Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Help a Newbie out Please! 3days trying to install!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
blueflame_s
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 26
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 12:56 am    Post subject: Help a Newbie out Please! 3days trying to install! Reply with quote

I finally got gentoo to install on my computer after 5 attempts, and when i rebooted the computer this is the error I'm getting, Please let me know what to do, if anyone knows how to fix it.

It boots into Grub, and I choose "Gentoo 2.4.25"

Then it goes into a text mode, Dos look alike screen, and starts loading!

this is he line of codes that shows up that won't load anymore:

attempt to access beyond end of device
01:00: rw=0, want=4174, limit=4096

attempt to access beyond end of device
01:00: rw=0, want=4174, limit=4096

attempt to access beyond end of device
01:00: rw=0, want=4174, limit=4096

attempt to access beyond end of device
01:00: rw=0, want=4174, limit=4096

BusyBox v1.00-pre7 (2004.06.06-14:20+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

/bin/sh: an't access tty; job controll turned off
atempt to access beyond end of device
01:00: rw=0, want=4182, limit=4096

atempt to access beyond end of device
01:00: rw=0, want=4182, limit=4096

Please if anyone knows what is wrong let me know! I spent 3 days now trying to install this distro, and can't get it to work!

I'm using stage3 installation! I'm following every step as in in Installation hand book!

so my partition is

/dev/hda1 boot ext2
/dev/hda2 swap
/dev/hda3 root ext3

I used the genkernel! and used emerge gentoo-sources!

One more question! Everytime during installation, if it for some reason fails, running into somekind of problem, can I just restart the computer and use the cd to startup. and continue, where I left off, KInda like windows, or do i have to start all the way from step one again with the partitioning?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
byrnerat101
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 106
Location: upstate, NY

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) Have you partitioned the drive right...? It sounds like you made a partition to big maybe?
2) If you restart it depends on where in the install you are, if your past the chroot stuff you should be able to start from there but if your before that i think you have to start from the top minus the partitioning and any of the file copying youve done before
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
servant
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did u use the universal cd install? if so did u follow the installation guide?

in the install guide it says to use

root=/dev/ram0.

in /boot/grub/grub.conf

change this line to root=/dev/hda3.

delete real_root=/dev/hda3

i'm not a pro at this either, but this is how i got mine to work right. otherwise it would boot into /dev/ram0, rather than /dev/hda3. i'm thinking that might be y ur running out of space, and also where ur getting that 4096 number...
just try it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d0nju4n
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Location: Rochester, MN

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post your grub.conf please
_________________
Linux User 355087
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look here:

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=152855
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NetHawl
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2004
Posts: 83
Location: Slovenija

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well zou need to add a line to your grub konfiguration, I had the same problem, try to add this line to your grub.conf to the Kernel line:
ramdisk_size=8192

well I had the same problem look at that :)
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=179498&highlight=
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7219
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved to Duplicate Threads, please see this topic:

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=152855
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum