Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
experiences with xorg-x11-6.7.0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 16, 17, 18  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
neenee
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 1786

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

petrjanda wrote:
ultrasonic wrote:
The injection gave me the same error but it seemed to work. Before when I did an emerge -DUp world it would show I needed xfree. After that injection no longer.

Anyhow here are some problems if people are interested.

1. You have to inject xfree.
2. ATI: for me to start X (especially via /etc/init.d/xdm) I have to make sure I have opengl-update xorg-x11 set. Once X starts and I log in, I have to reset it within my X to opengl-update ati to get opengl working. Bleh. If I reboot and I forget to set openg-update xorg-x11, X will hang and I cannot even kill it without doing a kill -9. So looks like the ati drivers do work with some caveats. Not really great.
3. The startup screen on X is grey? Damn haven't seen that in years. Anyone know hot to change it to black?
4. Had to re-emerge all my fonts (core-fonts, sharefonts, freefonts, etc).
5. Had to copy XFree86Conf to xorg.conf. Wish this was said in the ebuild. Took me a bit to find that since the ati-drivers write to XFree86Conf-4 which is skipped by xorg's X.

So those are my pet peeves. If I had to do it again, I wouldn't. Until at least some of those issues are worked out.

i can tell you it AINT much better with installing Xfree86 4.4 from the sources you can find on their website. After i tried to ugprade to v4.4 i thought i will end up reinstalling whole gentoo, because it b0rked the whole thing.


i tried xfree 4.4.0 and it worked without problems.

thix xorg-x11 version works without problems here as well,
though now i do not have to worry about the license and
it's good to use something which is actively developed.
_________________
proud to be a scout and a chronic penguin hugger
Legion of Lore - site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asimon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 979
Location: Germany, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here xorg-x11 isn't working at all. Every module, every driver fails to load because of unresolved
symbols like

(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libxf4bpp.so
dlopen: /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libxf4bpp.so: undefined symbol: xf1bppWindowPrivateIndex

or

(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/nv_drv.so
dlopen: /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/nv_drv.so: undefined symbol: fbdevHWSwitchMode

or

I) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.so
dlopen: /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.so: undefined symbol: __glXActiveScreens

and many others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rc5
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everything is ok except my "Alt Gr" key is not working, anyone know how to fix that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrmodin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 216
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone know if it works well with a S3 Savage????
Maybe even Savage-DRI?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hanzotutu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found another problem....mplayer will encounter some errors while playing avi files....I am re-emerging mplayer to see if this is able to fix the problem.

Edit: re-emering mplayer doesn't solve the problem. And I found if I use 'mplayer -vo x11 abc.avi', it will work but can't resize the screen. However, with default vo, which is xv, the avi movies cannot be played.
Code:

...
Starting playback...
VDec: vo config request - 640 x 352 (preferred csp: Planar YV12)
VDec: using Planar YV12 as output csp (no 0)
Movie-Aspect is 1.82:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect.
VO: [xv] 640x352 => 640x352 Planar YV12
X11 error: BadAlloc (insufficient resources for operation)


MPlayer interrupted by signal 6 in module: flip_page
- MPlayer crashed. This shouldn't happen.
  It can be a bug in the MPlayer code _or_ in your drivers _or_ in your
  gcc version. If you think it's MPlayer's fault, please read
  DOCS/HTML/en/bugreports.html and follow the instructions there. We can't and
  won't help unless you provide this information when reporting a possible bug.
Xlib: unexpected async reply (sequence 0x5c)!
alsa-uninit: pcm closed


Last edited by hanzotutu on Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:04 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r3pek
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 568
Location: Lisbon - Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the only noticiable change i have is that my glxgears points drop 2000. i was getting 2400+- with my fx 5200 and now i have 150+-. anyone with the same problem? but the problem seems to be only in glxgears since i played ut2k4 and it's in the normal framerate...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomaw
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 429
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Worked almost flawlessly for me. The only thing that doesn't at the moment is gdm. I get a message saying that it "seems to be crashing" and that it will use another chooser. I'm re-emerging it now, so I guess that will fix it.

Also, as a note, I did my switch with my system fully prelinked and nothing broke.

Do any other people with nvidia's think that general usage of X11 is faster, window redraws and stuff like that?
_________________
Tom Wesley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GaMMa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Aug 2002
Posts: 684
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it working; the synaptics touchpad driver wasn't bundled in; I had to manually install it. Everything works fine except the gray screen at the beginning and the screen has distorted once for a split second and blanked randomly for a split second another time.

I didn't have a font problem or any other problems honestly. It was a pretty smooth transition. Good job x.org!
_________________
Ubuntu Linux Dapper Drake running Gnome-2.14.1
[Website | Screenshot | Portage Guide]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
øxygen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 236
Location: Bergheim, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Painless Upgrade, before i was using 4.4RC2 ... in fact no difference. had to re-install my cursors.

FYI:

Code:
(~) $ uname -a
Linux localhost 2.6.4-gentoo-r1 #7 Sat Mar 27 19:55:57 CET 2004 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1700+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

(~) $ genlop -t xorg-x11
 * x11-base/xorg-x11

     Thu Apr  8 00:42:51 2004 --> x11-base/xorg-x11-6.7.0
       merge time: 1 hour, 31 minutes, and 31 seconds.

 
 merged totally 1 ebuild in 1 hour, 31 minutes, and 31 seconds.

(~) $ etcat -s xorg-x11
[ Results for search key           : xorg-x11 ]
[ Candidate applications found : 1 ]

 Only printing found installed programs.

* x11-base/xorg-x11-6.7.0
           Total Files : 10392
    Inaccessible Files : 6
            Total Size : 164284.28 KB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asimon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 979
Location: Germany, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did anyone successfully build xorg-x11 with pie?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-LiTe`
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 May 2003
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pretty smooth upgrade here.
All I did was copy my old XF86Config file over to the new xorg.conf, run opengl-update ati (just to make sure) and symlink /usr/lib/opengl/xorg-x11 to /usr/lib/opengl/xfree (otherwise it wouldn't be able to find the glx module).

Smooth here, 3d accel 'n everything. All is back to normal. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Tallinn/Rakvere, Estonia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is x.org's font directory /usr/share/fonts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tcs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 27
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it working like a charm, removing xfree and installing xorg was really easy :D
Posted a little "howto" here collecting tips I found in this forum.

Cheers

tcs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tcs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 27
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

G-LiTe` wrote:
Pretty smooth upgrade here.
All I did was copy my old XF86Config file over to the new xorg.conf, run opengl-update ati (just to make sure) and symlink /usr/lib/opengl/xorg-x11 to /usr/lib/opengl/xfree (otherwise it wouldn't be able to find the glx module).

Smooth here, 3d accel 'n everything. All is back to normal. :)


Did you try
Code:

opengl-update xorg-x11



cbr wrote:
Is x.org's font directory /usr/share/fonts?


Yes, it is.
I had to edit following files (after etc-update):

  • /etc/xorg.conf (which is a copy of my old XFree86Config)
  • /etc/fonts/fonts.conf


Cheers

tcs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irf2003
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Sep 2003
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:48 pm    Post subject: Re: truetype fonts Reply with quote

mario wrote:
It seems that the truetype fonts folder is not being installed. Anyone have idea why?

let me guess, could it be because of those M$ fonts??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronmon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2002
Posts: 1043
Location: Key West, FL

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone tried this on a Mac yet? The ebuild only lists ~x86 and ~amd64, but I'll probably add ~ppc and give it a shot. Hey, someone has to try :)

I just got an iBook yesterday (my first Mac) and am going from stage 2 to stage 3 on it as I type this. Rather than building xfree and having to change it later, I'd prefer to do it just once.

I'll let you know how it goes.
_________________
Ask Questions the Smart Way - by ESR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Tallinn/Rakvere, Estonia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's up and running for me ;)
I don't see any differences but well, it was at least fun to compile :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rotux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2003
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure, but the startup (time from startx to mousecursor popup) seems a bit faster than with xfree :D

The only thing that bugs me is that all ebuilds that depend on xfree wont accept xorg as an alternative :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomaw
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 429
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rotux wrote:
The only thing that bugs me is that all ebuilds that depend on xfree wont accept xorg as an alternative :(

I've noticed this also. Although I'm not sure, it's likely that these will be changed to depend on virtual/x11?
_________________
Tom Wesley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KAMIKAZE_
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 291
Location: Riga, Latvia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey... i have a problem with OpenGL applications... for examle my SDL application wont start anymore ("Couldn't initialize OpenGL")... and quake3 too... i have reemerged glide-v3, glut, libsdl, sdl-image... NOTHING :evil:
_________________
-=[powered by Gentoo]=-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomaw
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 429
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KAMIKAZE_ wrote:
hey... i have a problem with OpenGL applications... for examle my SDL application wont start anymore ("Couldn't initialize OpenGL")... and quake3 too... i have reemerged glide-v3, glut, libsdl, sdl-image... NOTHING :evil:


Do you have any telling signs in /var/log/xorg.log?
_________________
Tom Wesley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zerb
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 145
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

worked like a charm on my nx9005 laptop (which can be an ass sometimes...) too. it is bugging me tho that portage wants to emerge xfree again. i know i can just inject it...still would be nice to fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6336
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asimon wrote:
Did anyone successfully build xorg-x11 with pie?


Nope, but I sucessfully built with hardened.

Is there any need for pie on a workstation?
_________________
When baselayout tells you to update config files or things break WE REALLY DO MEAN IT

Please add SOLVED to the thread title if your issue has been
Strip comments from configs please
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FlorianRoth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 4:42 pm    Post subject: Font problem Reply with quote

I have unmerged xfree und merged xorg and now my fonts are somehow strange because proportions and spacings got screwed up.
my XOrg.log says:

Quote:

Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/truetype, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF, removing from list!


I tried to edit my xorg.conf but it didnt change anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6336
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look at /etc/fonts/fonts.conf
_________________
When baselayout tells you to update config files or things break WE REALLY DO MEAN IT

Please add SOLVED to the thread title if your issue has been
Strip comments from configs please
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 16, 17, 18  Next
Page 3 of 18

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum