Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Looking Glass GPLed
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hellbringer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Evangelion wrote:

AFAIK they are working on it as we speak. It will propably be implemented in the next release.

Sweet
_________________
There is a lot of novelty and truth in what you say, but that which is true is not novel and that which is novel is not true.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
headache
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 226

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been testing Looking Glass on my P4 this morning and I had no problems getting it to work, but getting everything to work under it, is a nother issue :

I hope this program will get some attention and some development done on it. I'm all for new paradigms when it comes to desktops. maybe even some of you will not complain about the DE beeing to windowsy anymore :-D
_________________
"I'd rather have a President who does it to a woman than one who does it to his country" -- Shirley Maclaine
Liberal (adj.): Free from bigotry; open to progress; tolerant of others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadyCharacter
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sure I would find this neat, except, well.. it doesn't really do anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AdolescentFred
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 49
Location: Oxfordshire, England

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when i try to install the java image api thing i get this error
Code:

Unpacking...
Can't find /usr/bin/sum to do checksum.  Continuing anyway.
Extracting...
/tmp/jai-1_1_2-lib-linux-i586-jdk.bin: line 241: ./install.sfx.2442: cannot execute binary file

any ideas?


[edit] never mind i got it to install from the ebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ncb000gt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i know it's been mentioned a bit but i'm stuck trying to get this to run in a window...it opens and terminates...
any suggestions on how to get it working?

Code:

# ./lg3d-dev
/home/campbelln/local/java/lg3d/bin /home/campbelln/local/java/lg3d/bin
/home/campbelln/local/java/lg3d/bin
[1] 2791
#


no window...to my knowledge the settings are set correctly.
I've installed jdk 1.5.0-beta2(emerge), jai(emerge), and java3d(tar/jar)

any help would be appreciated, thanks

- nc
_________________
- nc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rav
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Nov 2003
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mm... from the screen shots Looking Glass soo reminds me of this http://research.microsoft.com/ui/TaskGallery/index.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trebiani
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 132
Location: Graz, AT

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tasslehoff wrote:
Oh that is when I try and run it as the desktop itself. when I try and run aps while in the window mode it just launches them to my regular desktop.


Here you find the answer why:
http://www.javadesktop.org/forums/thread.jspa?threadID=2972&tstart=0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3313

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think more WM's = more choice = better
_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PedroKiefer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2003
Posts: 6
Location: Porto Alegre - RS - Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've made some screenshot of Looking Glass running in Gentoo. I've tested in 2 machines, a pentium3 650MHz and an athlon xp 2400+, it work in both, thought in the pentium3 i could not get it to work in fullscreen mode.

http://pedrok.homelinux.org:1234/gallery/lookingglass

Enjoy the shots :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pH
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2002
Posts: 16
Location: MA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone get Looking Glass working with multiple monitors? (Xinerama)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
YopWongSapn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2004 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since the thread I started this morning about Looking Glass was inexplicably (and in my opinion wrongfully) moved to the dupes forum, I am posting my progress with the project in this thread, since this is the only thread I could find about it that wasn't in the dupes forum (I think the mod's are conspiring against Looking Glass :wink:).

Alright, I got Looking Glass installed on my Fedora2 system, and the window mode works just fine. A little choppy, but I suspect it's becuase I'm running it on top of Gnome 2.6. Not too concerned about that. So, I kill Gnome and Xorg (yes, Fedora2 uses Xorg, which could very well be my problem), and when I run lg3d-session I get an xorg error saying the system could not find the default core pointer. Wierd thing is, I have no troubles starting up Gnome..."default core pointer" (aka the mouse :D) is recognized right away. Looking Glass only seems to have problems initiating the mouse...if it's already been initiated it starts up just fine.

Anyone suggestions?
Has anyone else tried Looking Glass with Xorg? What were your experiences? Any success?
_________________
Gentoo...it's like wiping your ass with silk. Or sandpaper.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
homeobocks
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Posts: 345
Location: I'm from Canada, and they say I'm a little slow . . . eh?

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2004 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PedroKiefer wrote:
I've made some screenshot of Looking Glass running in Gentoo. I've tested in 2 machines, a pentium3 650MHz and an athlon xp 2400+, it work in both, thought in the pentium3 i could not get it to work in fullscreen mode.

http://pedrok.homelinux.org:1234/gallery/lookingglass

Enjoy the shots :mrgreen:
Prepare to be /.ed.
_________________
HOW DO I SHOT WEB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robfcollier
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 0

PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 4:31 pm    Post subject: lg3d-session working Reply with quote

I think glitz has a large impact commercially. A typical non-techie will not differentiate the display manager from the whole operating system. Seeing a slick 3d desktop will be translated to "linux is better" which makes me happy regardless of how valid it is. Anyone remember (Quarterdeck) Desqview? It was technically superior to Windows 1.0 but didn't look as cool. Aesthetics do matter. I wouldn't buy a car I thought was ugly no matter how good it was otherwise.

Anyway, I have lg3d-session running but it's very "crashy". Tips and errors follow if anyone's interested.

(btw: This is my first post. I've done lots of "lurking" and have benefited greatly from these forums so thanks to all.)

Running:

1) Switched to xorg from xfree (fixed unresolved externals)
2) ln -s /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/XF86Config
3) Switch to psaux mouse (usb mouse crashes it)
4) Using lg_config_mp_x.xml and j3d1x1-nbfs (one of the paths was wrong in the original script)

Building:

1) Verify java is set up right before building:
export JAVA_HOME=/opt/jdk1.5.0
export PATH=$JAVA_HOME/bin:$PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$JAVA_HOME/jre/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

2) (gentoo specific) If you emerge'ed ant, the /usr/bin/ant script won't work because it uses the java-config stuff and refuses to see 1.5. Just wrote my own short ant script that uses $JAVA_HOME.

3) native../build* scripts: changed "ld -bdynamic -G" to "gcc -shared" which fixed unresolved externals

4) run "ant release" to create the install (did it say that in the readme?).

Running/Crashing:

1) The "hard reset" after a lock-up can be avoided if you can ssh in an reboot the box remotely. Also try ctl-alt-f1 to switch consoles which works sometimes and "reset" to fix a messed up screen.

2) Most frequent lockups are invalid X11Event types (already reported)
receiveAndExtract: received: type = 94
Invalid X11 event type, type = 94
receiveAndExtract: received: type = 93
Invalid X11 event type, type = 93
I tried eating the exception and it seems to keep running longer (return MOTION).

3) I get frequent crashes that seem to involve mouse events or passing over certain widgets. A typical dump is shown below.

-------------stderr-------------
...
Invalid X11 event type, type = 94
Jul 4, 2004 11:09:25 AM org.jdesktop.lg3d.displayserver.nativewindow.x11.X11WindowManager run
WARNING: Error in X event dispatching:
java.lang.Error: Connection closed by X server: java.io.EOFException
at gnu.x11.Connection.read_message(Connection.java:345)
at gnu.x11.Connection.read_event(Connection.java:309)
at gnu.x11.Display.next_event(Display.java:713)
at org.jdesktop.lg3d.displayserver.nativewindow.x11.X11WindowManager.readAndDispatchEvent(X11WindowManager.java:165)
at org.jdesktop.lg3d.displayserver.nativewindow.x11.X11WindowManager.run(X11WindowManager.java:150)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:595)
Jul 4, 2004 11:09:25 AM org.jdesktop.lg3d.displayserver.nativewindow.x11.X11WindowManager run
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dan2003
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 May 2003
Posts: 251
Location: somewhere near london, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't get it to run, like a previous post i get :

    mango@S4 bin $ ./lg3d-dev
    ~/temp/lg3d/bin ~/temp/lg3d/bin
    ~/temp/lg3d/bin
    [1] 8799


the log filecontains only :

    mango@S4 bin $ cat /tmp/lgserver.log
    LGCONFIG file:///home/mango/temp/lg3d/bin/../etc/lg3d/lgconfig_1p_nox.xml
    JAVA_HOME /usr/java/jdk1.5.0/bin/
    LGX11HOME /home/mango/temp/lg3d/bin/../ext/lg3d-x11
    LGCORESRC /home/mango/temp/lg3d/bin/../src
    X Server Version
    release-0-5
    /usr/java/jdk1.5.0/bin//bin /bin /usr/bin /usr/local/bin /opt/bin /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/3.3 /usr/X11R6/bin /opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.1/bin /opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.1/jre/bin /usr/qt/3/bin /usr/kde/3.2/bin /usr/qt/2/bin /usr/games/bin
    /home/mango/temp/lg3d/bin/../lib/i386:/usr/java/jdk1.5.0/bin//jre/lib:


BUT.. i realised my problem was an error in th JAVA_HOME path

After export JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/jdk1.5.0 (note no bin!!) it works!!! annd im amazed its so smooth!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r3pek
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 568
Location: Lisbon - Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have it running here.... way to buggy at the moment....
here are some screen shots
http://r3pek.homelinux.org/plg.jpg
http://r3pek.homelinux.org/plg2.jpg


Last edited by r3pek on Mon Jul 05, 2004 10:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dan2003
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 May 2003
Posts: 251
Location: somewhere near london, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I' cant get fullscreen to run accelerated, it takes ages to start Ijust sits on the blank X for ages, i assume because of this)

The error it get in the console is:

(EE) Failed to load module "GLcore" (module does not exist, 0)
Symbol __glXActiveScreens from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.a is unresolved!
Symbol __glXActiveScreens from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.a is unresolved!

Anbody know how to fix this?

GLcore loads and works in my Xorg sessions

It sems to run smoothly even like this tho!! Very nice candy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AdolescentFred
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 49
Location: Oxfordshire, England

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when i installed it i had it running perfectly in a wnidow on top of gnome, and all was good.
next day i reboot and nothing. it doesnt work any more. no error. no anything it just ends without any sign of looking glass.
also it wont run as a session

oh and i'm running xorg

[edit] nevermind works now ater exporting java home etc again.
still not as a session though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IWBCMAN
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jun 2002
Posts: 474

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

please ignore this post-it was the worst I have ever contributed to these forums..... :oops:

Last edited by IWBCMAN on Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robfcollier
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 0

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

(EE) Failed to load module "GLcore" (module does not exist, 0)
Symbol __glXActiveScreens from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.a is unresolved!
Symbol __glXActiveScreens from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.a is unresolved!

Anbody know how to fix this?


Not sure what card you have but I got this error when using the wrong nvidia driver. Note that the lg "custom" x server uses /etc/X11/XF86Config and not xorg.conf. Just copying xorg.conf over XF86Config (or linking it) may fix it.

In my case, I had to change the module loaded from Module "nv" to Module "nvidia" and emerge nvidia-kernel and nvidia-glx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KaZeR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 270
Location: Au fond, à droite.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
(EE) Failed to load module "GLcore" (module does not exist, 0)
Symbol __glXActiveScreens from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.a is unresolved!
Symbol __glXActiveScreens from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.a is unresolved!

Anbody know how to fix this?


I've heard somewhere that dri and nvidia glx driver can't be used together.. So you should try commenting the line which load dri in you XF86config file...

Hope this helps..
_________________
Foo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dan2003
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 May 2003
Posts: 251
Location: somewhere near london, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I comented out the Load dri statement which got rid of the two unresolved symbol statements, But i still get the error:


    (==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.0.log", Time: Wed Jul 7 18:56:54 2004
    (==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config"
    (EE) Failed to load module "GLcore" (module does not exist, 0)
    (II) Initializing extension GLX


I'm using an nvidia GeForce 4 MX440 whith the NVidia drivers (6106) and kernel 2.6.7-ck4, GL works fine in xorg as i can play ut2004demo and glxgears etc without any problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JusKickNit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dan2003 wrote:
I comented out the Load dri statement which got rid of the two unresolved symbol statements, But i still get the error:


    (==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.0.log", Time: Wed Jul 7 18:56:54 2004
    (==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config"
    (EE) Failed to load module "GLcore" (module does not exist, 0)
    (II) Initializing extension GLX


I'm using an nvidia GeForce 4 MX440 whith the NVidia drivers (6106) and kernel 2.6.7-ck4, GL works fine in xorg as i can play ut2004demo and glxgears etc without any problems.


You should commit out GLcore and dri, not just dri.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gazoombo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 56
Location: GR. MI. USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

viperlin wrote:
fernandotcl wrote:
HydroSan wrote:
Looking Glass, as some said before me, isn't meant to be used with 2D apps such as... the current software avaliable. It's meant to be a brand new interface to computers. Think about what Mozilla would look like if the entire website was multi-layered and you could select which site you wanted out of the entire tree, or what eyecandy effects you could apply to every-day tasks to make it look nicer. Looking Glass is pretty much an SDK, as is Qt to KDE, and GTK to GNOME. Okay, not -exactly- the same, but the concept is still there.


This looks like virtual reality. It seems Sun tried to make it look like the file manager used in an "Unix" system in Jurassic Park. However, nowadays we already have 3d file managers, and we keep using the good and old terminal or a 2d file manager to move files around. That shows that those things seem to be only eye-candy.

However, as I posted before, I think it's a nice initiative, because there can be more useful projects based on this idea.


the jurassic park one really existed, it was used in the movie, not created for it....
i forget it's true name though


It was called FSN, and it was developed by SGI. There is a similar open source program called FSV that I have used a couple times. Kind of fun to look at my music library in 3D. ;p
_________________
Hoping to install Gentoo 2007.0 soon and rejoin the Linux world
My Ol' Box:
Abit NF7-S (nForce2 Chipset)
Athlon XP 2500+ Barton
512MB RAM (which may be in need of replacement)
NVIDIA GeForce3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gazoombo wrote:
viperlin wrote:
fernandotcl wrote:
HydroSan wrote:
Looking Glass, as some said before me, isn't meant to be used with 2D apps such as... the current software avaliable. It's meant to be a brand new interface to computers. Think about what Mozilla would look like if the entire website was multi-layered and you could select which site you wanted out of the entire tree, or what eyecandy effects you could apply to every-day tasks to make it look nicer. Looking Glass is pretty much an SDK, as is Qt to KDE, and GTK to GNOME. Okay, not -exactly- the same, but the concept is still there.


This looks like virtual reality. It seems Sun tried to make it look like the file manager used in an "Unix" system in Jurassic Park. However, nowadays we already have 3d file managers, and we keep using the good and old terminal or a 2d file manager to move files around. That shows that those things seem to be only eye-candy.

However, as I posted before, I think it's a nice initiative, because there can be more useful projects based on this idea.


the jurassic park one really existed, it was used in the movie, not created for it....
i forget it's true name though


It was called FSN, and it was developed by SGI. There is a similar open source program called FSV that I have used a couple times. Kind of fun to look at my music library in 3D. ;p


I beat you to it :)

Quote:
Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 12:47 am

_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gazoombo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 56
Location: GR. MI. USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

I beat you to it :)

Quote:
Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 12:47 am


Dang. missed a page.

Back on topic: does anyone have an even slightly working ebuild for x86 yet? I'm curious to give this a try but don't have the time or disk space to go fiddling with piles of source I might not need.
_________________
Hoping to install Gentoo 2007.0 soon and rejoin the Linux world
My Ol' Box:
Abit NF7-S (nForce2 Chipset)
Athlon XP 2500+ Barton
512MB RAM (which may be in need of replacement)
NVIDIA GeForce3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 5 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum