Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Howto: DO_NOT_COMPILE for KDE ebuilds! (Super light KDE)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Marctraider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think KDEBASE still isnt the 'base' of kde, who needs konsole, ksplash, kwrite and all other things.

konqueror should really become seperated because it's indeed brilliant, they could make it gtk style for my sake.
_________________
MOBO: Maximus II Gene
RAM: DDR2 OCZ 4GB
CPU: E6400 Conroe
GPU: HD2600XT
SATA: 3x 250GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thepi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 352
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Marctraider wrote:
konqueror should really become seperated because it's indeed brilliant, they could make it gtk style for my sake.


gtk style... good one, mt! :lol:

maybe you should suggest that on the kde-devel list. wonder what that would do :twisted:


btw, who's that girl on your avatar/background?

pi~
_________________
Violence is the last resort of the incompetent --Isaac Asimov
Gentoo on Acer TM800 | Help! | Vote! | Get FF!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marctraider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

People arent supposed to ask that.
Its alicja janosz, also known as Alex, please dont fall in love with her ;)
_________________
MOBO: Maximus II Gene
RAM: DDR2 OCZ 4GB
CPU: E6400 Conroe
GPU: HD2600XT
SATA: 3x 250GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marctraider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok updated the how-to.
_________________
MOBO: Maximus II Gene
RAM: DDR2 OCZ 4GB
CPU: E6400 Conroe
GPU: HD2600XT
SATA: 3x 250GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2732
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Howto: DO_NOT_COMPILE for KDE ebuilds! (Super light KDE) Reply with quote

Marctraider wrote:
------------
Before you read this: this has been tested with KDEBASE only, and this how-to was actually for low end systems with lower memory and slow processors so users could benefit from kde apps in the way i did this. Now i re-wrote the how-to and all users can benefit :)

same variable is used in kdeaddons as well. So, if DO_NOT_COMPILE is set to something, plugin for that something won't be compiled in kdeaddons. e.g. I ruled out kate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marctraider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes we know it works with other packages too :) but i just only tested it with kdebase, and kdelibs now.
_________________
MOBO: Maximus II Gene
RAM: DDR2 OCZ 4GB
CPU: E6400 Conroe
GPU: HD2600XT
SATA: 3x 250GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe you can also put DO_NOT_COMPILE="" in make.conf?

Thanks for the list of removable KDE apps!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marctraider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, that does not work, at least not for me.
_________________
MOBO: Maximus II Gene
RAM: DDR2 OCZ 4GB
CPU: E6400 Conroe
GPU: HD2600XT
SATA: 3x 250GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Marctraider wrote:
No, that does not work, at least not for me.


Strange... DO_NOT_COMPILE in make.conf worked fine on my end. I've also read about other people doing that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marctraider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You just need to check if it ./configure's, then you will know ;)
_________________
MOBO: Maximus II Gene
RAM: DDR2 OCZ 4GB
CPU: E6400 Conroe
GPU: HD2600XT
SATA: 3x 250GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marctraider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could it be possible that the ; issue can be caused by that you use DO_NOT_COMPILE="xxx" emerge 'package' while it first needs to do the depencencies, that DO_NOT_COMPILE gets confused? when i use it for kdebase it finally emerges kdebase at last, i abort the emerge and only THEN i use DO_NOT_COMPILE="" emerge kdebase.

If you know what i mean.
_________________
MOBO: Maximus II Gene
RAM: DDR2 OCZ 4GB
CPU: E6400 Conroe
GPU: HD2600XT
SATA: 3x 250GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Marctraider wrote:
Could it be possible that the ; issue can be caused by that you use DO_NOT_COMPILE="xxx" emerge 'package' while it first needs to do the depencencies, that DO_NOT_COMPILE gets confused? when i use it for kdebase it finally emerges kdebase at last, i abort the emerge and only THEN i use DO_NOT_COMPILE="" emerge kdebase.

If you know what i mean.


Is this in response to my post? I have no idea what you're talking about sorry. I don't have a problem using DO_NOT_COMPILE and only wanted to point out that placing DO_NOT_COMPILE in make.conf works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do have a problem actually. Even after I emerged kdebase, kdelibs and kdeartwork, I don't have any icons. All the places/buttons where an icon should appear are blank. I have multiple icons sets I can choose from in the Control Panel but selecting them doesn't work.

How do I get the icons to appear?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marctraider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

teedog wrote:
I do have a problem actually. Even after I emerged kdebase, kdelibs and kdeartwork, I don't have any icons. All the places/buttons where an icon should appear are blank. I have multiple icons sets I can choose from in the Control Panel but selecting them doesn't work.

How do I get the icons to appear?


To post your DO_NOT_COMPILE things.

It seems people have various problems while other people can just use the normal way.
_________________
MOBO: Maximus II Gene
RAM: DDR2 OCZ 4GB
CPU: E6400 Conroe
GPU: HD2600XT
SATA: 3x 250GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurios
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, just tried out the same thing with the DO_NOT_COMPILE options, these are the ones i used (pratically the same as the howto only leaved out kdesu & kdeprint):

[code]DO_NOT_COMPILE="debian doc drkonqi kappfinder kate kcheckpass kdcop kdebugdialog kdm kfind khelpcenter khotkeys kicker klipper kmenuedit konsole kpager kpersonalizer krichtexteditor kscreensaver kdepasswd ksysguard ktip kxkb nsplugins kreadconfig kdialog kstart ksystraycmd l10n legacyimport ksplashml kwin pics" emerge kdebase -v[/code]

I had to use kdesu & kdeprint else i wouldn't be able to compile kdelibs.

Now with these options I also have no icons/pictures anywhere, even when changing the icon theme's I get no change.

Thanks in advance, Eurios
_________________
I'm drunk and horizontally challenged.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marctraider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As a matter of fact, i dont even think you want mines.
You must follow the howto by yourself ;)
_________________
MOBO: Maximus II Gene
RAM: DDR2 OCZ 4GB
CPU: E6400 Conroe
GPU: HD2600XT
SATA: 3x 250GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marctraider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eurios wrote:
Hi, just tried out the same thing with the DO_NOT_COMPILE options, these are the ones i used (pratically the same as the howto only leaved out kdesu & kdeprint):

Code:
DO_NOT_COMPILE="debian doc drkonqi kappfinder kate kcheckpass kdcop kdebugdialog kdm kfind khelpcenter khotkeys kicker klipper kmenuedit konsole kpager kpersonalizer krichtexteditor kscreensaver kdepasswd ksysguard ktip kxkb nsplugins kreadconfig kdialog kstart ksystraycmd l10n legacyimport ksplashml kwin pics" emerge kdebase -v


I had to use kdesu & kdeprint else i wouldn't be able to compile kdelibs.

Now with these options I also have no icons/pictures anywhere, even when changing the icon theme's I get no change.

Thanks in advance, Eurios



EHm, to be honest i had style problems, i couldnt install any style, not even keramik was therem only the defaults.
Then i tried another kdebase (3.3 alpha) with another Qt it worked! with the same DO_NOT_COMPILE things as showen in the example.

(I believe i got an error like: Unable to load compatible QT library's or something)



You said that you couldt emerge kdelibs if you didnt use kdesu and kdeprint? well i tell you that kdelibs has to be compiled BEFORE kdebase, at least thats the usual way, so you couldnt even get that error ;)

Unless its true that DO_NOT_COMPILE actually affect's all packages that gets emerged by doing emerge kdebase or something.

If you never had kde before it will emerge arts, kdelibs and other depencencies first, and i believe kdesu is also a package in kdelibs, maybe thats a big problem to many people.

I edited the post, all people with problems, CHECK IT OUT!
_________________
MOBO: Maximus II Gene
RAM: DDR2 OCZ 4GB
CPU: E6400 Conroe
GPU: HD2600XT
SATA: 3x 250GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
namo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Berkeley

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I confirm that, when placed in make.conf, the DO_NOT_COMPILE applies to kdelibs : I also had an error complaining about kdeprint (which I was trying to remove).

So we should disable DO_NOT_COMPILE until kdelibs is emerged and then play with it for the other packages...

... and thanks for the tip ! (another way to try and break my gentoo !)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marctraider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

namo wrote:
I confirm that, when placed in make.conf, the DO_NOT_COMPILE applies to kdelibs : I also had an error complaining about kdeprint (which I was trying to remove).

So we should disable DO_NOT_COMPILE until kdelibs is emerged and then play with it for the other packages...

... and thanks for the tip ! (another way to try and break my gentoo !)


Exactly namo, i will edit The howto again to prevent more of this unwanted behavior, still it didnt work for me in the make.conf file at all...
The best would be the command line still...
_________________
MOBO: Maximus II Gene
RAM: DDR2 OCZ 4GB
CPU: E6400 Conroe
GPU: HD2600XT
SATA: 3x 250GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zuti
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Posts: 123
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has someone tried to emerge other kde packages?
I like kopete, but I dont really need rest of kde network stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can just emerge net-im/kopete by itself. http://gentoo-portage.com/browse-program.php?program=3362
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlindSpy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 263

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does anyone know if this same method can be used for GNOME?
_________________
Symlinks to:
xorg.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BlindSpy wrote:
does anyone know if this same method can be used for GNOME?


You can try the gnome-light ebuild or simply emerge the individual gnome components by hand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlindSpy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 263

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks i'll try that =)
_________________
Symlinks to:
xorg.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marctraider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did anybody try it with kde 3.3.0 already?
_________________
MOBO: Maximus II Gene
RAM: DDR2 OCZ 4GB
CPU: E6400 Conroe
GPU: HD2600XT
SATA: 3x 250GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum