Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Possible to run J2MicroEdition on a 64bit system?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
occe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 171
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 7:38 am    Post subject: Possible to run J2MicroEdition on a 64bit system? Reply with quote

Ive installed eclipse 3.2beta on my amd64 computer, with sun-java 1.5, and it works fine.... However, now I would want to use the j2me to develop midlets but that isnt available, anyone has any ideas on how to solve it?
_________________
/occe

AMD64 3000+
Nvidia Geforce6600GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
occe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 171
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

really now one has an idea?
_________________
/occe

AMD64 3000+
Nvidia Geforce6600GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vyzivus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just install the EclipseME http://eclipseme.org/ Eclipse plugin, it worked for me.
_________________
I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voytas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 203
Location: Poland, Lodz

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vyzivus wrote:
Just install the EclipseME http://eclipseme.org/ Eclipse plugin, it worked for me.
did you install it as root or normal user?

what ToolKit do you use ?
_________________
DESKTOP: i815E - Celeron 1GHz - 512MB 133MHz - WD 1200JB - GF4-MX440
LAPTOP: Dell Latitude L400 [P3 700MHz SpeedStep 256MB ATI Mach64]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
occe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 171
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vyzivus wrote:
Just install the EclipseME http://eclipseme.org/ Eclipse plugin, it worked for me.


yeah, eclipseME works fine here to.... but not any toolkit...
_________________
/occe

AMD64 3000+
Nvidia Geforce6600GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vyzivus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

voytas wrote:
did you install it as root or normal user?

You need root privileges, to gain write access to eclipse's plugins directory.
1. login as root, run eclipse, download EclipseME1.2.1 using UpdateManager from http://eclipseme.org/updates/, logout
2. download sun's wireless toolkit from http://java.sun.com/products/sjwtoolkit/
I'm using j2me_wireless_toolkit-2_2-linux-i386.bin
3. install it.
4. in Eclipse, go to Window>Preferences>j2ME>Platform Components>Wireless Toolkits, rightclick and select Add toolkit, and select directory where the toolkit is installed.
_________________
I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voytas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 203
Location: Poland, Lodz

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i did it that way but it's not working...

i'll try again....

PS
did you install WTK in /opt or ~/ ?
_________________
DESKTOP: i815E - Celeron 1GHz - 512MB 133MHz - WD 1200JB - GF4-MX440
LAPTOP: Dell Latitude L400 [P3 700MHz SpeedStep 256MB ATI Mach64]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vyzivus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed the WTK into "~/localbin/WTK2.2", as a user (not as root). Maybe not a best place, but it works :) What exactly is not working for you? The EclipseME plugin?
I have created a sample ME project this way:
1. Create a java project
2. Create src directory in this project. In project properties, select src directory to contain source files. Click yes to create bin directory for class files.
3. Rightclick on project, J2ME > Convert to J2ME project. A window should open, there should be something like "J2ME Wireless Toolkit 2.2 MIDP 1.0 Platform" in the combobox (you may create additional platforms in global j2me properties).
4. Rightclick on src, New > Other > J2ME > J2ME Midlet
5. Override abstract methods in created class.
6. Rightclick on created class > Run as > Emulated J2ME Midlet.
_________________
I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voytas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 203
Location: Poland, Lodz

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks a lot it seems to have worked for me :)
_________________
DESKTOP: i815E - Celeron 1GHz - 512MB 133MHz - WD 1200JB - GF4-MX440
LAPTOP: Dell Latitude L400 [P3 700MHz SpeedStep 256MB ATI Mach64]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
umi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone tried the Wireless Toolkit 2.2 with Eclipse on AMD64? It installs ok, but after start I cannot either click on the phone buttons, or close the app (only with xkill). I have stable Blackdown Java 1.4.2..
_________________
Linux umi 2.6.14-gentoo-r5 #1 Wed Oct 12 22:54:28 CEST 2005 x86_64 AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 3100+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vyzivus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works fine with sun-jdk-1.5.0.06, I haven't tried it with blackdown-1.4.2
_________________
I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
longshot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Sep 2003
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

umi wrote:
Has anyone tried the Wireless Toolkit 2.2 with Eclipse on AMD64? It installs ok, but after start I cannot either click on the phone buttons, or close the app (only with xkill). I have stable Blackdown Java 1.4.2..


Make sure you have correct IP address in /etc/hosts.

See http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-317822-highlight-wtk2+2.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum