfig.h presence... yes
checking for fontconfig/fontconfig.h... yes


Is yours really different? or is it the same?

Ooh, the other thing it could be is flex, what version of flex are you running?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 3 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum