Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE bloat minimisation trick. Excellent!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ansorg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jul 2002
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2003 6:26 pm    Post subject: KDE bloat minimisation trick. Excellent! Reply with quote

Mod Edit: Changed title. Puggy

yes,

what's the package Konqueror is in?
I do not want the whole KDE - I use Gnome - but I need this thing to test web pages. So I do not need all the fancy KDE stuff just the minimum setup to run Konqeror

I have already QT, then there is kdelibs ... and something with konq in it?
_________________
thanks
Jens
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anacific
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jun 2003
Posts: 210
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2003 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kde.org is your friend and it says that Konqueror is in kdebase. Of course you may not want all the apps that are included there so you can export DO_NOT_COMPILE vbl like this

Code:
export DO_NOT_COMPILE="kate kcontrol kdebugdialog kdesu kdm kfind kicker kinfocenter klipper kmenuedit konsole kpager ksysguard kwrite" emerge kdebase

This should, theoretically, install only Konqueror and omit the rest.
_________________
warning: `class GroveImpl' only defines a private destructor and has no friends.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedekapo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 223
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2003 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But I think konqueror needs some libraries from kde...

Bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anacific
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jun 2003
Posts: 210
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2003 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedekapo wrote:
But I think konqueror needs some libraries from kde...

I'm pretty sure emerging kdebase will emerge all the needed libraries except programs specified in DO_NOT_COMPILE variable.
_________________
warning: `class GroveImpl' only defines a private destructor and has no friends.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentooBox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1168
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2003 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I belive that konqueror need this:
kde-env
kdelibs
arts

besides the kdebase.

you could try compile kdebase like this:

Code:

USE="-kde" emerge kdebase

_________________
Encrypt, lock up everything and duct tape the rest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puggy
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1992
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GentooBox wrote:
I belive that konqueror need this:
kde-env
kdelibs
arts

besides the kdebase.

you could try compile kdebase like this:

Code:

USE="-kde" emerge kdebase


arts is not necessary for any of kde once the packagers have been compiled as far as I can tell. I always remove it once I've turned it off in KDE without any adverse effects. It is unfortunatley required for compilation although if you can do this trick with arts as well you might be able to get round it depending on how the config stage is affected.

Nice tip Anacific. I'm moving this to Documentation, Tips and Tricks as its so useful.

Moving from Desktop Environments.
_________________
Where there's open source , there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chickpea
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 846
Location: Vancouver WA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, this is awesome to know. I have been getting more and more away from kde. 1. because it takes so damn long to install and 2. because I mostly dont use it except for konqueror. I am favoring gnome more altough I dont use a whole lot of gnome either.

Thanks for the tip!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puggy
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1992
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chickpea wrote:
Wow, this is awesome to know. I have been getting more and more away from kde. 1. because it takes so damn long to install and 2. because I mostly dont use it except for konqueror. I am favoring gnome more altough I dont use a whole lot of gnome either.

Thanks for the tip!


You may wish to try xfce4 as it's like gnome but has a brilliant file browser with great samba browing capability and stuff called xffm.

Puggy
_________________
Where there's open source , there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chickpea
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 846
Location: Vancouver WA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

puggy wrote:

You may wish to try xfce4 as it's like gnome but has a brilliant file browser with great samba browing capability and stuff called xffm.

Puggy


Yea, I have used xfce. I used to love it until I started using fluxbox and waimea. Maybe I should give it another look.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puggy
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1992
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2003 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I have DO_NOT_COMPILE="noatun" do you think I also need DO_NOT_COMPILE="noatun-plugins" making DO_NOT_COMPILE="noatun noatun-plugins"?

Also, anyone know if it is safe to do this with non applications (i.e. applications not on the http://docs.kde.org/ list.) Specifically. DO_NOT_COMPILE="arts"

Cheers guys. I've got to upgrade KDE so I'm trying to get rid of as much bloat as possible. I'm thinking:

DO_NOT_COMPILE="kdat kpackage kuser kwufptd kxconfig sysguard kooka kpaint kpovmodeler aktion arts artsbuilder kaudiocreator kaboodle kmid kmidi kmix krec kscd noatun kit knewsticker knode korn kpf kppp ksirc ktalkd lisa kandy knotes korganizer kpilot kbabel kompare kdf kfloppy kjots ksim ktimer"

What do you guys think?

Also. There is some stuff in http://webcvs.kde.org/cgi-bin/cvsweb.cgi/ that I blatantly don't have. Any idea whether its just new stuff I don't have in my version or what. koncd for example.

Lastly. Any idea why some stuff I should have installed seems to be missing. For example. I have kdeutils emerged but kregexpeditor doesn't seem to be there. It should be according to http://docs.kde.org/ unless again thi is something new.

Cheers.

Puggy
_________________
Where there's open source , there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlterEgo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 1619

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought there is/was a package called kdeextragear.
However, I cannot find it in portage anymore. Koncd was in there IIRC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puggy
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1992
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2003 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So far kdebase won't compile. I'm just recompiling kdelibs with no DO_NOT_COMPILE to see if that helps. If that doesn't work then I think it might be to do with the fact I had to inject alsa-driver because I'm using a 2.6 kernel.

Puggy
_________________
Where there's open source , there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NoUseForAName
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 84
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2003 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AlterEgo wrote:
I thought there is/was a package called kdeextragear.
However, I cannot find it in portage anymore. Koncd was in there IIRC.


Kdeextragear isn't a package, but a cvs module in kde, and the packages in there are released separately.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puggy
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1992
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2003 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. Here's a warning. With the above DO_NOT_COMPILE statement kdelibs compiled but then kdebase would not. I had to re-emerge kdelibs without the DO_NOT_COMPILE to get it to work. Nothing in the DO_NOT_COMPILE was designed to effect kdelibs so its probably a good idea to NOT put the DO_NOT_COMPILE line somewhere global (like make.conf).

Puggy
_________________
Where there's open source , there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funkymunky
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2003 11:23 pm    Post subject: Installing konqueror without the KDE bloat Reply with quote

The best filemanager is without a doubt konqueror!
This is how I installed it, without getting all the kde extra bloat:

Code:

emerge kdelibs
emerge kdebase
emerge media-libs/libart_lgpl
emerge app-admin/fam-oss


The last 2 emerges were added after looking at the error messages when I tried to run konqueror the first time.

You might have to symlink to make sure the system finds the binary:
Code:

ln -s /usr/kde/3.1/bin/konqueror /bin/konqueror


This might not be a bare-bones install, you might be able to strip more stuff out of kdebase as mentioned earlier in this thread.
It works for me though...
funky.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16106
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-168925.html
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum