Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Doom3 w/ Wine -IT CAN BE DONE
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 9, 10, 11  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
senectus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BonezTheGoon wrote:
Here is the error I am seeing -- This is now with Cedega 4.0.1 binaries.

Any advice?

Regards,
BonezTheGoon


Hey mate.. try this:
opengl-update xorg-x11
opengl-update nvidia
then ctrl alt backspace to restart your X session.. log back in and run it.

I don't know why but I have to do this nearly every time I emerge anything (even stuff that has nothing to do with graphics or WM..!)
_________________
2800+XP A7N8X FX6600GT
www.modmeup.net |
Belief is 9/10 of YOUR reality.
Wise man say: A skilled troll is a master baiter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PwNeR
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So far I havn't gotten Doom3 to work yet with my cedega install (4.0.1). I can run it with regular wine but what's the point in that if I pay for cedega? I am still getting the incredibly long error message located on the previous page. I've updated all my nvidia drivers and librarys aswell as opengl.

Any ideas?


Thanks,
PwNeR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
the lone crouton
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John5788 was right: I tracked down a stray "Default depth 16" in my XFree config file and changed it to 24. The flashlight is no longer fucked up and all screens ingame now display what they should. And boy does every texture look so, so much brighter and better... ;)

The editor works, but you need to execute the game with "/blah/cvscedega Doom3.exe +disconnect +set r_fullscreen 0 +editor" to run it in a window. MS users need to do this too as the mouse is fubar'd in fullscreen mode. I'm now well on my way to an ugly square room with one light and a fat zombie in the corner... :D

Can't run the game itself windowed without the mouse once again being fucked-up, but I prefer fullscreen anyway for the game itself, so it's all good.
_________________
All effort is useless.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 1375
Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright I finally got mine working, I needed a combination of things which appear to be totally specific to AMD64 users like myself.

First I needed to emerge app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-nvidia which gives the libraries needed in 32-bit flavours. That alone broke every game that had been working fine using wine. Warcraft 3 was the one I couldn't live without. So then I found that I needed to export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib32 -- after I had done both those things everything works now. Doom3 works and so do all my previously installed and working games (which stopped working temporarily until I found I needed to export that variable before launching any game with wine, winex or cedega.) So now I just make scripts to launch any game which needs it to export that value each time.

I hope that helps some one, I sure wish I had this information when I was trying to get mine working!!

If you are using AMD64 with an nVidia card and you have Xorg-x11 feel free to bug me personally about my config and how I got things working. I will hopefully remember well enough to be of service to you!

Regards,
BonezTheGoon
_________________
mcgruff wrote:
I can't promise to be civil.


pjp wrote:
The greater evil is voting for the "lesser evil."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robert S
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 415
Location: Canberra Australia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 9:47 am    Post subject: doom3 + amd64 Reply with quote

I installed doom3 in a 32-bit chroot. Full details on previous page. I actually did the installation on a separate computer on a removable drive then transferred it to my amd64. Hasn't ruined anything and runs very well. Had to tweak the sound, but that's all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John5788
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 2099
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the lone crouton wrote:
John5788 was right: I tracked down a stray "Default depth 16" in my XFree config file and changed it to 24. The flashlight is no longer fucked up and all screens ingame now display what they should. And boy does every texture look so, so much brighter and better... ;)

The editor works, but you need to execute the game with "/blah/cvscedega Doom3.exe +disconnect +set r_fullscreen 0 +editor" to run it in a window. MS users need to do this too as the mouse is fubar'd in fullscreen mode. I'm now well on my way to an ugly square room with one light and a fat zombie in the corner... :D

Can't run the game itself windowed without the mouse once again being fucked-up, but I prefer fullscreen anyway for the game itself, so it's all good.


i run the game in windowed mode fine. just enable DXGrab for ur mouse so the mouse isnt all stupid. i prefer to run cedega games in window'ed than full screen, ive had xorg shit itself before.
_________________
John5788
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quda
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have lots of problems

data:
athlon xp 3000+
ASUS A7N8X-X
512 MB Ram
GeForce TI 4200
Nvidia Kernel 6111
X.org
24 bit standard activated in xorg.conf

doom3 runs fine with "wine", but is super ugly and has no sound.

winex-cvs doom3.exe shows :
Code:

/usr/bin/winex-cvs: line 321:  4133 Segmentation fault      $SHELL -c "$RUNWINE $WINVER -debugmsg $DEBUGMSG -use-dos-cwd $WORKDIR -- $COMMAND_LINE"


cedega 4.0.1 doom3.exe shows:

Code:

wine: Unhandled exception, starting debugger...
WineDbg starting on pid 1
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/bin/wine' (0x00000000)
Breakpoint 1 at 0x4000ae50
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/pthread_lib/libntdll.so' (0x40015000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/pthread_lib/libwine.so' (0x40115000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libwine_unicode.so' (0x4012a000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libwine_port.so' (0x401f1000)
No debug information in ELF '/lib/libm.so.6' (0x40203000)
No debug information in ELF '/lib/libc.so.6' (0x40225000)
No debug information in ELF '/lib/libpthread.so.0' (0x40333000)
No debug information in ELF '/lib/libdl.so.2' (0x40384000)
No debug information in ELF '/lib/ld-linux.so.2' (0x40000000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libwinmm.so' (0x409c3000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libuser32.so' (0x40a19000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libgdi32.so' (0x40b42000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libkernel32.so' (0x40bb7000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libadvapi32.so' (0x40c37000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libopengl32.so' (0x40c5e000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libwine_tsx11.so' (0x40cd4000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/X11R6/lib/libSM.so.6' (0x40cf5000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/X11R6/lib/libICE.so.6' (0x40cfe000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/opengl/nvidia/lib/libGL.so.1' (0x40d14000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libGLU.so.1' (0x40d7c000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/X11R6/lib/libXext.so.6' (0x40e37000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6' (0x40e45000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/opengl/nvidia/lib/libGLcore.so.1' (0x40f0d000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/opengl/nvidia/lib/libnvidia-tls.so.1' (0x415e5000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libddraw.so' (0x4168b000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libglu32.so' (0x416cf000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libwsock32.so' (0x416d7000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libws2_32.so' (0x416e6000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libcomdlg32.so' (0x416fe000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libshell32.so' (0x41762000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/libpng.so.3' (0x417ec000)
No debug information in ELF '/lib/libz.so.1' (0x4181c000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libole32.so' (0x4182c000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/librpcrt4.so' (0x41891000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libshlwapi.so' (0x418d7000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libcomctl32.so' (0x41917000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libwinspool.drv.so' (0x4199c000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/liboleaut32.so' (0x419b1000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/libjpeg.so.62' (0x41a24000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libdinput.so' (0x41a41000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libdsound.so' (0x41a65000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/liboleacc.so' (0x41a86000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libwineserver.so' (0x41a8c000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/libfreetype.so.6' (0x41adc000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libx11drv.so' (0x41b46000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/locale/lib/common/xlcDef.so.2' (0x41bc1000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/locale/lib/common/ximcp.so.2' (0x41bc4000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/X11R6/lib/libXcursor.so.1' (0x41bf0000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/X11R6/lib/libXrender.so.1' (0x41bf9000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libwineoss.drv.so' (0x41d50000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libmsacm32.so' (0x41d69000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libmsacm.drv.so' (0x41e90000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libmidimap.drv.so' (0x41e98000)
No debug information in ELF '/usr/lib/transgaming_cedega//winex/lib/libd3dgl.so' (0x41fb0000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'Z:\mnt\win\c\doom3\Doom3.exe' (0x00400000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'NTDLL.DLL' (0x40052000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'KERNEL32.DLL' (0x40bea000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'ADVAPI32.DLL' (0x40c49000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'GDI32.DLL' (0x40b61000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'USER32.DLL' (0x40a50000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'WINMM.DLL' (0x409d1000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'DDRAW.DLL' (0x416a1000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'OPENGL32.DLL' (0x40c97000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'GLU32.DLL' (0x416d4000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'WS2_32.DLL' (0x416ee000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'WSOCK32.DLL' (0x416db000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'RPCRT4.DLL' (0x418b4000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'OLE32.DLL' (0x4184b000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'SHLWAPI.DLL' (0x418f4000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'COMCTL32.DLL' (0x41925000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'SHELL32.DLL' (0x41788000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'WINSPOOL.DRV' (0x419a4000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'COMDLG32.DLL' (0x41710000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'OLEAUT32.DLL' (0x419d3000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'DINPUT.DLL' (0x41a4e000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'DSOUND.DLL' (0x41a72000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'OLEACC.DLL' (0x41a89000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'X11DRV.DLL' (0x41b63000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'MSACM32.DLL' (0x41d6e000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'WINEOSS.DRV' (0x41d53000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'MSACM.DRV' (0x41e93000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'MIDIMAP.DRV' (0x41e9a000)
No debug information in 32bit DLL 'D3DGL.DLL' (0x41fc1000)
Unhandled exception: page fault on read access to 0xdeadbeef in 32-bit code (0xdeadbeef).
In 32-bit mode.
Register dump:
 CS:0073 SS:007b DS:007b ES:007b FS:003b GS:0033
 EIP:deadbeef ESP:409b2764 EBP:40a9aa14 EFLAGS:00210246(  R- 00  I  Z- -P1 )
 EAX:409b2770 EBX:00000000 ECX:00000000 EDX:400f6b54
 ESI:00000000 EDI:409b2770
Stack dump:
0x409b2764 (NTDLL.DLL.memcpy+0x7267b4):  00504cee 409b2770 40c287c8 00000040
0x409b2774 (NTDLL.DLL.memcpy+0x7267c4):  409b279c 41b66eb5 080eb040 00000000
0x409b2784 (NTDLL.DLL.memcpy+0x7267d4):  080eb040 02200006 40095316 40afdf90
0x409b2794 (NTDLL.DLL.memcpy+0x7267e4):  00002296 400c5795 00000000 40a9aa14
0x409b27a4 (NTDLL.DLL.memcpy+0x7267f4):  00504de7 ffffffff 0c000000 004f95d5
0x409b27b4 (NTDLL.DLL.memcpy+0x726804):  01655a90 0c000000 40000000 40c287c8
0x409b27c4 (NTDLL.DLL.memcpy+0x726814):

Backtrace:
=>0 0xdeadbeef (D3DGL.DLL.ValidateDevice+0x9cb0c217) (ebp=40a9aa14)
  1 0x00e85356 (Doom3.exe..data+0x70e356 in Z:\mnt\win\c\doom3\Doom3.exe) (ebp=57e58955)
*** Invalid address 0x57e58955 (D3DGL.DLL.ValidateDevice+0x15e88c7d)

0xdeadbeef (D3DGL.DLL.ValidateDevice+0x9cb0c217): *** Invalid address 0xdeadbeef (D3DGL.DLL.ValidateDevice+0x9cb0c217)
-- no code --
Modules:
Address                 Module  Name
0x00400000-02b65000     (PE)    Z:\mnt\win\c\doom3\Doom3.exe
0x40052000-40054000     (PE)    NTDLL.DLL
0x409d1000-409d3000     (PE)    WINMM.DLL
0x40a50000-40a52000     (PE)    USER32.DLL
0x40b61000-40b63000     (PE)    GDI32.DLL
0x40bea000-40bec000     (PE)    KERNEL32.DLL
0x40c49000-40c4b000     (PE)    ADVAPI32.DLL
0x40c97000-40c99000     (PE)    OPENGL32.DLL
0x416a1000-416a3000     (PE)    DDRAW.DLL
0x416d4000-416d6000     (PE)    GLU32.DLL
0x416db000-416dd000     (PE)    WSOCK32.DLL
0x416ee000-416f0000     (PE)    WS2_32.DLL
0x41710000-41712000     (PE)    COMDLG32.DLL
0x41788000-4178a000     (PE)    SHELL32.DLL
0x4184b000-4184d000     (PE)    OLE32.DLL
0x418b4000-418b6000     (PE)    RPCRT4.DLL
0x418f4000-418f6000     (PE)    SHLWAPI.DLL
0x41925000-41927000     (PE)    COMCTL32.DLL
0x419a4000-419a6000     (PE)    WINSPOOL.DRV
0x419d3000-419d5000     (PE)    OLEAUT32.DLL
0x41a4e000-41a50000     (PE)    DINPUT.DLL
0x41a72000-41a74000     (PE)    DSOUND.DLL
0x41a89000-41a8b000     (PE)    OLEACC.DLL
0x41b63000-41b65000     (PE)    X11DRV.DLL
0x41d53000-41d55000     (PE)    WINEOSS.DRV
0x41d6e000-41d70000     (PE)    MSACM32.DLL
0x41e93000-41e95000     (PE)    MSACM.DRV
0x41e9a000-41e9c000     (PE)    MIDIMAP.DRV
0x41fc1000-41fc3000     (PE)    D3DGL.DLL
Threads:
process  tid      prio
00000001 (D) Z:\mnt\win\c\doom3\Doom3.exe
        00000002    0 <==
WineDbg terminated on pid 1


And I couldn't install winex-cvs from http://www.linux-militia.net/howtos/doom3/doom3.html , only via the install script that was offered in this thread.

What to do?

quda
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deprave
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 63
Location: Flint, Michigan

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This stinks... it runs like a dream for me with latest cedega not any of the flaws anyone mentioned here...Except absolutely no dynamic lighthing whatsoever, only the entities that are lights themselves are lit, its dark as hell, other than that the performance actually seems better than in windows, i take my flashlight out and i can see things just fine its just...Everything is Pitch Black.....
_________________
http://www.migamer.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DarrenM
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 653
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What vid card, drivers etc? Sounds like a video driver issue, make sure you have the latest ones for your card. If you do, then perhaps try the previous version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kormoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 272
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

deprave wrote:
This stinks... it runs like a dream for me with latest cedega not any of the flaws anyone mentioned here...Except absolutely no dynamic lighthing whatsoever, only the entities that are lights themselves are lit, its dark as hell, other than that the performance actually seems better than in windows, i take my flashlight out and i can see things just fine its just...Everything is Pitch Black.....


Are you running in 24 bit color mode or using a ati card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deprave
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 63
Location: Flint, Michigan

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

both

Radeon 9600XT 3.10.1 drivers
r_renderer is set to "best"... i suspect this is the problem...when I set it to R200 my game locks up...I play all kinds of games on this system and they all work great ...These are the drivers that came out just a couple days ago...


Last edited by deprave on Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quda
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys,

I'm currently trying to install doom 3 with the howto from http://www.linux-militia.net/howtos/doom3/doom3.html. But when I enter
Code:

patch -p0 < GlobalMemoryStatusExFixed.patch

it asks me
Code:

patching file include/winbase.h
Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]

What should I do?[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blueworm
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 962
Location: Asturias

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

quda wrote:
Hi guys,

I'm currently trying to install doom 3 with the howto from http://www.linux-militia.net/howtos/doom3/doom3.html. But when I enter
Code:

patch -p0 < GlobalMemoryStatusExFixed.patch

it asks me
Code:

patching file include/winbase.h
Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected!  Assume -R? [n]

What should I do?[/code]

This means the patch has allready been applied just hit enter and it default to [n] No.
If you hit [y] it will Reverse patch which is not wot you want.
_________________
LianLi PC60, OCZ PowerStream 520W PSU, Asus p5N-E SLI, Core2duo E6550,2Gb GEIL 4-4-4-12 DDR2, XFX Geforce 8800GT, TB santaCruz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quda
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep you're right. But why did they even mention the patch, if it was already applied?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roothorick
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2004
Posts: 83
Location: Menasha, WI

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simple. CVS is extremely dynamic. The patch was added sometime after the guide was written and the guide hasn't been since updated.
_________________
Note: This user has been arrested under the DMCA for copyright infringement based on a complaint from The Inernational Cliche Company. He is also facing charges for violating US patents describing the encoding of text in digital form.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kormoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 272
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erm, the guide has been updated... I just forgot to upload it :oops:

I'll go fix that now :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blueworm
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 962
Location: Asturias

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kormoc Really Nice guide dude. Thanks.
I have it running perfectly both Single player and multiplayer.
Perhaps you could add brief instructions on what is needed to launch the multiplayer from XQF.
I have In > Preferences > Games > command Line cvscedega ~/games/doom3/Doom3.exe
and In > Preferences > Games > Working directory~/games/doom3
and In > Preferences > Games > Custom CFGDoomMpConfig.cfg
The reason I have a custum config for multiplayer is simply beacuse doom3 is such a GPU hog that I can not run the same config in both SP as in MP without sufferring unplayable lag. Therefore I run MP at 1024x768 low quality, all eye candy off.
Whereas in SP I can run 1280x1024 medium quality, eye candy on.
_________________
LianLi PC60, OCZ PowerStream 520W PSU, Asus p5N-E SLI, Core2duo E6550,2Gb GEIL 4-4-4-12 DDR2, XFX Geforce 8800GT, TB santaCruz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quda
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now when running
Code:

~/bin/cvscedega Doom3.exe

I get
Code:

Installing registry...
/home/cuda/bin/cvscedega: line 41: 17808 Segmentation fault      "$ConfigurePrefix/bin/regapi" -- setValue -force <"$HOME/.w.reg" >&"$WINEPREFIX/reglog"



Registry Install failed ...
Remove /home/cuda/.cvscedega .reg files to try again.

what should I do now?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hamsta
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mine's running fine after recompiling glibc with nptl in the USE flag. also no problems with missing GUIs or with sound. also the editor works, although it crashes more often than under win.

my screenshots: (Doom3,Editor,X.Org,Xinerama)
http://www.doom3linux.de/viewtopic.php?p=53#53
_________________
______
hamsta
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deprave
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 63
Location: Flint, Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone had the same problem as me? (see above)
55-60 fps in cedega
in wine my fps is shit
but anyway no dyamiclights/textures are not lit :(
_________________
http://www.migamer.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
the lone crouton
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can build geometry to my hearts content in the editor, place lights etc. but attempting to texture anything, or just browse the available textures, causes an immediate crash.

I suspect it's something to do with either the paths being incorrect, or the pak files not being recognised as zips. Anyone using the editor experience anything similar?
_________________
All effort is useless.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rojaro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2002
Posts: 732

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 2:39 pm    Post subject: My Ultimate DOOM 3 & Cedega HowTo :) Reply with quote

Hi folks,

after i've read so much about troubles and problems many people have with various Configurations, i've decided to write a little step-by-step howto which explains how i've got it running completely without any problems :)

Step 1. Cedega CVS Installation
First fetch this package (http://floam.ascorbic.com/gentoo/cedega-cvs.tar.bz2) which contains an ebuild for the cedega cvs version which you just put into your portage-overlay.

Step 1.1. Optional -> for NPTL Users only
If you're using NPTL edit the ebuild and put the following code after line 55:
Code:
use nptl && epatch ${FILESDIR}/cedega-cvs-winetest-pth.patch

Now create the file "cedega-cvs-winetest-pth.patch" in the files directory and put in it the following code:
Code:
--- programs/winetest/winetest.c.orig   2004-08-26 17:36:56.859013464 +0200
+++ programs/winetest/winetest.c        2004-08-26 17:37:09.923027432 +0200
@@ -136,7 +136,7 @@


 /* perl extension initialisation */
-static void xs_init(void)
+static void xs_init(pTHX)
 {
     extern void boot_wine(CV *cv);
     newXS("wine::bootstrap", boot_wine,__FILE__);

Step 1.2. Compile Cedega
If you dont use NPTL run
Code:
USE="-* opengl" emerge cedega-cvs

otherwise run
Code:
USE="-* opengl nptl" emerge cedega-cvs

Step 2. Install DOOM3
Now download the DOOM3 installer script provided by linux-militia.net and run it:
Code:
wget http://www.linux-militia.net/howtos/doom3/doom3_installer.sh
chmod +x doom3_installer.sh
./doom3_installer.sh

Just do what it asks you to do. As soon as it is finished you need to replace the Doom3.exe with a patched version which is also provided by linux-militia.net:
Code:
cd ~/doom3/
mv Doom3.exe Doom3.exe.old
wget http://www.linux-militia.net/howtos/doom3/Doom3.exe.gz
gzip -d Doom3.exe.gz

Now take your DOOM3 manual and look on the back. There should be the serial number for the game. Create a file in ~/doom3/base/ called "doomkey" and put in it this serial number, but not the last two chars/numbers of the serial and also omit the dashes (if there are any)!

Step 3. Run the game :)
Make sure your display depth is set to 24bit and now type
Code:
cd ~/doom3/
cedega-cvs Doom3.exe

Have fun :)
_________________
A mathematician is a machine for turning coffee into theorems. ~ Alfred Renyi (*1921 - †1970)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ryle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 204

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Deprave, I have been having the same problem too and have been documenting it at:

http://transgaming.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=685

I have not found a solution yet, but others with different hardware configurations than mine have said they have run into the same thing. One thing I did note is that it starts out ok for me and then the lighting shuts off. if I change to the console and then change back (ctrl-alt-1, ctrl-alt-7) it fixes the problem temporarily. Some people have reported this problem happening, but only after several hours of play. these people play until it happens, save, quit, restart. It happens to me very often so this solution does not really work for me.

If you find any solutions please let me know :D

My specs:
Gentoo 2004.2 rc14
2.6.7 kernel
GNOME
Cedega 4.0.1 P2P 1.3.1
GeForce 5700 LE 256mb
Nvidia 6111 driver (also had problem with 6106 driver)

EDIT - Just found this link where another person had this problem:

http://www.forumplanet.com/planetdoom/topic.asp?fid=5733&tid=1463173

Anyone know how to use the r_renderer line and what values can go there?

MORE EDIT - From googling I've found that the following are possible values for r_renderer: [best, arb, arb2, cg, exp, nv10, nv20, r200]. I'll play around with those settings when I get home tonight and let you know if it makes any difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ryle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 204

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I changed r_renderer to "nv10" and that seemed to fix the problem. "nv20" had the same problem I was originally having. I played for about 5 min using "nv10" and the problem never happened. I will test it out tonight (I don't wanna play until there are no lights :D ) and let you know if the problem happens again or if its totally fixed. If its fixed then I guess the "best" setting sets nv20 when it tries to autodetect when it should be using nv10.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deprave
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 63
Location: Flint, Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey thanks, I still havent found a solution but ill follow the links and info you provided and let you know of my results, its good to see im not the only one :)
_________________
http://www.migamer.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 10 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum