Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problems booting - Kernel Panic.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
thorne
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2002 10:09 pm    Post subject: Problems booting - Kernel Panic. Reply with quote

Hey there,

I have HPT366/368/370 enabled [*] in the kernel, yet when I boot, it only loads the VIA IDE drivers, and not the HPT374 ones. If I boot off the 1.2 cd, it loads these drivers just fine. I just re-built my system, and up until yesterday (using kernel r7, with same driver as above) the drives loaded fine.

Are there any issues with kernel-r9 (gentoo-sources) and the hpt drivers?

Thanks. Pulling my hair out trying to get grub working... now I don't think it was grub that was causing the problem.

What is currently selected under IDE, ATA and ATAPI Block devices:
Code:
<*> Enhanced IDE/MFM/RLL
<*> Include IDE/ATA-2 Disk support
<*> SCSI emulation supports
[*] Generic PCI IDE chipset support
[*] Sharing PCI IDE interrupts support
[*] Generic PCI bus-master DMA support
[*] Use PCI DMA by default when available
[*] HPT366/368/370 chipset support
[*] VIA82CXXX chipset support


I should also mention that my motherboard is an Abit AT7. Onboard HPT374 controller. Also, I did not set up a RAID. I am merely using the HPT374 so that I can install linux on a single 40gb ata100 drive.
_________________
Stupid bug, you go squish now!
-Homer Simpson

Registered linux user #287718


Last edited by thorne on Mon Oct 28, 2002 11:31 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BackSeat
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2002
Posts: 242
Location: Reading, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2002 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you SURE your problem is the fact that the HPT drivers aren't loading? What is the exact text of the panic?

BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorne
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2002 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

one sec.. let me try booting. The reason I started to think it is because of the drivers is because:

a. I have tried so many different grub menu.lst files, I thought it was impossible none of them worked.

b. When I boot off the CD, I see:
VP_IDE: VT8233A blah blah blah
ide-0, ide-1, hda, hdb, hdc, etc.
HPT374 blah blah blah
hde, hdf

When I boot off the drive itself, VP_IDE is there, but HPT374 is not. It does not list hde, and hdf.

OK, kernel panic message:
Code:
VFS: Cannot open root device "hdf3" or 21:43
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel panic: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on 21:43


I have the following setup:
/dev/hdf1 /boot
/dev/hdf2 swap
/dev/hdf3 /

/dev/hdf does not exist, so that must mean the driver didn't load properly, and grub can not see the drive.
_________________
Stupid bug, you go squish now!
-Homer Simpson

Registered linux user #287718


Last edited by thorne on Tue Oct 29, 2002 1:30 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorne
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2002 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and since someone will probably ask, here is any pertinent information:

on hpt374 controller
Code:
fdisk -l /dev/hdf

Disk /dev/hdf: 255 heads, 63 sectors, 4865 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 bytes

Device      Boot    Start    End    Blocks        Id    System
/dev/hdf1             1         13     104391       83    Linux
/dev/hdf2             14        79    530145       83    Linux
/dev/hdf3             80       1963  15133230   83    Linux
/dev/hdf4             1964   4865  23397448+  c     Win95 FAT32 (LBA)


on hpt374 controller
Code:
fdisk -l /dev/hde

/dev/hde1  blah blah blah
/dev/hde2  blah blah blah


regular ide controller
Code:
fdisk -l /dev/hda
device        boot   id   system
/dev/hda1   *       7    hpfs/ntfs
/dev/hda2            f    Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5            7    hpfs/ntfs



Code:
grub> find /boot/bzImage
  (hd2,0)

grub>


Code:
grub> root(hd2,0)
>setup(hd0)
>quit


grub.conf (ln'd to menu.lst)
Code:
default 0
timeout 30
color green/black lightgreen/black

title=Gentoo
root(hd2,0)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/hdf3 append="hdc=ide-scsi hdd=ide-scsi"

title=Windows XP
root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1


etc/fstab is just your standard run-o-the-mill copy of what is in the install doc, except that I replaced BOOT SWAP and ROOT with hdf1, hdf2, and hdf3.

Also, not that this menu.lst file is only one of MANY different attempts. What am I doing wrong?
_________________
Stupid bug, you go squish now!
-Homer Simpson

Registered linux user #287718


Last edited by thorne on Tue Oct 29, 2002 1:33 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorne
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to compile the kernel step by step... i.e.

make dep
make clean
make bzImage
make modules
make modules_install

to make sure it compiles properly and I didn't miss something. While creating bzImage, the last few lines are:

Code:
tools/build -b bbootsect bsetup compressed /bvmlinux.out CURRENT > bzImage
Root device is (33, 67)
Boot sector 512 bytes.
Setup is 2524 bytes.
System is 1093 kB
warning: kernel is too big for standalone boot from floppy
make[1]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/linux-2.4.19-gentoo-r9/arch/i386/boot'


two questions:
1. Root device is (33, 67) ... are these numbers supposed to match with what is displayed in the kernel panic? currently 21:43. If so, what is wrong with my menu.lst file?
2. Although I doubt it, does the warning have anything to do with it?
_________________
Stupid bug, you go squish now!
-Homer Simpson

Registered linux user #287718
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thorne wrote:
1. Root device is (33, 67) ... are these numbers supposed to match with what is displayed in the kernel panic? currently 21:43.

$21 == #33
$43 == #67
...so I'd say that's a match (here $ means hex, # means decimal)

Quote:
does the warning have anything to do with it?

I don't think so...I get that warning too, and everything works fine (no highpoint here though).
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorne
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So that should be more proof that HPT374 is not loading. I'm not going crazy. I can't find much information on this though.

I guess the problem is that I am not entirely sure what to look for. As far as I know, everything that needs to be compiled into the kernel, is there. I could post my .config file if anyone want to have a look at it.

Other than that, I'm out of idea for the moment. I've tried an insane of amount of kernel compilations, but nothing I do seems to get HPT374 to kick in.

I mount boot, as I'm using the rescue CD, so I'm sure I'm not copying bzImage into oblivion.
_________________
Stupid bug, you go squish now!
-Homer Simpson

Registered linux user #287718
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All the recent threads that come up in a search for highpoint seem to indicate to me that your best bet is to go back to -r7 sources, which are based off of vanilla 2.4.18. -r9 is based off of vanilla 2.4.19.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorne
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That would make sense since I was using r7 when my system worked. Being the noob that I am, how would I go about replacing my current sources with r7?

It would involve removing r9, and recreating the symbolic link to r7, right?
how to I replace the current kernel with an older one? I'll be looking at the docs, but let me know if there is something the docs don't cover.

Thanks for your help, yet again rac!

<edit>OK, I know I've done this before, but I made the mistake of not writing it down. Where can I find the linux-2.4.18-gentoo-r7 sources?</edit>

<edit2>duh... kernel.org... I would assume it would be easier to trick gentoo into emerging r7.. ah well</edit>
_________________
Stupid bug, you go squish now!
-Homer Simpson

Registered linux user #287718
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would just
Code:
# emerge /usr/portage/sys-kernel/gentoo-sources/gentoo-sources-2.4.19-r7.ebuild
...and afterwards make sure that the /usr/src/linux symlink is pointing where it should be. If you want to get fancy about it, you could pin that version of gentoo-sources in your world file, so that it won't try to update you any more. Search for posts with "pin and world" by Naan Yaar for details.

EDIT: Have you seen Lnx_dork's post in here?
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorne
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh, that's easy, lol

I ended up editing the packages file and adding:
=sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.4.19-r7

now if I pretend an emerge, I get
[ebuild N ] sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.4.19-r7

Same thing, different way of doing it, or is my method wrong?

Yup, saw Lnx_dork's post, but I have not setup a RAID.

WHEW... ok, I think I'm ready to compile r7 now...
_________________
Stupid bug, you go squish now!
-Homer Simpson

Registered linux user #287718
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thorne wrote:
I ended up editing the packages file and adding:
=sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.4.19-r7

Only problem with this approach is that it will get blasted away each time you rsync. Eventually finer-grained masking will be possible.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorne
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AHA!!! in r7, HPT is only labeled HPT366, I remember that clearly! They must have made changes in the driver because in r9, it is labled differently.

Almost ready to compile.

...

compiling now!
_________________
Stupid bug, you go squish now!
-Homer Simpson

Registered linux user #287718
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorne
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 6:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

boink! Hey, that did the trick! I'm now in my gentoo system, compiling KDE... er... kde-3.1beta2 that is =)

Thanks rac.
_________________
Stupid bug, you go squish now!
-Homer Simpson

Registered linux user #287718
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorne
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2002 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Been busy... not that anyone should care, but I now have a fully functional gentoo box, running KDE 3.1 Beta 2.... again.

beta 2 looks really nice. I like the fact that keramik is built in (comes with the instlal) and I really like the addition of tabs in konqueror. Doubt I will be merging mozilla... always had problems with it in my previous gentoo installation anyway.

Konqueror rocks!
_________________
Stupid bug, you go squish now!
-Homer Simpson

Registered linux user #287718
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maj
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2002
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2003 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so you can get gentoo to install to a hard drive on a HPT374 channel? wouldnt do it for me - hrm, just got a new AT7 from an RMA, will update to the latest BIOS and try again i guess..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gnufsh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 400
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you try a newer kernel like the ac,ck or vanilla- sources?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorne
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have to use an older kernel... or well.. at least back when I was installing you did. The newest kernel may include the drivers... not sure about it though.
_________________
Stupid bug, you go squish now!
-Homer Simpson

Registered linux user #287718
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maj
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2002
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2003 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tried using the latest gentoo-sources and vanilla-sources, will try to find a patch for my kernel, or downgrade to r7

hopefully ill get it soon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum