New Sparc Owner
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sirtoast
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2002 2:18 pm    Post subject: New Sparc Owner Reply with quote

A couple of statements first:)

1) I am relatively new to Linux, and have been using Gentoo since June of 2002, and have gone through the standard install, and the upgrade to the 1.4rc1, switching to the new GCC, so I don't mind getting my hands on the system itself.

2) I have never so much as sat in front on a Sun workstation before in my life.

I've recently acquired 2 sparcstation 10s and a sparcstation 20 (plus a incomplete Ultra 1 which was scavenged for parts before I took ownership). each has the floppy, but doesn't have the cdrom. I'm on a high speed DSL connection, so I don't mind doing ftp/online installs. Aside from doing 'Install Redhat and remove everything you can safely get away with' method in the previous posts, what other options do I have to install Gentoo? I do have access to an Ultra5, that I can install Solaris from if need be, and I do intend to install Solaris onto one of the SS10's.

Also...this is more of a hardware question, but will any SCSI hardware work with sparcstations? I may be able to pick up a couple scsi harddrives, and a scsi cdrom on the cheap. would the cdrom be of any assistance in my installtion woes?
krt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2002 3:21 pm    Post subject: re: New Sparc Owner Reply with quote

congratulations on your sparc acquisitions... they're great fun

Quote:

Aside from doing 'Install Redhat and remove everything you can safely get away with' method in the previous posts, what other options do I have to install Gentoo? I do have access to an Ultra5, that I can install Solaris from if need be, and I do intend to install Solaris onto one of the SS10's.