Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
GNUstep on Gentoo: how many of us are there?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17, 18  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Hudson, MA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

endymion-

oh, yes, should've noticed better what you were asking ... in the new cascading profiles, this is set up for all linux arch's, or should be; i'll look into this more

agenem-

The only time I've seen that error is when I've accidentally used options in my CFLAGS that weren't supposed/typed in wrong for the version of gcc that I'm using. If you have gcc-3.3* installed as well, make sure you've run gcc-config and such.

I have not tested on gcc-3.4.2, but I'm sure will soon. I'll let you know about my success with it.
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
!equilibrium
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 2109
Location: MI/BG/LC

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have successfully emerged gnustep-base 1.10.1_pre20040928, but when i do the config-gnustep-base.sh i get this error:

Code:
server ~ # /usr/GNUstep/System/Tools/Gentoo/config-gnustep-base.sh
defaults write NSGlobalDomain "Local Time Zone" America/New_York
/usr/GNUstep/System/Tools/Gentoo/config-gnustep-base.sh: line 11: defaults: command not found
defaults write NSGlobalDomain NSLanguages "(English)"
/usr/GNUstep/System/Tools/Gentoo/config-gnustep-base.sh: line 13: defaults: command not found


on my system don't exist the comand *defaults*
_________________
Arch Tester for Gentoo/FreeBSD
Equilibrium's Universe

all my contents are released under the Creative Commons Licence by-nc-nd 2.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Hudson, MA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DarkAngel76-

You need to source GNUstep.sh
Code:
. /usr/GNUstep/System/Library/Makefiles/GNUstep.sh
... this will setup your paths, etc etc for GNUstep; the "defaults" command should then be able to be found.

(Note that that is a dot "." starting that line of code.

It is easiest to add this line to you .xinitrc file.

If you are running csh, there a file called GNUstep.csh in the same directory.
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
!equilibrium
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 2109
Location: MI/BG/LC

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fafhrd wrote:
You need to source GNUstep.sh
Code:
. /usr/GNUstep/System/Library/Makefiles/GNUstep.sh
... this will setup your paths, etc etc for GNUstep; the "defaults" command should then be able to be found.


yes, is correct, the "." there was on the begin of the line, cut & paste here was wrong:

Code:
. /usr/GNUstep/System/Tools/Gentoo/config-gnustep-base.sh
defaults write NSGlobalDomain "Local Time Zone" America/New_York
-bash: defaults: command not found
defaults write NSGlobalDomain NSLanguages "(English)"
-bash: defaults: command not found


i don't have any command as "defaults"... maybe a missing dependency in the ebuild?
_________________
Arch Tester for Gentoo/FreeBSD
Equilibrium's Universe

all my contents are released under the Creative Commons Licence by-nc-nd 2.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Hudson, MA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you check my website http://dev.gentoo.org/~fafhrd, there exists _very_ preliminary documentation for getting GNUstep set up on Gentoo.

One of the key points is that because all these packages are marked ~x86, one needs to be using ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" (but dont, 'cause....), or (my) preferred method of adding an entry to /etc/portage/package.keywords for every testing package you'd like to use. (I prefer running a "mostly" stable system :-))

Now, once gnustep-base emerges, you should have access to the "defaults" command.
Code:
# qpkg -f `which defaults` -v
gnustep-base/gnustep-base-1.10.1_pre20040928 *
... as you can see, gnustep-base did install it for me.

As a little test, make sure gnustep-base is emerged (you've likely done this). gnustep-base should've required gnustep-make and and a handful of other packages. If fact, you can grad all of them by just emerging "gnustep-env". Then, after starting X,
Code:
# (open you're preferred xterm, e.g. "xterm -rv -ls")
# . /usr/GNUstep/System/Library/Makefiles/GNUstep.sh
# defaults help          (<-- the program should be found at this point, if so...)
# /usr/GNUstep/System/Tools/Gentoo/config-gnustep-base.sh       (<-- actually execute this script, as it sets up your -base defaults, you only need to run this once)

I should actually mention that you should view/edit the config-gnustep-base.sh script for your preferred language and time zone....heh, i need to get to that in the docs. ;-)

Let me know what success you have with this. If it still does not work, the output of:
- qpkg -I gnustep -v
- emerge info
...would be quite handy.
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Klementas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 47
Location: Missouri

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 1:03 am    Post subject: sudo Reply with quote

Does gnustep have to pull in sudo??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Hudson, MA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

klementas-

where does it _have_ to pull in sudo?

__armando
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Klementas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 47
Location: Missouri

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I type "emerge gnustep-env -vp":
Code:

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild  N    ] app-admin/sudo-1.6.7_p5-r1  +pam +skey 341 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnustep-base/gnustep-make-1.10.1_pre20040928  -debug -doc 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-libs/libffi-3.4.1-r1  -debug -nls 26,545 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnustep-base/gnustep-base-1.10.1_pre20040928  -debug -doc 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnustep-base/gnustep-gui-0.9.5_pre20040928  -camaelon +cups -debug -doc +gif -gsnd +jpeg +png 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnustep-libs/artresources-0.1.2  -debug 1,439 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnustep-base/mknfonts-0.5  -debug 2 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnustep-base/gnustep-back-art-0.9.5_pre20040928  -debug -doc +opengl -xim 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnustep-base/gnustep-env-0.1.4  -debug 0 kB

Total size of downloads: 28,328 kB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pafein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 7:29 am    Post subject: count+=1 Reply with quote

Just wanted to say I'm looking forward to using this stuff. Too busy to do much beyond 'emerge <nongnustep bloatware>' at the moment so I'm hesitant on trying - do the GNUStep ebuilds in portage build ok?

I know moral support doesn't close bugs, but it's all I got at the moment...

fafhrd, thanks...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Hudson, MA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pafein-

While all marked ~ARCH (mainly ~x86 and ~ppc atm), you should find that everything in portage at least builds. If any "sketchier", but requested, packages are put into portage, I would package mask them, so they'd have to explicitly unmasked.

Overall, there are still a handfull of sharp edges. I recently noticed that live (well, per a date spec) cvs style ebuilds tend to pretty much need userpriv and usersandbox. These style ebuilds would likely be the ones used if you add the ~x86 keyword to a non-versioned package, i.e. the newest ~x86 package available.

Nothing is fatal as far as I can tell. If you want to do development with GNUstep, Foundation and/or AppKit, you should be golden. Applications themselves vary in stability; but GNUMaill.app is my main mail reader, and I do not have any (unknown) problems with it.

- - - - - - - - - -

... as a side note, i have a new laptop now, which is a Powerbook G4 (running Gentoo, of course), so I'll be testing on ppc as well as x86.
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Hudson, MA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 9:29 pm    Post subject: New mailing list Reply with quote

There now exists a GNUstep on Gentoo specific mailing list. It could be slightly more useful than this forum thread. :-) The list could be for user problems, suggestions, etc etc.

The list address is gentoo-gnustep@gentoo.org.

Please read http://www.gentoo.org/main/en/lists.xml if you do not know how to subscribe / unsubscribe from the Gentoo mailing lists.
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Hudson, MA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 5:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just bumping this thread concerning my last post...

... if anyone runs GNUstep on Gentoo, via the ebuilds or not, join the list ... it'd be good for some lively discussion, and likely help the direction of the Gentoo GNUstep ebuilds.
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gnufsh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 400
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there anything I can do about this? It appears that gnustep-back has been masked for quite a while.
lappy ~ # emerge gnustep-env -vp

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies |
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "virtual/gnustep-back".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Hudson, MA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gnufsh-

Yes, "virtual/gnustep-back' is provided by either
gnustep-back-art
-or-
gnustep-back-xlib
... just install one of them.

'gnustep-back" is masked, yes, and soon removed.
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yogh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:30 pm    Post subject: happiness Reply with quote

I'll jump on the mailing list soon. I'm glad that I started installing after most of the major traumas were over. For now I just wanted to say a) w00t that a stable ebuild of gnustep stuff is out for ppc b) can libffi be given a ppc flag and c) can someone explain gnustep-env to me. What I've gathered is that it's a convenience ebuild and that you're supposed to be able to emerge it and it emerges the rest of the gnustep packages? I may be completely off. Anyway I have found that emergeing gnustep-env doesnt really do much of anything and I have to emerge all the base packages by hand.

I'd really like to get gnustep working because I've been programing in Cocoa for a while now and really like it. It's so much more elegant than java.

Like many other people I would like to give my thanks and congratulations to fafhrd for all his work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Hudson, MA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yogh-

- lbbffi is annoying to update becuase I hav to keep it somewhat in sync with gcc releases; however, i'm not yet sure if this is mandatory; i'll take a look at what new versions of gcc are ARCH or ~ARCH and give an update soon -- any of the ~ppc ones should work for you though. GCC 3.4.X series and libffi-3.4.X should work for you.

- gnustep-env is designed mostly for those who want a full gnustep environment. If one is developing only CLI tools, or just the libraries are needed, gnustep-env is unnecessary. The only thing it really adds of value is /etc/init.d/gnustep, which in itself isn't absolutely necessary to run (the daemons it launches will run as needed per user as you launch apps otherwise). emerging gnustep-env should require and install -make, -base, -gui, and -back, as well as their dependencies.

Right now, pretty much everything related to gnustep is ~ARCH. That means you'll have to added ~ppc to the ebuilds you'll want. The official stable releases (i.e. not the _pre* ones) are soon to be marked stable, at least for x86 and ppc where I can test.

good luck
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yogh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 10:43 pm    Post subject: ah, yes Reply with quote

ah, I understand now about gnustep-env. I've been keeping up to date with the ~ppc builds, I just noticed that portage wanted to downgrade to gnustep-env 0.1 because it had been marked stable.

When I said give libffi a ppc tag I meant any sort of ppc tag including ~ppc. When I try to emerge it this is the output:
Code:
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "libffi" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- dev-libs/libffi-1.20 (masked by: ~ppc keyword)
- dev-libs/libffi-3.3.3-r1 (masked by: -* keyword)
- dev-libs/libffi-3.3.3 (masked by: -* keyword)
- dev-libs/libffi-3.3.4 (masked by: -* keyword)
- dev-libs/libffi-3.4.1-r1 (masked by: -* keyword)
- dev-libs/libffi-3.4.1 (masked by: -* keyword)
That is a tilde in front of the ppc.

I'm running gcc 3.4.um something, and I think that I haven't been having problems because I have a java use flag so libffi is already installed, but I thought it would be good to mention that libffi is missing a ~ppc flag.

Thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Hudson, MA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yogh-

you can add a line like:
Code:
dev-libs/libffi ~ppc
...to your /etc/portage/package.keywords. Try an "emerge -pv libffi" after this and things should work.

At least libffi-3.4.1-r1 is key'd for ~ppc.

... but overall, the issues with libffi need to be addressed. They're really annoying! ;-) It's something on working on, but it's not at the top of my list, 'cause it's something that needs to be cleaned up, but works.
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gnufsh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 400
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. Now I'm getting this error upon emergeing gnustep-make:
U gnustep/core/make/Master/rpm.make
U gnustep/core/make/Master/rules.make
U gnustep/core/make/Master/service.make
U gnustep/core/make/Master/source-distribution.make
U gnustep/core/make/Master/subproject.make
U gnustep/core/make/Master/test-application.make
U gnustep/core/make/Master/test-library.make
U gnustep/core/make/Master/test-tool.make
U gnustep/core/make/Master/tool.make
* Copying gnustep/core/make from /usr/portage/distfiles/cvs-src/savannah.gnu.org-gnustep ...
* CVS module gnustep/core/make is now in /var/tmp/portage/gnustep-make-1.10.1_pre20041030-r1/work
* Applying make-user-defaults.patch-1.10.0 ... [ ok ]
* Applying GNUstep-reset.sh.patch ... [ ok ]
>>> Source unpacked.
--------------------------- ACCESS VIOLATION SUMMARY ---------------------------
LOG FILE = "/tmp/sandbox-gnustep-base_-_gnustep-make-1.10.1_pre20041030-r1-3256.log"

mkdir: /root/.ssh
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
lappy ~ #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fafhrd
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Hudson, MA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gnufsh-

I'm beginning to notice that cvs.eclass based ebuilds (any of the gnustep ebuilds that end in _pre* inherit from this) have problems w/o userpriv FEATURES setting. Likely because root runs otherwise during an emerge, and when cvs runs, it trys to access it's settings file in /root. To test this, as I have not made it fail in the way you or others have reported yet) please try this:

- add 'userpriv' and 'usersandbox' to FEATURES in /etc/make.conf
- clear out tmp files: rm -Rf /var/tmp/portage/*
- fix permissions, just in case: chown -R portage:portage /usr/portage/distfiles/cvs-src
- try to emerge gnustep_make _pre*, as you are already trying

if things work now, please please post here and let me know -- it would help iron out this bug for all.
_________________
jñanam bandha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tassilo80
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 346
Location: Koblenz, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks fafhrd,

this fixes the access violation for me.

Regards,
Tassilo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meowsqueak
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 1549
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm new to GNUstep but I like what I see so far, especially at the API level. ObjectiveC just seems really nice too...

Anyway, I've managed to get to the point where Gorm.app works. Wuhoo. The problem now is emerging ProjectCenter - I think this is more of a problem with Gentoo/emerge than GNUstep, but here's what happens:

Quote:
Making install for app ProjectCenter...
Creating /var/tmp/portage/projectcenter-0.4.1_pre20050106/image///usr/GNUstep/System/Applications...
Installing bundle directory...
QA Notice: USE Flag 'doc' not in IUSE for gnustep-apps/projectcenter-0.4.1_pre20050106

!!! ERROR: gnustep-apps/projectcenter-0.4.1_pre20050106 failed.
!!! Function egnustep_doc, Line 221, Exitcode 1
!!! no Makefile found


Any ideas please? Is there some way I can work around this easily? I tried USE="-doc" emerge.... too but it made no difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meowsqueak
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 1549
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I worked around my problem by temporarily removing the 'doc' USE flag from make.conf.

See http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=83225
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxwell
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Dec 2003
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:20 pm    Post subject: Cenon Reply with quote

What about cenon? You mentioned that you had removed its ebuild... When cenon will be back? Is it worth waiting?


Thanks in advance
_________________
Freedom works. Use it!
Linux, by Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
racoontje
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 1290

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GNUstep seems wierd. The huge squares are icky!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17, 18  Next
Page 16 of 18

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum