Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Warning : many lost ticks, time source seems to be instable
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
thaldyron
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Sep 2002
Posts: 227
Location: On Earth

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

db9052 wrote:

I've just installed this BIOS update on my Aspire 1501LCe, however with gentoo-dev-sources I'm still getting lost ticks!


Try the development-sources this should make the message become invisible although you can get it back with the boot parameter:
Code:
report_lost_ticks=100


This problem has yet to be resolved!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pc486
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was experiencing this problem with a Tyan S2882 board (Thunder K8S Pro). I solved it by including in the kernel (instead of a module) support for the AMD-8111 contoler. No more lost ticks.

FYI, I'm using the gentoo-dev-sources 2.6.7-r14 something-or-rather.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andromexus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 82
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 1:06 pm    Post subject: Desktop PC: No overclocking Reply with quote

Here, the same problem ocurred, it even sometimes stopped the machine (while emerging). But it was easily solved by disabling dynamic overclocking feature in the bios (my mobo is a MSI-Neo).

So better would be overclocking by software (who knows good examples for that?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No you need static overclocking - if you want to oc, no matter if it is software or hardware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amd64gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 7:24 pm    Post subject: amd 8111 "really bad time keeper" comment Reply with quote

I noticed an above post that mentioned compiling support for the AMD 8111 into the kernel. I can't find any documentation that indicates that my mobo uses the amd 8111 so, I doubt that is the only source of this problem however, I found this interesting comment in the kernel source.

In the linux kernel source, file

/usr/src/linux/arch/x86_64/kernel/time.c

the comment on line 229 reads

/* AMD 8111 is a really bad time keeper and hits this regularly.
It probably was an attempt to avoid screwing up DST, but ignore
that for now. */

This does not give me a good feeling.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazycat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 838
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if someone lives in germany there is an article in latest c't about a problem of acer notebooks and linux with this hpet timer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amd64gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 4:51 am    Post subject: giving me ticks Reply with quote

For me, none of the suggested "fixes" for this problem worked. Using the latest kernel source hides the problem but if I use the "repost_lost_ticks=100" boot parameter then they reappear. Is Gentoo running my processor much harder than it needs to run? Am I not getting the most out of my processor because I'm throwing away processor cycles?

Do any of the other linux distros have this problem? Mandrake 10, Suse 9.1 pro?

Here are some URLs discussing other people's linux "many lost ticks"

Subject: APIC problems on Via system
http://www.x86-64.org/lists/discuss/msg05593.html

"The new lost-tick detection code"
http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/people/akpm/patches/2.5/2.5.61/2.5.61-mm1/broken-out/report-lost-ticks.patch

"Timer and APIC problems on x86_64 with 2.6.7"
http://www.ussg.iu.edu/hypermail/linux/kernel/0406.3/1073.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amd64gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the report_lost_ticks=100 boot parameter in Mandrake 10.0 for amd64 and it does not report any lost ticks. What is different between Mandrake 10.0 and Gentoo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mars-red
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 204
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 12:50 pm    Post subject: another victim Reply with quote

Hi all,

I just completed a stage 1 install on my new socket 939 amd64 (w/ K8T800 chipset mobo). I've been lurking the forums for a week to help get myself through the install, but this is my first post here.

I'm having the same lost ticks / instable clock messages. I am not running squat right now, just a bare console environment with a farked NIC driver. I have gathered the info from this thread and will do some experimenting tonight when I get home. I will post with my results. **fingers crossed**

-max
_________________
my wrench blog: http://www.digitaldownpour.com/blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vyzivus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I upgraded to kernel 2.6.8-gentoo-r4 and some other messages have emerged:
Code:
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
warning: many lost ticks.
Your time source seems to be instable or some driver is hogging interupts
rip acpi_ec_read+0xce/0xed
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
warning: many lost ticks.
Your time source seems to be instable or some driver is hogging interupts
rip __do_softirq+0x48/0xb0
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
warning: many lost ticks.
Your time source seems to be instable or some driver is hogging interupts
rip acpi_ec_read+0xce/0xed
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
warning: many lost ticks.
Your time source seems to be instable or some driver is hogging interupts
rip __do_softirq+0x48/0xb0
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
warning: many lost ticks.
Your time source seems to be instable or some driver is hogging interupts
rip acpi_ec_write+0xcd/0xee
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
warning: many lost ticks.
Your time source seems to be instable or some driver is hogging interupts
rip acpi_ec_read+0xce/0xed
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
warning: many lost ticks.
Your time source seems to be instable or some driver is hogging interupts
rip handle_IRQ_event+0x28/0x60
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
warning: many lost ticks.
Your time source seems to be instable or some driver is hogging interupts
rip acpi_ec_read+0xce/0xed
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
hda: dma_timer_expiry: dma status == 0x24
hda: DMA interrupt recovery
hda: lost interrupt
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
warning: many lost ticks.
Your time source seems to be instable or some driver is hogging interupts
rip acpi_ec_write+0xcd/0xee
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.

What is that rip thing? :?
_________________
I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JonSvenJonsson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here. I got an msi k8 neo. I solved my problem by adding a patch which lets powernow-k8 run on buggy bioses (before the patch i had a message that numpst must be 1 when inserting powernow-k8 module).

The patch can be found here:
http://www.muru.com/linux/amd64/patches/patch-2.6.4-powernow-k8-buggy-bios

However it wont apply cleanly against newer kernels. So you have to fix it, or wait until i have acces to my amd64-box, so i can make a diff oy my modifications for linux-2.6.9-rc2.

cu Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vyzivus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2004 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yo! I was playing with ACPI a little and this
is what I have found. Recently, I was having the 'many lost ticks' message
only once per minute, after I quit using GKrellM. I have searched for the source
of these messages and I found it: the Gnome battery meter. When I turned it
off the messages stopped. There is only one such message in my dmesg:

    ACPI: AC Adapter [AC] (on-line)
    ACPI: Battery Slot [BAT0] (battery present)
    ACPI: Power Button (FF) [PWRF]
    ACPI: Lid Switch [LID]
    ACPI: Sleep Button (CM) [SLPB]
    ACPI: Processor [CPU0] (supports C1)
    ACPI: Thermal Zone [THRS] (51 C)
    Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
    ACPI: Thermal Zone [THRC] (60 C)

If you had the message then you may try
Code:

  cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state

for a couple of times. You should see the messages again. It seems that they
appear when you poll some information from ACPI (however I haven't tried
polling other ACPI stuff).
I have discussed the matter with a friend of mine and here is what we think: the
kernel cannot query ACPI asynchronously (or something like that :) I
don't know this low-level stuff).
Hence, when kernel queries ACPI some other activities
may have to be delayed, including the clock interrupt.
We think that this is the source of the evil.
I have heard that some slow busses (SMB or howitiscalled - I think lm_sensors
is able to query it, for example) are cached by the kernel: they are queried regularly by the kernel
and the result values are stored. If a program asks for some of these values kernel
provides the cached values. Can something like this be used also with ACPI?[/code]
_________________
I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
db9052
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vyzivus wrote:
Yo! I was playing with ACPI a little and this
is what I have found. Recently, I was having the 'many lost ticks' message
only once per minute, after I quit using GKrellM. I have searched for the source
of these messages and I found it: the Gnome battery meter. When I turned it
off the messages stopped.

I have found similar effects - when I am running off the mains without a battery present, I don't get any lost ticks at all! Any ideas for fixes? It would be nice to see how much power is left in the battery without all these lost ticks...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
odondor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm that it is battery related. After quitting gkrellm and the kde battery monitor the problem promptly disappeared. Good to have logging useable after 3 months.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Aug 2002
Posts: 61
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same here. I removed the gnome battery applet from my panel and the messages disappeared... weird.

UPDATE: Lost ticks returned... gnome applet not the issue, sorry I jumped the gun.


Last edited by bluz on Thu Nov 18, 2004 1:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PC_Freak
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had the lost ticks problem very recently. It became fixed when I was searching a way to get DMA enabled on the sata disk. I discovered that support for the SiS 5512 northbridge chip wasn't enabled in the kernel. After recompiling, DMA worked perfectly and the lost ticks problem was gone.

Even more, the kernel announced this
Code:
powernow-k8: Found 1 AMD Athlon 64 / Opteron processors (version 1.00.09b)
powernow-k8:    0 : fid 0x0 (800 MHz), vid 0xa (1300 mV)
powernow-k8:    1 : fid 0xa (1800 MHz), vid 0x6 (1400 mV)
powernow-k8:    2 : fid 0xc (2000 MHz), vid 0x2 (1500 mV)
powernow-k8: cpu_init done, current fid 0xc, vid 0x2
It was the first time I saw this message, so it is probably working fine now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malloc
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i'm having this problem with 2.6.9-ck3 and i think that (in my case) i suspect what's going on.
This warning only appears once during boot, right after my usb mouse is recognized (meaning after the load of ehci wich i have built-in into the kernel). This warning didn't appeared before and now that i think of it i've changed something between ck2 and ck3.
There's an USB option wich is something like poll time something, wich basically allows you to change the mouse poll timing from the default 100ms to something else. Now according to the docs my mx500 should support a poll interval of 2ms (50x lower than the default) wich is what i believe is causing the problem (after all it says "some driver may be hogging the interrupt resource").
I'm gonna try and re-compile my kernel without that option and see what comes out of it.
Anyway just an informative update.
_________________
--> Linux ### 2.6.11-ck2 #1 Sat Mar 12 20:21:30 WET 2005 i686 GNU/Linux <--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vyzivus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PC_Freak wrote:
I have had the lost ticks problem very recently. It became fixed when I was searching a way to get DMA enabled on the sata disk. I discovered that support for the SiS 5512 northbridge chip wasn't enabled in the kernel. After recompiling, DMA worked perfectly and the lost ticks problem was gone.

Even more, the kernel announced this
Code:
powernow-k8: Found 1 AMD Athlon 64 / Opteron processors (version 1.00.09b)
powernow-k8:    0 : fid 0x0 (800 MHz), vid 0xa (1300 mV)
powernow-k8:    1 : fid 0xa (1800 MHz), vid 0x6 (1400 mV)
powernow-k8:    2 : fid 0xc (2000 MHz), vid 0x2 (1500 mV)
powernow-k8: cpu_init done, current fid 0xc, vid 0x2
It was the first time I saw this message, so it is probably working fine now.


This is working perfectly for me from the very beginning and I'm still having those nasty messages.
_________________
I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From Andi Kleen on lkml:

Quote:

On Thu, Nov 18, 2004 at 04:02:55AM +0000, kernel-stuff@comcast.net wrote:

>> I have a X86_64 laptop (Compaq Presario R3240) with all BIOS updates in place. I routinely get the "Warning : many lost ticks" message in dmesg.


Known problem. ACPI uses a broken way to access the EC register,
and VIA chipsets take extremly long for this operation. This
happens regularly to read the system temperature.
A fix is currently being discussed.

-Andi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andersenep
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 20
Location: Everett, Washington

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crontab wrote:
Hi,

I've had the same problem.
I solved it by compiling the via82xx into the kernel not as a module.


This worked for me as well. Thank you!!

kernel-2.6.9-gentoo-r12 and an Asus A8V MB (Athlon 64 3500+)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vyzivus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:43 pm    Post subject: Is the bug fixed in the 2.6.9-r12 kernel? Reply with quote

Interesting... I don't remember changing anything in kernel, just upgrading to 2.6.9-gentoo-r12, make oldconfig and the messages have disappeared. Could it mean that the problem got fixed in the kernel?
What do you mean by via82xx? Do you mean the IDE VIA82CXXX chipset support? I had it compiled not as a module but the 'lost ticks' messages were still present.
_________________
I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scharkalvin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 331
Location: south florida

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
What do you mean by via82xx? Do you mean the IDE VIA82CXXX chipset support? I had it compiled not as a module but the 'lost ticks' messages were still present.


The via82xx is an alsa sound module. what does that have to do with the clock?

I'm having the same problems, I think I will try some of the above suggestions and emerge the latest kernel source (actually I might
already have '-r12' then what?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
redflo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did someone ever try the solution here:

http://community.linux.com/community/04/09/23/1624247.shtml?tid=11&tid=51&tid=95

They say, adding the kernel option "clock=pmtmr" solves the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Al_Kane
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

redflo wrote:
did someone ever try the solution here:

http://community.linux.com/community/04/09/23/1624247.shtml?tid=11&tid=51&tid=95

They say, adding the kernel option "clock=pmtmr" solves the problem.



I just tried it... it doesn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DiscreteOnyxOrb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Apr 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 3:59 am    Post subject: same problem Reply with quote

I have a k8v deluxe. I turned power management support and ACPI off in the kernel (dev-sources-2.6.7.r14). I have VIA82CXXX compiled in. I have always gotten this message, though changing the kernel parameters seems to change the frequency. I actually think vmware exacerbates it, but I can't be sure.

If the root of this problem really is ACPI, shouldn't turning off kernel support for it stop the symptom?

Anyone experiencing this on a 2.6.10 kernel?

CPU0
0: 528876506 XT-PIC timer
1: 34 XT-PIC i8042
2: 0 XT-PIC cascade
5: 3019411 XT-PIC libata, ehci_hcd, VIA8233, eth0
8: 0 XT-PIC rtc
10: 688815 XT-PIC libata, uhci_hcd, uhci_hcd
11: 107863345 XT-PIC uhci_hcd, uhci_hcd, nvidia
14: 936356 XT-PIC ide0
15: 2916691 XT-PIC ide1
NMI: 57205
LOC: 528779633
ERR: 250
MIS: 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 4 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum