GRUB freezes before displaying a menu.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Cluster
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:21 am    Post subject: GRUB freezes before displaying a menu. Reply with quote

This is my first attempt to install Gentoo. I have a very new machine, AMD 1700+ XP with 512 MB of RAM and two hard drives. My second hard drive has all my backups and primary hard drive is supposed to have GRUB.
I used the x86 CD-ROM to set up three standard partitions (hda1=/boot, hda2=/, hda3=swap)... the installer sized them all for me and I just had to format them appropriately. Gentoo installed perfectly (everything was compiling MUCH faster than usual... nice) -- there were no errors and I was following printed installation instructions exactly, including installation and initialization of GRUB.
After rebooting, I found that it said "Wait, initializing GRUB" (or something to that effect) as the second line on the screen, and that was it. I thought I didn't set up the list correctly, so I reinserted Gentoo's installation CD, mounted my partitions, and rechecked it. Apparently either I didn't mount hda1 the first time or something, but my hda2 partition had /boot, where GRUB and the kernel were.
Here's what I did: I moved the kernel and the entire grub/ directory from hda2's /boot directory straight into hda1. Then I modified the menu list appropriately and reran GRUB, reinitializing it. It said that it was able to find everything and wrote itself to the first 16 sectors of the hard drive.
Rebooting causes the same situation: GRUB hangs before displaying the menu.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, all.
kybber
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post the contents of grub's menu.lst?