Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO coLinux with gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
janlaur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Denmark, Århus

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2004 11:46 pm    Post subject: HOWTO coLinux with gentoo Reply with quote

I've installed coLinux a few days ago, and felt like writing a howto, so here goes:
coLinux is a new windows daemon program. The purpose is to run the linux kernel as a native windows thread, and thereby one is able run native linux within windows.
Your main issue is properbly performance.
X apps performance is bad, but useable.
Ordinary apps run just as fast as real linux. actually genlop shows that several of my emerge's went faster in coLinux, but that could be my fault.
As for stability i havn't had ANY issues at all. Not a single crash, memory-leak etc.

Installation
coLinux is still in it's ealy stages and i'm kinda n00b at writing howtos, so now your warned.
You only need to download the lastest snapshot from http://colinux.org/snapshots/ (i used coLinux-20040417.exe).
There a several bugfixes nice bugfixes in the snapshots so i recommend that you use these.
The .exe file is a installer program which is able download a basic distribution image from sourceforge (gentoo/debian/fedora).
Now start the .exe. Just leave the default values, expect when you choose distribution ofcourse
The will be downloaded to the installation dir, and is called gentoo-i586-ext3-2g-deluxe.bz2.
Extract this file to whereever you got room for a 2gb file (i've read that shouldn't be spaces in the path to this file). After this you can delete the .bz2 file.

Configuration
There is only a single configuration file, it's located in the installation directory and is named default.colinux.xml. Open it with, and make it look something like this
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<colinux>
    <block_device index="0" path="\DosDevices\e:\gentoo-i586-ext3-2g-deluxe" enabled="true"></block_device>
    <bootparams>root=/dev/cobd0</bootparams>
    <image path="vmlinux"></image>
    <memory size="256"></memory>
    <network index="0" type="tap" name="TAP"></network>
</colinux>
Change the path to whereever your extracted the image, and set how much memory your what to allocate to coLinux.
Now you can boot coLinux by double-click on colinux-daemon.exe, but most people want networking, so we should do that first.
Go to "Control Panel->Network Connections"
Click on your internet connection, and then ctrl+click on your new TAP network connection. Then rigth click, and choose "Brigde connections". Now windows should create a bridge. If you still have internet connection in windows, then it proberbly works.

Now your ready to doubleclick colinux-daemon.exe and see the magic.
Your now booted in a basic gentoo-linux, with programs like Xfree, Xfce4,gaim, kernel-2.4.26 and other basic stuff emerge'd.
Login as root with no password, set the root password. Check that networking is running, and then start sshd, and ssh into it with Putty, cygwin to get a proper terminal. Now your can do emerge sync or whatever you what.
Ready to use :lol:

Adding a swap partition
Download a swapfile from here . The file name indicates the swapsize.
Extract it to whereever your got room, and add the following to default.colinux.xml.
Code:
<block_device index="1" path="\DosDevices\e:\swap-file" enabled="true"></block_device>
(index="1" means that it will be mapped to /dev/cobd1).
now (re)start colinux, and type "mkswap /dev/cobd1" and add
Code:
/dev/cobd1              none            swap            sw                      0 0
to fstab, and type "swapon -a" to use it without rebooting colinux.

Accessing your linux partitions from coLinux
http://colinux.org/wiki/index.php/coLinuxFAQ#A3 explains the basics. After reading that i ended up with following config
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<colinux>
    <block_device index="0" path="\DosDevices\e:\gentoo-i586-ext3-2g-deluxe" enabled="true"></block_device>
    <block_device index="1" path="\DosDevices\e:\swap-file" enabled="true"></block_device>
    <block_device index="2" path="\Device\Harddisk0\Partition5" enabled="true"></block_device>   
    <bootparams>root=/dev/cobd0</bootparams>
    <image path="vmlinux"></image>
    <memory size="256"></memory>
    <network index="0" type="tap" name="TAP"></network>
</colinux>

now i can use "\Device\Harddisk0\Partition5" (my "/" partition) through the /dev/cobd2 device in coLinux, for example "mount -t reiserfs /dev/cobd2 /mnt/linux".
Remember that this will only work with partitions that windows dosn't use. Those you need to access through smbfs.

Increase the image size
Download topoenlarge-0.5.zip from http://hem.passagen.se/svto/tlinux/files/, unzip it, and run topoenlarge.bat. check the "find file" radio button, and press the "enlarge file" button. When you found the file and pressed "ok" the file should be enlarged. Remember that FAT32 can only handle up to 4gb (2^32bytes) files.

Thanks goes to
The guy who made the gentoo-image file.
The coLinux wiki


Last edited by janlaur on Wed Apr 28, 2004 2:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g1um
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Thunder Bluff, Mulgore

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 9:18 pm    Post subject: wery nice Reply with quote

Well thx man, Your howto is quiet usefull, Consider installing windows now :)~,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daktak
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 141
Location: Melbourne, Victoria

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 5:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent,

Now I can get a nice environment for work..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ThomasJ02
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 6:08 pm    Post subject: Make.conf flags? Reply with quote

When I set my make.conf flags for Gentoo under coLinux, should I set them as if I were running Gentoo natively on the system? Or are there any special tweaks involved for building optimized packages under coLinux?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The CFLAGS are the same.
_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rcxAsh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2003
Posts: 457
Location: /etc/localtime

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow! This looks interesting! However, too bad for me.. because I have Windows 98... I don't think it runs on Windows 98... http://www.colinux.org/wiki/index.php/coLinuxFAQ#A11.

Even though I can't run it, I have a question about it. Can the Linux kernel still access hardware? Specifically, can I still access USB ports and such? The reason why is because I would then want to get pppd working allowing me to connect my PalmOS handheld to my network via USB. I have it working under Gentoo, but under Windows, the software isn't free, and it tends to give me BOSDs anyways...

But.. argh...Apparently no go for Windows 98...? :(
_________________
rcxAsh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It uses the internet connection sharing to connect the linux network to the outside network, I suppose you could bridge the TAP thing to your PPP connection.
_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janlaur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Denmark, Århus

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Can the Linux kernel still access hardware?
And a quote from the fronpage of http://colinux.org
Quote:
To cooperatively share hardware with the host operating system, coLinux does not access I/O devices directly. Instead, it interfaces with emulated devices provided by the coLinux drivers in the host OS. For example, a regular file in Windows can be used as a block device in coLinux. All real hardware interrupts are transparently forwarded to the host OS, so this way the host OS's control of the real hardware is not being disturbed and thus it continues to run smoothly.
So the folks at colinux need to emulate each type of hardware. They have emulated "disk access", networking, etc. But they have not yet done USB, direct graphics, soundcard access. But i've read that they are currently working on getting USB working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bravecobra
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2002
Posts: 130
Location: Planet Earth (sometimes)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

call me a n00b, but isn't this a "free" alternative for vmware 4 windows? Doesn't vmware actually do something similar or am I not quite getting it here? If your answers are yes, then I think we're getting somewhere here. Now if coLinux would only run in a linux itself...
_________________
Brave Cobra
http://www.bravecobra.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ThomasJ02
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

VMWare and coLinux are similar but different. VMWare emulates an entire virtual machine complete with BIOS, CPU, etc. VMWare will run Windows, Linux, BSD, OS/2, anything x86-compatible. A free alternative to VMWare would be bochs.

coLinux, OTOH, only runs Linux, and only with special kernel patches. Which isn't to say that it's not cool and useful, because it is. BTW, the very latest (not yet released) version of coLinux apparently does run let you run Linux under Linux, according to the coLinux mailing list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just can't wait till they patch a 2.6.x kernel.
_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pathose
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Posts: 35
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Now if coLinux would only run in a linux itself...

If you want to run linux in linux (as described), check out UserMode Linux. It's the way to go. Allows you to run a linux kernel as a process on your existing linux system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomaw
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 429
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone else had problems with networking? I get "conet0: initialized" in the console window, but the network doesn't seem to reply to anything ie dhcp, pings and the like.

The output of ifconfig -a show eth0 there, but nothing happens, even when set to static IP.

Any ideas?
_________________
Tom Wesley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ThomasJ02
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using bridged or TAP networking? I went with bridged with the WinPCAP driver and it works great
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janlaur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Denmark, Århus

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Are you using bridged or TAP networking?
I'm using TAP, and then using the bridge functionality which is build-in windows xp pro.
WinPCAP is alternative way to do the same as I. I don't know weather there is an advantage by using one or the other.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ThomasJ02
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I wasn't able to get TAP working either, but I didn't try real hard. I would recommend going with the WinPCAP approach, unless you can't use it because you're on a wireless network or something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IWBCMAN
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jun 2002
Posts: 474

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is an edited repost with new
information of my mini-Howto posted at :
http://forums.gentoo.org/
posting.php?mode=quote&p=1051806

[quote]CoLinux is still pretty alpha-it
works and works good, but there are many
things which are not yet supported.

I have yet to get access to the other
partitions, regardless of their format, from
within CoLinux.

*EDIT: SEE BELOW

Supposedly this can be done- Yet I have
had no success. *It will work if one set's up
samba, and apparently LUFS(according
the posts in the mail listings)-but I have not
tried either.

I setup CoLinux to use VNC(tightvnc),
instead of installing/configuring and setting
up CygWin's X11 server.

At this point I have CoLinux setup with
XFCE4-and I can only say WOW. In some
ways CoLinux w/ Gentoo run's faster than
the native Gentoo install I have on the
same machine-don't ask me how that's
possible-but it's true.

My Laptop get's it's internet connection
from my main machine-a Gentoo Linux
server running DHCP and connected via
DSL to my IP provider. I simply had to bind
the CoLinux vitrual network adapater to
my built in ethernet adapter-took me
roughly 20 minutes to figure out and get
working.

I have emerged several packages-
everything runs great. I even dowloaded
the CoLinux source and used the provided
patch to compile my of 2.4.25

EDIT-2.4.26 kernel ...

EDIT-once again see below

Due to not being able to directly access
the local partitions-I had a fascinating back
and forth going on with multiple
connections(ssh/scp) between the
server-windows/server-CoLinux/

windows-CoLinux-actually it was quite
amusing, and it realy, really graphically
illustrates the server-client paradigm,
fascinating actually.

Some really cool Gentoo person already
had done 90% of the work for you-to get
CoLinux up and running.

Simply go to colinux.org -read everything
and I mean everything and then go click on
"downloads".

Download and extract the first file from
the download page "0.6.0-2.4.25"

EDIT:Now using the:
www.colinux.org/snapshots/
colinux-20040417.exe

-pay attention where to extract it to -this
information will be used when editing the
configuration file.

Next download the file called:

"gentoo-i586-ext3-2g-deluxe.bz2".

You probably will need winrar on winbloze
to unpack it.

(check out :
http://colinux.org/wiki/index.php/NiceTools
to find the tools for extracting the image
files and creating "virtual" swap
partitions.)

The file expands, upon extraction, to 2
GB's on your harddrive- so you have to
have that free space in advance. -This new
"virtual" partion(a gigantic file in your
winbloze partition) contains a stage3
install of Gentoo-and one that is actually
quite recent. Actually it is more than
stage3-it includes xfree86,XFCE4, Firefox,
gaim and xchat. The "virtual" partition is
formatted in ext3.

You also need to setup a "virtual" swap
partiton-otherwise you may run out of
memory-if this happens the biggest running
app in CoLinux just vanishes-or your
emerge suddenly stops with error
messages. I haven't done this part yet-but I
have 512MB and haven't felt too much
pressure to do it yet.

There is "a" configuration to edit. That's
right, one single, simple XML formatted
file which needs to know the path to your
"virtual" partions. The file is located in the
directory where you extracted colinux.
"default.colinux.xml"

You also need to install the "virtual"
network adapter. Simply "Add Hardware"
from the control panel , "next", "Yes, I have
already connected the new hardware",
"next", scroll to the bootom of the list in
the next window and select "Add a new
hardware device", "next" then select
"Install the hardware that I manually
elect from a list", "next", the select
"Network Adapters", "next" then "have
disk" and navigate to the place where you
extracted colinux to and go into the
"netdriver" directory and then a file shows
up-select it and now you have your virtual
network adapter-ou can configure it just
like the other adapters already on your
system.

Once you have configured the network and
the config file you simply run
"colinux-daemon.exe" from the DOS
command line (ie. the DOS command line
window) and this brings up CoLinux-you
should see CoLinux booting-if it boots and
you get the prompt enter "root" and hit
return when prompted for the password.

Then do an "emerge sync" and "env-update
&& source /etc/profile" and if you prefer
to use vnc, like me, "emerge tightvnc".

Now you need to configure xfree86. I
simply copied my /etc/X11/XF86Config
from my server machine over to my
CoLinux install-you can only use drivers
provided with Xfree86(ie. no
nvidia-glx/kernel) and it only seems to
work with a color depth of 16...So you have
to edit the file a little...Remeber you have
no direct access to the video hardware of
windows-so you have to either copy this
file from elsewhere or manually create it-
you can also just boot the machine with
knoppix and let knoppix create a
XF86Config file for you....

When that is finished create a
~/.vnc/xstartup file containing one entry
"startxfce4&". Now
simply run the vncserver with your options
(you will be prompted for a password-
create one and remeber it)
(i use 'vncserver -geometry "1500x100"
-depth 16'-with a 1600x1200 display)and
then run the windows vncviewer
(download and install vnc for windows
*first*) and give it the IP address of your
virtual network(192.168.0.X:1) and your
password- vncviewer should now bring up
your XFCE4 desktop-have a lot of fun....

a couple of caveats:

you must be running WinXP(home or
professional), win2K(workstation or
server),or win2003

EDIT:No longer-applies if you use the snapshot
*
If you use the "0.6.0-2.4.25" file-like I did,
you have a rather disfunctional linux
console-you can't see the cursor and their
are issues where the text gets garbled
up-issues with redrawing. Of course you
can forgo these issues by doing the CVS
thing-where these issues have been
corrected-ie. the colinux console is much
imporved and there is even a colinux
windows service-ie. run colinux as a
windows service...(but then again that
means(unless you already have a working
CVS for windows) going into a native linux,
downloading from CVS, and then packing
up the file (tar.gz/zip) and transferring it to
some place accessible from your windows
system)

*
there is no native X support. you use either
vnc or Cygwin-X11.

there is is no sound support. no USB
support(but your windows USB
mouse/keyboard) works fine with
vnc/CygWin-X11). ie. no device support
other than network.

This is not intended to be a complete
guide-I have just covered the basics-now
go to colinux.org and read, read, read- the
guy who posted the gentoo image has his
howto in the colinux.org wiki section....

There is an amazing array of possibilites
with colinux. You can run an apache,
samba, dhcp, mail, distcc, nfs -you name
it-server under colinux. With execption of
device support and disk acces one cannot
tell that one is running Linux under
winbloze-really amazing. This project may
end up being the death of Cygwin-it is far,
far superior.

Cygwin-X11 works good with it and now
that it is part of x11.org it is getting
updated and improved much, much
quicker. And CoLinux even runs under, get
this, Linux(kind of like "virtual mode
linux"-and *BSD ports are on the way.

Right now CoLinux only works with the 2.4
kernel-but work is ongoing to work with
2.6. It utilizes "ring 0" on x86 CPU's -it
runs totally parallel to winblows and there
is virtually no contention between the two
for resources. Really, really amazing stuff.
[/code]


Now for my important update, which I
added to the colinux Wikki FAQ.....


Quote:

(Reported by Karl Zollner) If you are using
Windows XP Home Edition and/or only
have one drive this may help you to setup
direct directory access for Colinux

(I am not sure how much of this due to
possible differences between XP Pro and
XP home or between single drive vs.
multi-drive configurations)

On my single-drive Windows XP Home
laptop I found that I had to do things
somewhat differently than described above
since there is only one hard drive the
reference in the default.colinux.xml file
becomes:

<block_devices index="Y"
path="\Device\Harddisk1\PartitionX-1
enabled "true"></block_devices>


What this means is: firstly) that where
there is only one drive- the "Harddisk"
number defaults to "1" secondly) that
"Partition" number is one less(X-1) than
what Diskpart.exe reports.

So to access the parition 8, as reported by
Dispart.exe, of the harddrive on your
system the line looks like this:


<block_devices index="3"

path="\Device\Harddisk1\Partition7
enabled "true"></block_devices>


As noted before-whether this is due to Win
XP Pro vs. XP Home or
single-vs.multi-drive issues is unclear....
but hey it works!!!!!!!!!!! <phew>

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IWBCMAN
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jun 2002
Posts: 474

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I apologize for the funky formatting-I really tried to get it right-.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tamerz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 232
Location: Chicago IL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tomaw wrote:
Has anyone else had problems with networking? I get "conet0: initialized" in the console window, but the network doesn't seem to reply to anything ie dhcp, pings and the like.

The output of ifconfig -a show eth0 there, but nothing happens, even when set to static IP.

Any ideas?


I get the same problem. Plus in Windows "Network Connections" the TAP-Win32 Adapter has a red X over and the taskbar says it's unplugged.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janlaur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Denmark, Århus

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Plus in Windows "Network Connections" the TAP-Win32 Adapter has a red X over and the taskbar says it's unplugged.
It should say that the TAP connection is unplugged when you have coLinux turned off. When i turn on coLinux, the TAP connections gets plugged in.
If this dosn't work i would guess that there is an error en the config. coLinux will boot even if the config is not formatted correctly, and just use those tags that are. Check the top of the shell window for error messages.

Quote:
Has anyone else had problems with networking? I get "conet0: initialized" in the console window, but the network doesn't seem to reply to anything ie dhcp, pings and the like.

The output of ifconfig -a show eth0 there, but nothing happens, even when set to static IP.

Any ideas?
you say that eth0 exsists, so coLinux has connection to the TAP device. If you set up bridged networking, as the howto shows, your coLinux will acts as a computer on the same network as your real windows mashine. So there needs to be a dhcp server on that network.
Another way is to share your internet connection, which is described on the wiki You will proberbly need to remove the bridge if you sat on up before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trejkaz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Nov 2002
Posts: 479
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The issue I had with using bridging on Windows to solve this problem was that as soon as you bridge, the outside world gets the MAC address of the bridge instead of the network card, thus the computer asks for a DHCP address from the server, and the server doesn't recognise the MAC address and thus refuses to allocate the machine an address (or in my case, allocates an address in the range which is only permitted to use WWW.)

So unless there's another way to do it (I tried all the other methods which I've seen listed and haven't found a working one... yet), I'm not sure how useful this is.

Somehow VMware is capable of running without screwing with DHCP, and without showing that disconnected icon in the time, maybe it has something to do with the fact that VMware's net is resident even if you're not using it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tamerz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 232
Location: Chicago IL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trejkaz wrote:
The issue I had with using bridging on Windows to solve this problem was that as soon as you bridge, the outside world gets the MAC address of the bridge instead of the network card, thus the computer asks for a DHCP address from the server, and the server doesn't recognise the MAC address and thus refuses to allocate the machine an address (or in my case, allocates an address in the range which is only permitted to use WWW.)


Well I even tried using a static IP. ifconfig shows the eth0 adapter. Even if I give it an address it can't ping anything except itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SkiCat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 32
Location: United States

PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem. Check the xml configuration file for a <> at the
end of the line <image path="vmlinux" />

That was causing a problem for me. I removed the <> characters and
everything worked fine.

I set mine up using the WinXP method of bridging. The only other
problem I encountered was my firewall software had to be told
about the colinux IP address.

SkiCat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janlaur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Denmark, Århus

PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just tried something realy cool.
I booted my real gentoo partition within coLinux. The only thing i needed was to edit fstab. And make sure that X didn't start on boot. There is a lot of errors, like ALSA complaning, can't find module directory and so on.
I don't really know if this is dangerous, but it hasn't detroyed my setup.
If you want to try, map your linux partition to a /dev/cobdX device, and set bootparams, like this
Code:
<block_device index="4" path="\Device\Harddisk0\Partition4" enabled="true"></block_device>
<bootparams>root=/dev/cobd4</bootparams>

Now i need to find a way to use one fstab in coLinux and one in "reallife", then it would be possible to boot the same linux in coLinux as in reallife :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jayknitter
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was having networking issues, but I finally found a way to get my setup to work using TAP!! The main issue I had was an error in the default.colinux.xml config file. I had to change the network line from:

Code:
<network index="0" type="tap" name="tap" />

to
Code:
<network index="0" type="tap" name="TAP-WIN32 Adapter" />


Seems you have to use the name of the Lan Card in the name attribute (right click on your connection and click properties, the name of the card is after "Connect Using:").

I also updated my /etc/reslov.conf file manually, not 100% if that was required but it was before I got things working right!

Hope this helps some of you guys!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum