Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
postgresql e-build - why depend on j2sdk-1.3.1_05?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
keifir
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2002 4:06 pm    Post subject: postgresql e-build - why depend on j2sdk-1.3.1_05? Reply with quote

hi,

i'm a newbie - so forgive me if this is smthg obvious that i ask

i tried to emerge postgresql-7.2.3 tday - it showed me dependancy with j2sdk-1.3.1_05. The thing is the Sun's site has j2sdk-1.3.1_06 already - and the build file only accepts the j2sdk-1.3.1_05 one.

so i went to my make.conf and put "-java" - now i can compile postgres.

But the thing is why depend on an old version of jdk when i have jdk-1.4.1 installed? And why that particular version: not 1.3.1_06 but 1.3.1_05?

thx,

keifir

Last edited by keifir on Thu Oct 24, 2002 4:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
fidler
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2002 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They do have sun java 1.4.1 which is even *newer*. However, if you want to install sun java 1.3.1_06 and use it to comple postrgres, follow sun's instructions, and then
> emerge inject dev-java/sun-jdk-1.3.1.06

and your system will know you installed sun-jdk-1.3.1.06 and compile against that java jdk.

The reason why it isn't up is the developer hasn't got around to putting up the sun-jdk. I think that most developers here like the ibm-jdk better . . .
keifir
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2002 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanx for your reply,

actually i just want to install postgres :). But i'll try to use ibm's jdk - i didn't know it's more 'favoured'.

so in order for ebuild to succed with my current jdk , i just do
inject java-myinstalledversion
and emerge will pick it up?

thx,

keifir
fidler
Apprentice
Apprentice