Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gentoo amd 64 on emachine t6000
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
robwil13
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 4:53 am    Post subject: gentoo amd 64 on emachine t6000 Reply with quote

Has anyone gotten the 2004 livecd to load on this machine ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wgauvin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, but you're going to have fun with the XFree and the ATI card.

I've had my machine for about 1.5 weeks now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brad_mssw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 29
Location: Alachua, FL

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's anything like the M680X laptop, you're going to probably
want to use the 'emachines' kernel on the 2004.0 release livecd.

-Brad House
AMD64 Project Lead
brad_mssw@gentoo.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thumper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 448
Location: Venice FL

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, work fine if you disable "Legacy USB Device" in the BIOS, and just for the install use idle=poll and nousb to the boot options.

And while there are a million views on CFLAGS, I have found these to work well, and the system is stable.

Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"


George


Last edited by thumper on Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thumper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 448
Location: Venice FL

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also use x11-base/xfree-4.3.99.902-r2

I use 1280x1024 as it is more responsive than 1600x1200.

if you use the font server xfs ( rc-update add xfs default ) you can use this XF86Config and you should only have to change the monitor section to match your monitor.

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "XFree86 Configured"
        Screen         "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
        RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
        ModulePath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
        FontPath     "unix/:-1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load  "extmod"
        Load  "dri"
        Load  "dbe"
        Load  "record"
        Load  "xtrap"
        Load  "glx"
        Load  "speedo"
        Load  "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"
        Driver      "keyboard"
        Option      "XkbRules" "xfree86"
        Option      "XkbModel" "pc104"
        Option      "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Mouse0"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option      "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
        Option      "Device" "/dev/mouse"
        Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        #DisplaySize      360   270     # mm
        Identifier   "Monitor0"
        VendorName   "STN"
        ModelName    "S/T 97B/96B"
        Option      "DPMS"
        ModeLine   "1600x1200/85Hz" 220 1600 1616 1808 2080 1200 1204 1207 1244  +HSync +VSync
        ModeLine   "1280x1024/100Hz" 181.75 1280 1312 1440 1696 1024 1031 1046 1072  -HSync -VSync
EndSection

Section "Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option     "ShadowFB"                  # [<bool>]
        #Option     "VGAClocks"                 # [<bool>]
        #Option     "KGAUniversal"              # [<bool>]
        # Option      "no_accel" "False"
        Option      "AGPFastWrite" "True"
        # Option      "EnablePageFlip" "False"
        Option      "AGPMode" "8"
        Identifier  "Card0"
        Driver      "radeon"
        VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
        BoardName   "RADEON 9600 PRO"
        # BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
        # ChipID      "4150"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Card0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth 24
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth    8
                Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
                ViewPort 0 0
                Virtual  0 0
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth    16
                Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
                ViewPort 0 0
                Virtual  0 0
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth    24
                Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
                ViewPort 0 0
                Virtual  0 0
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
        Mode 0666
EndSection


If you want 1600x1200 just add it to the Modes.

George
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wgauvin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2004 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did a fresh install last night due to I couldn't find a way to solve a few small and annoying problems. The good news is that I have ALSA working for the vt82xx, have to wait until tonight to see if the XFree 4.3.99 is working fine.

Rob, I hope you have been able to install gentoo on your machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum