Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
I just discovered skippy...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
allucid
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 1314
Location: atlanta

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

galay2 wrote:
But is everyone experiencing this? When the window changes, the scaled down version does not get updated.


it just takes a snapshot of each app and then scales down the image. no way to do a live image in xfree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie_100
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 335
Location: Ashdod, IsraHell

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xdrainox wrote:
It works with the latest PekWM.. I just verified. very nice app. Good find.

the version in portage or the cvs???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
galay2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

could anyone confirm with xorg?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sveini
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it to work :) yeah!

I love it, now i need Xserver and skippy-xd...

Anyone know how to make skippy's keysum to ctrl + tab???
_________________
Magnus frater spectat te!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sgaap
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 754
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:P xserver/kdrive and skippy-xd form a great combo, the minimized windows are updated on the fly, the only thing it (seems --> I havent tried messing up the default config that much) to lack is a "feature" to place the windows in the background of my desktop instead of a separate root window (something expocity and expose can)

but besides that: great program!
_________________
In "old" Europe we already have a word for "pre-emptive strikes" mr Bush: its called "war"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
galay2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sgaap: when using xserver, the minimized window updated on the fly, do you mean while using xorg?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sgaap
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 754
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, I mean the xserver project (formerly kdrive), I think that the new xfree fork will not work that way (thats just xfree 4.4rc something with some patches)

Too bad that nvidia hasnt opened their specs so there is no hw accel (which slows things down with skippy)
_________________
In "old" Europe we already have a word for "pre-emptive strikes" mr Bush: its called "war"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roshan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 22
Location: London

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 9:37 pm    Post subject: First ebuild available Reply with quote

I've just created a test ebuild for it, available at http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=51595 . Please test and comment. This is my first ebuild, so go easy on me. ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamagurka
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 1026
Location: /germany/munich

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you want it included in portage you need both to give copyright to gentoo and include the license type.
also, shouldnt it specify the category somewhere so you know where it belongs in the portage tree?
_________________
If you loved me, you'd all kill yourselves today.
--Spider Jerusalem, the Word
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kamagurka wrote:
if you want it included in portage you need both to give copyright to gentoo and include the license type.
also, shouldnt it specify the category somewhere so you know where it belongs in the portage tree?


I edited skippy-0.5.0.ebuild by Roshan and added missing header, GPL-2 license, dependencies (x11 and xft) and used ${P} in the SRC_URI. I am a newbie at ebuild making, so I hope I'm not creating more work for the devs.

Thanks to Roshan for getting the ball rolling.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xdrainox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Aug 2003
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

newbie_100 wrote:
xdrainox wrote:
It works with the latest PekWM.. I just verified. very nice app. Good find.

the version in portage or the cvs???


CVS.. sorry. Forgot I was running CVS.. heh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie_100
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 335
Location: Ashdod, IsraHell

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xdrainox wrote:
newbie_100 wrote:
xdrainox wrote:
It works with the latest PekWM.. I just verified. very nice app. Good find.

the version in portage or the cvs???


CVS.. sorry. Forgot I was running CVS.. heh.

:cry:
i found an ebuild of pekwm-cvs in the bugzilla but it didn't work :\
i think i'll just compile it myself then... :\
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roshan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 22
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 8:03 am    Post subject: New ebuild for skippy Reply with quote

I edited teedog's updated ebuild to make the build copy skippyrc-default to /usr/share/doc/skippy-0.5.0, and to issue instructions on copying this to your home directory.

You can download the new Skippy ebuild from Bugzilla


Last edited by roshan on Wed May 26, 2004 1:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamagurka
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 1026
Location: /germany/munich

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 1:10 pm    Post subject: Re: New ebuild for skippy Reply with quote

roshan wrote:
I edited teedog's updated ebuild to make the build copy skippyrc-default to /usr/share/doc/skippy-0.5.0, and to issue instructions on copying this to your home directory.

You can download the new Skippy ebuild from Bugzilla


maybe i'm being thick here, but where in my portage overlay do i put this? sys-apps? media-plugins? foo-bar?
_________________
If you loved me, you'd all kill yourselves today.
--Spider Jerusalem, the Word
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roshan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 22
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 1:17 pm    Post subject: Re: New ebuild for skippy Reply with quote

Kamagurka wrote:

maybe i'm being thick here, but where in my portage overlay do i put this? sys-apps? media-plugins? foo-bar?


I've currently placed it in x11-misc in my local overlay, because that's where 3ddesktop is located. Is there a way for me to the location within the ebuild file itself?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monotux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

skippy is great - and it works with xorg, of course.
I had been looking for a proper taskmanager, since I run openbox, but this is far better than any taskmanager out there!

I think skippy-xd is a reason to fix my freedesktop-xserver (I have it compiled, but I haven't understood a few things about it...) :)

thanks for the tip, man!
_________________
Computer science is no more about computers than astronomy is about telescopes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
t_2199
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the ebuild its working fine here with Kde 3.2.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamagurka
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 1026
Location: /germany/munich

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, i finally emerged it, i was all excited, but it doesn't work. anyone got this to work with fluxbox?
_________________
If you loved me, you'd all kill yourselves today.
--Spider Jerusalem, the Word
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
galay2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

furiorc: are u using it with xorg? Does the app gets updated automatically?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwng
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 68
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice program. Tried the ebuild in bugzilla, works without a notch.

One thing though, anyway to make skippy show all windows from all vitual desktops for selection, instead of showing only those in the current desktop?

/rgds
/cwng
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do you guys start it? It seems to choke if I start it before the WM in ~/.xinitrc (fluxbox)
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peschmae
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2002
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2004 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cwng wrote:
One thing though, anyway to make skippy show all windows from all vitual desktops for selection, instead of showing only those in the current desktop?


I don't think so. With enlightenment it does make shots from all the windows on the current virtual desktop set (not on the other of the multiple desktops you've got)
Unluckily the shots from other than the Virtual Desktop on which skippy was started are not there - the Windows are just black rectangulars (and you can do some guesswork to pick the right one judging from their shape ;))

Peschmä
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2004 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Skippy is now in Portage. Yay!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tdphys
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 53
Location: Alberta

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 2:21 am    Post subject: Skippy error Reply with quote

I get this error when i try to start skippy from command line:

Code:
X Error of failed request:  BadAccess (attempt to access private resource denied)
  Major opcode of failed request:  33 (X_GrabKey)
  Serial number of failed request:  92
  Current serial number in output stream:  92


Anybody know what's wrong?

thanks..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daelstorm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 6:08 am    Post subject: Skippy needs grab a key. Reply with quote

tdphys: i'm a little late, but here is the problem: your F11 key is already bound to something.

edit the
Code:
keysym = F11
line in your ~/.skippyrc and change the key to something else (F12, KP_ENTER or whatever)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 2 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum