Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO: apcupsd with USB
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tnt
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 1126

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should we fill a bug request for porting of new version?
_________________
gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tnt
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 1126

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3.10.17 is in the portage now!

I've emerged it by:
Code:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" emerge apcupsd


And it WORKS!!!

I mean, it powers my APC Back-UPS CS 500 off (just as 3.10.15 did) but my server turns ON as soon as power is restored to the UPS!

So, it fully functional!
I just hope there's no some stupid bugs, as it's still marked by ~amd64 keyword - I hope it will become "stable" soon so I can sleep without nightmares... :)
_________________
gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tnt
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 1126

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, there's one thing that I don't remember I had with 3.10.15...

From time to time, there are some strange "time left" readings from apcupsd:
Code:
titan etc # apcaccess status
DATE     : Sat Apr 02 16:57:48 CEST 2005
HOSTNAME : titan
RELEASE  : 3.10.17
VERSION  : 3.10.17 (18 March 2005) gentoo
UPSNAME  : titan
CABLE    : USB Cable
MODEL    : Back-UPS CS 500
UPSMODE  : Stand Alone
STARTTIME: Sat Apr 02 05:01:44 CEST 2005
STATUS   : ONLINE
LINEV    : 000.0 Volts
LOADPCT  :  21.0 Percent Load Capacity
BCHARGE  : 100.0 Percent
TIMELEFT : 1582.0 Minutes
MBATTCHG : 15 Percent
MINTIMEL : 5 Minutes
MAXTIME  : 0 Seconds
OUTPUTV  : 230.0 Volts
DWAKE    : 000 Seconds
DSHUTD   : 000 Seconds
LOTRANS  : 000.0 Volts
HITRANS  : 256.0 Volts
ITEMP    : 29.2 C Internal
ALARMDEL : Always
BATTV    : 13.5 Volts
LINEFREQ : 49.0 Hz
NUMXFERS : 0
TONBATT  : 0 seconds
CUMONBATT: 0 seconds
XOFFBATT : N/A
SELFTEST : NO
STATFLAG : 0x02000008 Status Flag
SERIALNO : BB0443020465
BATTDATE : 2004-10-21
NOMBATTV :  12.0
FIRMWARE : 08.q5.I USB FW:q5
APCMODEL : Back-UPS CS 500
END APC  : Sat Apr 02 16:57:48 CEST 2005


Your expiriance with this?

:?
_________________
gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quantumwire
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Posts: 403
Location: Lausanne

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My motherboard is not an ATX compliant board so in my case "shoutdown -h now" command doesn't turn off my pc.

Is there a way to power off my USB Back UPS CS 650 instead of my pc?
_________________
HOWTO 1: Spegnere il laptop!
HOWTO 2: Comprimere i DVDs!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tnt
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 1126

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes: emerge newest 3.10.17 apcupsd and follow these instructions:

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=1928915&highlight=#1928915


:)
_________________
gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ectospasm
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 711
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tnt wrote:
...as it's still marked by ~amd64 keyword - I hope it will become "stable" soon so I can sleep without nightmares... :)


I want to say it was Jason Huebel (the Gentoo AMD64 Strategic Lead) who told me this(I may be compeletly wrong, I remember reading it on IRC, #gentoo-amd64@Freenode), but don't expect any packages to be marked amd64 "stable" for a while. The developers are so busy trying to get packages that are masked to work under x86_64 that they don't have time to mark any of them stable. Just put ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" in /etc/make.conf and be done with it. I haven't run into any stable/unstable issues since I've done that, AFAIK.
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Join the EFF!
Join the Drug Policy Alliance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tnt
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 1126

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, that's very very interesting news!

Thank you!
_________________
gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master One
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 754
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark_lagace wrote:
The last thing to do, is to get your shutdown scripts to call /etc/apcupsd/apccontrol killpower when they are done shutting everything down. Edit the file /etc/init.d/halt.sh and add the following commands at the end of it:
Code:
# Attempting to add APCUPSD's killpower function here
if [ -f /etc/apcupsd/powerfail ]; then
        ewarn "Powerfail situation - shutting off the UPS"
        /etc/apcupsd/apccontrol killpower
        sleep 120
        exit 1
fi

That function is already implemented in latest (~x86/~amd64) baselayout (I am using baselayout-1.11.11-r3 ATM).

ADDITIONAL NOTE: I had to copy /usr/sbin/apcupsd over to /sbin/apcupsd and change that command variable in /etc/apcupsd/apccontrol, because I have /usr on a separate partition, which gets unmounted before the UPS shutdown is initiated in /etc/init.d/halt.sh! This way UPS hibernation worked out fine, and everything came up again after UPS power restorage. That's a pretty cool setup, I have now with three servers on a SmartUPS 1000 :)
_________________
Las torturas mentales de la CIA


Last edited by Master One on Tue Jul 12, 2005 6:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kai Hvatum
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Location: Traveling around the US

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I drove out to CompUSSR today and purchased an ES 650. I was expecting to spend at least a few hours messing around with various deamons before everything worked but after following your tutorial there are no problems.

Many thanks whiskeypriest.
_________________
Still using Gentoo, just too busy for forums these days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master One
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 754
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tnt wrote:
Unfortunately, there's one thing that I don't remember I had with 3.10.15...
From time to time, there are some strange "time left" readings from apcupsd:
Code:
VERSION  : 3.10.17 (18 March 2005) gentoo
TIMELEFT : 1582.0 Minutes

Now that's strange. Didn't see this before, but I now get a similar output:
Code:
# apcaccess status
DATE     : Tue Jul 12 20:43:05 CEST 2005
HOSTNAME : lanmaster
RELEASE  : 3.10.17
VERSION  : 3.10.17 (18 March 2005) gentoo
UPSNAME  : APC
CABLE    : USB Cable
MODEL    : Smart-UPS 1000
UPSMODE  : Net Master
STARTTIME: Tue Jul 12 20:26:37 CEST 2005
SHARE    : NetworkUPS
STATUS   : ONLINE
LINEV    : 231.8 Volts
LOADPCT  :  65.0 Percent Load Capacity
BCHARGE  : 100.0 Percent
TIMELEFT : 1020.0 Minutes
MBATTCHG : 5 Percent
MINTIMEL : 3 Minutes
MAXTIME  : 0 Seconds
OUTPUTV  : 231.8 Volts
DWAKE    : -01 Seconds
DSHUTD   : 090 Seconds
LOTRANS  : 208.0 Volts
HITRANS  : 253.0 Volts
ITEMP    : 33.3 C Internal
ALARMDEL : Always
BATTV    : 27.4 Volts
LINEFREQ : 50.0 Hz
NUMXFERS : 0
TONBATT  : 0 seconds
CUMONBATT: 0 seconds
XOFFBATT : N/A
SELFTEST : NO
STATFLAG : 0x02000008 Status Flag
SERIALNO : AS0407331798
BATTDATE : 2004-02-14
NOMBATTV :  24.0
FIRMWARE : 00.3.I USB FW:1.5
APCMODEL : Smart-UPS 1000
END APC  : Tue Jul 12 20:43:05 CEST 2005

From time to time it reports back the correct battery run time of ~ 17.0 min, but most of the time I get those 1020.0 min.
I have three machines on that UPS, and all of them (the master and the two slaves) report the same wrong battery run time.

Anyone any idea? Looks like a bug was introduces from 3.10.15 to 3.10.17.
_________________
Las torturas mentales de la CIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Freppe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master One wrote:
ADDITIONAL NOTE: I had to copy /usr/sbin/apcupsd over to /sbin/apcupsd and change that command variable in /etc/apcupsd/apccontrol, because I have /usr on a separate partition, which gets unmounted before the UPS shutdown is initiated in /etc/init.d/halt.sh! This way UPS hibernation worked out fine, and everything came up again after UPS power restorage.

Does anyone know of a way to do this automatically, such as a config option to portage/emerge? I have the same problem as above with a separate /usr partition, but if this is done manually then I need to remember to do it every time I update apcupsd. It would be nicer to have it installed to /sbin directly.

Perhaps the ebuild should be changed to have "sbindir=/sbin" instead of the current "sbindir=/usr/sbin"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
platojones
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1533
Location: Just over the horizon

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody else getting this lately. I don't know when it started happening, but I just noticed it while doing a ps:

Code:

root      8585 10943  0 10:43 ?        00:00:00 [apcupsd] <defunct>
root      8587 20641  0 10:43 pts/1    00:00:00 grep apcupsd


I haven't done a test to see if it actually still works (though it did a few days ago when I had a real power glitch), but it is annoying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
segedunum
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:51 pm    Post subject: Re: UPS killpower Reply with quote

suhlhorn wrote:

2) The UPS unit does not appear to shut off via the 'killpower' option to apccontrol after the shutdown sequence has completed. Is this a limitation of my UPS (APC Back-Ups RS 1000) or a problem with the shutdown/halt scripts?


It's your (and my) halt scripts. The halt script in my baselayout (11.7 I think) look as if they only call upsdrvctl which is a part of NUT I think. Quite why this is supported and not apcupsd I don't know. The halt script that I have does not appear to support apcupsd at all as far as I can see, and there is no call to /etc/apcupsd/apccontrol killpower or check for /etc/apcupsd/powerfail. There is no /etc/apcupsd/powerfail script, so I'm assuming it gets created dynamically when the power fails (have to check that one). The consequences of this are that when the power returns your machine will not automatically power back on and boot up. I have exactly the same SmartUPS on a Suse server and it works perfectly.

It should be fairly trivial to modify (there's a decent ups_kill_power function) as you can just add the apc stuff in, but it should really be there. Does anyone know if this has been added to recent halt.sh scripts in a new baselayout before I go needlessly modifying my script?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dashnu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Casco Maine

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

platojones wrote:
Anybody else getting this lately. I don't know when it started happening, but I just noticed it while doing a ps:

Code:

root      8585 10943  0 10:43 ?        00:00:00 [apcupsd] <defunct>
root      8587 20641  0 10:43 pts/1    00:00:00 grep apcupsd


I haven't done a test to see if it actually still works (though it did a few days ago when I had a real power glitch), but it is annoying.


Any fix for this yet? I get this on my Master and 4 slaves.. Pain in the but.. leaves crap proc entries around also.

TIA
_________________
write quit bang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dashnu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Casco Maine

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*bump* last post.. and..

None of my network slaves report the correct time.... they all say

Wed Dec 31 19:00:00 EST 1969

Anyone see this?

Also I have a APC room monitoring Card can apcupsd interact with it?

I need something to shut down my servers if the AC dies. What do people use for this??

TIA
_________________
write quit bang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ectospasm
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 711
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 11:40 pm    Post subject: Minor correction... Reply with quote

When running "emerge sync":
Code:
*** Deprecated use of action 'sync', use '--sync' instead

This HOWTO still uses the old way of calling sync. Just a minor nitpick.

We may want to move this HOWTO to gentoo-wiki so whiskeypriest doesn't have to be the only maintainer. I'd be willing to help with that.

EDIT: I need to learn to look before I post. I see that this HOWTO is already on the wiki.
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Join the EFF!
Join the Drug Policy Alliance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flebool
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2004
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't emerge apcupsd, neither version 3.10.17 or 3.10.18

the program emerge fine, but doesn't install any /usr/bin/apcupsd executable. there's no trace of it in the emerge log (scrolling the console, the last things it points out are the files it installs)

Obviously, trying to run the init script "/etc/init.d/apcupsd start" it fails miserably, with the error: "stat /usr/sbin/apcupsd: No such file or directory"

the system is an amd64 machine, but installed like a x86.

my USE flag emerging apcupsd is:

USE="apache2 ncurses nls usb -cgi -doc -snmp -threads"

I've tried disabling apache2 or adding all others, but it doesn't emerge any executable.

Any help?

Next step will be installing manually..
_________________
----------
Flebool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lmegliol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Sep 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off, thanks for this thread and the accompanying Wiki entry. I have managed to get apcupsd up and running just fine.

Regarding shutdown of slave machines and restarting of servers after power returns...

From the message about about newer versions of apcupsd automatically supporting powering up systems, it is implied that a simple emerge of the latest version is all that is needed to get this working. I emerged the latest version and my system does not shutdown completely, nor does it power on (or reboot for that matter) when power returns. Is there something else I'm missing here? Do I still need to apply the modifications to kill power to the UPS to get this to work?

The other question I have is whether either methods of getting the server to power on after power resumes takes into account whether slave systems have yet had the chance to completely power off before killing power to the UPS. Does this happen or is this a configurate that should only be used in standalone mode?

Thanks.

Leo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lmegliol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Sep 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may have answered my own questions.

First problem was due to partition/mount problems described above. Copied apcupsd to /sbin and wall to /bin to fix.

Now UPS shuts self down. During test I noticed that the shutdown gives time for slaves to shutdown.

New question: is the amount of time given for slaves to shut down configurable?

Thanks,

Leo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lmegliol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Sep 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any word on whether the amount of time given for slaves to shut down is configurable?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jschweg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Feb 2004
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I appear to be missing the usb apc driver, according to the below:

Code:

Apcupsd driver usb not found.
The available apcupsd drivers are:
dumb
apcsmart
net

Most likely, you need to add --enable-usb to your ./configure options.

apcupsd FATAL ERROR in apcupsd.c at line 269
Apcupsd cannot continue without a valid driver.


I can obviously re-emerge it, but how to I add this to the compile?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thoughtform
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 May 2004
Posts: 584
Location: east coast USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nano -w /etc/portage/package.use

put in sys-power/apcupsd usb

should fix it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
huuan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Feb 2007
Posts: 258
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

post moved to a more appropriate forum. admin please delete this.

Last edited by huuan on Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:54 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
huuan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Feb 2007
Posts: 258
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is related
http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=159354
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geforce
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 653
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can I connect many UPSes to one machine to monitor them (i only want to monitor) ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 4 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum