37%  [ 6 ]
why are you using a Mac, you freak?
18%
 18%  [ 3 ]
Total Votes : 16

Houdini
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2002 9:30 pm    Post subject: Mac n00b, buying new Apple toys Reply with quote

So, I've decided I need a laptop for school. Taking notes, network testing, coding, games... I mean, "graphics programming testing" :D

Anyway, no PC laptop can hold a candle to the battery life and raw shiny that a Mac can. So, I'm buying either an iBook or a PB Ti. A few questions before I take the $2500 plunge, though:

1) Can anyone tell me which I should get? I know that a PB will be faster, more RAM, bigger HD, etc. But, I want to know if either of them will have more problems with Gentoo. I need LAN, sound, and video to work. Airport card would be nice, but not a requirement.

2) What sort of things will be radically different from using Gentoo on my x86 machine? Will most things work (random stuff I emerge)?

3) I'm a CS student, so I have to be able to program. Will things I write under gentoo-PPC work on an X86 machine? I know assembler won't work, but what about random C/C++ programs?

4) I'd also appreciate anecdotes people have about installing on iBook/TiPB machines, with advice attached.

5) Not really the point of this forum, but why not... How about programming under OSX? Can I write programs that will be compatible with X96 machines using gcc? OSX is too sexy to ditch entirely, and it would be nice to not have to switch between it and gentoo just to work on a bit of homework.

(I had to try out the poll option, never played with it before)
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2002 10:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Mac n00b, buying new Apple toys Reply with quote

Houdini wrote:
2) What sort of things will be radically different from using Gentoo on my x86 machine? Will most things work (random stuff I emerge)?

An easy way to check which packages are supposedly marked as "ok for ppc" is:
Code: