Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cobalt RaQ/Qube Systems -- Testing Needed
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9, 10, 11  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The PROM on these boxes doesn't even know what a CD-ROM is, let alone how to boot it. You'll need to set up a TFTP/NFS server for the box to boot off.

The gentoo MIPS guide goes through setting up a TFTP server for an Indy, do this, and have a look at Paul Martin's Debian install Guide for the more Cobalt specific setup. This is how I managed to get Gentoo installed. (my server was previously configured so the qube I have could netboot Debian)
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hobbes27
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Apr 2003
Posts: 87
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The gentoo MIPS guide goes through setting up a TFTP server for an Indy, do this, and have a look at Paul Martin's Debian install Guide for the more Cobalt specific setup. This is how I managed to get Gentoo installed. (my server was previously configured so the qube I have could netboot Debian)


Ah. Thanks :-). Debian is bootet, mips-stage1 is on the Harddisk. But i 'm not able to chroot in my gentoo enviroment :-/
Code:
 # chroot /target /bin/bash
   chroot: cannot execute /bin/bash: Exec format error

Did i miss something?

Thanks in advance,

Marek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope... you didn't miss anything... the debian netboot image isn't able to execute the binaries on the Gentoo stage 3 tarball. :-/

What you need to do is to use the Gentoo kernel & netboot image instead... Here you can find the kernel images, netboot image and the modules you'll need to do this.

Unfortunately the kernel seems to have a bug (at least it did for me) where the console is garbled... but now that you have the stage1 tarball on the machine, you should be able to do the following to get a "usable" system:

Code:
 emerge sync && cd /usr/portage && sh scripts/bootstrap.sh && emerge system
.

(Tip, you might want to try the stage 3 at some point as it will speed things up... also the idea of optimising everything to the CPU is moot on this platform since Qube/Raq systems all use the same MIPS RM5200 CPU anyways).
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hobbes27
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Apr 2003
Posts: 87
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2004 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
What you need to do is to use the Gentoo kernel & netboot image instead... Here you can find the kernel images, netboot image and the modules you'll need to do this.

Ok, that worked :-)

Quote:
Code:

 emerge sync && cd /usr/portage && sh scripts/bootstrap.sh && emerge system


(Tip, you might want to try the stage 3 at some point as it will speed things up...

Hm...indeed, the maschine is bootstrapping since 24h. Right now, perl 5.8.4 is emerging, but since 1h it stays at:
Quote:
lib/base/t/fields........ok
lib/Benchmark........
...nothing seems to happen, but the maschine is still alive (i tested with "ping").
Is that normal? I can't remember it took that long at my x86-machines.

I took my make.conf from kumbas Website:
Code:

CHOST="mipsel-unknown-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-Os -mips4 -mabi=32 -mtune=r5000 -fomit-frame-pointer -fforce-addr -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~mips"

RSYNC_RETRIES="3"
RSYNC_TIMEOUT=60

MAKEOPTS="-j1"
PORTAGE_NICENESS=3
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
FEATURES="-sandbox -ccache"
CCACHE_SIZE="1G"

USE="-nls"

Thanks for any help!

Marek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shadowlost
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2004 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote]
...nothing seems to happen, but the maschine is still alive (i tested with "ping").
Is that normal? I can't remember it took that long at my x86-machines.
[quote]

I was having this same issue. Perl 5.8.4 threw fits. tests would not complete this side of 72 hours, so I started manually killing tests as they would halt the build. This got boring somewhere around the DBI module.

5.8.3 was flaky and slow, and 5.8.2 built cleanly and was ok-stable.

This actually got me convinced to rebuild my cobalt with kumba's new stage3 images and netboot kernel (both work a charm, btw). No problems emerging since then.

PS: I'm running stable, not ~mips. (with a few /etc/portage holes :), and haven't even tried upgrading perl since i rebuilt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2004 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Odd... I must admit I haven't tried messing with Perl on my qube, but if push comes to shove, you should be able to force it to install v5.8.2 using:

Code:
emerge =perl-5.8.2


I'll have to experiment when I get the time and see if I can coax the machine to produce a binary...
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hobbes27
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Apr 2003
Posts: 87
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2004 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
This actually got me convinced to rebuild my cobalt with kumba's new stage3 images and netboot kernel (both work a charm, btw). No problems

So it did convince me :-)
Everything works fine now!
Code:
root # uname -a
Linux bender 2.6.6-mipscvs-20040510 #1 Mon May 31 06:05:00 CEST 2004 mips Nevada V10.0  FPU V10.0 Cobalt RaQ2 GNU/Linux


I gonna start now emerging my favorite packages.

Do i have to flash the colo-bootloader if i want to boot kernel-2.6 without pressing buttons on my raq?

BTW: The Memory looks like ordinary PS/2-EDO RAM to me. Is that so, or do i have to look after some kind of special cobalt-Memory?

Thanks for helping!


Last edited by hobbes27 on Mon May 31, 2004 12:18 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2004 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On the CoLo, it's possible to tell it to boot automatically... This is what I have:

Code:
qube root # cat /boot/default.colo
#:CoLo:#

lcd "Mounting hda1"
mount hda1
lcd "Loading Linux"
load /vmlinux.gz.working
lcd "Booting..."
execute root=/dev/hda5 ro console=ttyS0,115200


From memory, this allows it to boot automatically (I can't recall, its been so long since I rebooted it :-D)

On the memory, it's standard 72-pin EDO... I'm not sure how much these machines can take maximum. (I vagely remember there was a limit of 64MB, but I'm not sure -- I could be wrong)
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hobbes27
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Apr 2003
Posts: 87
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2004 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm, i have another issue...
Only 8GB og my 20GB HD are detected.
This is the output
parted gives me:
Code:
Error: The partition table on /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/disc is
inconsistent.  There are many reasons why this might be the case.  However, the most likely reason is that Linux detected the BIOS geometry for
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/disc incorrectly.  GNU Parted suspects the realgeometry should be 2495/255/63 (not 39770/16/63).  You should check with your BIOS first, as this may not be correct.  You can inform Linux by adding the parameter ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/disc=2495,255,63 to the command line. 

So i tried this in the default.colo (i flashed my eeprom with the new bootloader)
Code:
lcd "Mounting hda2"
mount hda2
load /boot/vmlinux.gz
lcd "Booting Gentoo"
execute hda=ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/disc=2495,255,63

But nothing changed. I don't know if this is the right way to give bootparameters to the colo-bootloader, so this is perhaps why...

Does someone managed using an IDE-harddisk > 8GB?

thanks for helping,

Marek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2004 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
execute hda=ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/disc=2495,255,63
       ^^^^


This could be causing some heartache. Try either hda=2495,255,63 OR ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/disc=2495,255,63.

Although I find it rather odd that it should only see 8GB... Does FDISK suffer the same problem?
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hobbes27
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Apr 2003
Posts: 87
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Does FDISK suffer the same problem?

Yes (but there is no warning).
Quote:
Try either hda=2495,255,63

That worked! :-)

Thanks for helping!

Marek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One thing hit me.... this thread is now becomming veeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyy long now... and I think now that the MIPS port is starting to gain some speed.... is it worth another forum is set up for Gentoo on MIPS?

(I realise there's a mailing list....but not everyone likes them)
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hobbes27
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Apr 2003
Posts: 87
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
is it worth another forum is set up for Gentoo on MIPS?


Yes it is!

[x] Vote for MIPS-Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shadowlost
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 3:22 am    Post subject: awwwww man! Reply with quote

Quote:

is it worth another forum is set up for Gentoo on MIPS?

(I realise there's a mailing list....but not everyone likes them)


Mailing list!?

[x] - One less confusing, multithreaded, forum. Stick with the ML.

Of course i'm biased, as I hate webboards in general, so just color me luddite ;)

(/me runs off to sign up)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:55 am    Post subject: Re: awwwww man! Reply with quote

shadowlost wrote:

Mailing list!?


Indeed there is, have a look at this page.
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kumba
Developer
Developer


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 376
Location: Sigma 957

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, sorry that I haven't been paying much attention to this forum, I get distracted sometimes and lose track of things, so I missed the bit on perl, which intrigues me:

Code:
[root@udun colo]# perl --version

This is perl, v5.8.4 built for mipsel-linux

Copyright 1987-2004, Larry Wall

Perl may be copied only under the terms of either the Artistic License or the
GNU General Public License, which may be found in the Perl 5 source kit.

Complete documentation for Perl, including FAQ lists, should be found on
this system using `man perl' or `perldoc perl'.  If you have access to the
Internet, point your browser at http://www.perl.com/, the Perl Home Page.


It worked fine for me, which is odd why it doesn't work fine for several other people.

Those who have this problem, log a bug on it at http://bugs.gentoo.org, assign to mips[at]gentoo{dot}org, and CC perl[at]gentoo{dot}org, include relevant info like emerge info and such. That'll allow me to follow this bug incase it happens to me in the next perl release or such. Mind you, I'm not a perl person, so I hardly ever use it. The slowness would be worth looking into and all as well.

--Kumba
_________________
"The past tempts us, the present confuses us, the future frightens us. And our lives slip away, moment by moment, lost in that vast, terrible in-between."
--Emperor Turhan, Centauri Republic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kumba
Developer
Developer


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 376
Location: Sigma 957

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As for a forum for us...Not that much activity (IMHO) yet to justify a separate forum. We are gaining speed, but there needs to be some larger number of topics reated to mips before we can classify for our own forum (i.e., when other archs start complaining all the mips posts are clogging up the alt. arch forum like AMD64 stuff did). Alot of help is currently found on the Mailing lists and the IRC Chatroom (But use google first!).

--Kumba
_________________
"The past tempts us, the present confuses us, the future frightens us. And our lives slip away, moment by moment, lost in that vast, terrible in-between."
--Emperor Turhan, Centauri Republic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xphyr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2002
Posts: 16
Location: Rochester, NY

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, so here is the problem I am running into even though I installed the module-init-tools on the machine, when I try to use a 2.6 kernel I get the QM_MODULES error. Everything I have read so far said that having module-init-tool installed would solve this problem ... but so far to good. So instead I tried to use 2.4.26, thinking that well since it is an onlder kernel, hopefully there will be less problems. Well I was wrong here too. Here is the important stuff:

Code:
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.4.26-20040415.cobalt/arch/mips/lib'
ld -G 0 -static -n -T arch/mips/ld.script arch/mips/kernel/head.o arch/mips/kernel/init_task.o init/main.o init/version.o init/do_mounts.o \
        --start-group \
        arch/mips/kernel/kernel.o arch/mips/mm/mm.o kernel/kernel.o mm/mm.o fs/fs.o ipc/ipc.o arch/mips/math-emu/fpu_emulator.o arch/mips/pci/pci-core.o arch/mips/cobalt/cobalt.o \
         drivers/char/char.o drivers/block/block.o drivers/misc/misc.o drivers/net/net.o drivers/ide/idedriver.o drivers/scsi/scsidrv.o drivers/cdrom/driver.o drivers/pci/driver.o drivers/video/video.o drivers/media/media.o \
        net/network.o \
        arch/mips/lib/lib.a /usr/src/linux-2.4.26-20040415.cobalt/lib/lib.a \
        --end-group \
        -o vmlinux
drivers/char/char.o(.text+0x1d170): In function `setkeycode':
: undefined reference to `kbd_setkeycode'
drivers/char/char.o(.text+0x1d18c): In function `getkeycode':
: undefined reference to `kbd_getkeycode'
drivers/char/char.o(.text+0x1d244): In function `handle_scancode':
: undefined reference to `kbd_translate'
drivers/char/char.o(.text+0x1d4d0): In function `handle_scancode':
: undefined reference to `kbd_unexpected_up'
drivers/char/char.o(.text+0x1e4b8): In function `kbd_bh':
: undefined reference to `kbd_leds'
drivers/char/char.o(.text.init+0x25d8): In function `kbd_init':
: undefined reference to `kbd_init_hw'
make: *** [vmlinux] Error 1
gentoo-mips-20040426 linux #


It looks to me like something with keyboard access, but I dont see any place to turn on (or off) keyboard stuff. Any ideas?

P.S. Awesome work so far, wish I had more time to devote to working on this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you got a MIPS kernel? You'll either need to emerge mips-sources, or download the source from linux-mips.org CVS.

For the latter -- do the following:
Code:
cvs -d :pserver:cvs@ftp.linux-mips.org:/home/cvs login
cvs -d :pserver:cvs@ftp.linux-mips.org:/home/cvs co -r linux_2_4 linux


Password is "cvs".

Alternatively, I have a nice script which does the same thing -- and packages it up in a nice tarball for you. The following downloads the specified kernel from Linux-MIPS CVS.

Name it getkernel.sh (or whatever -- this is the name I use).

Code:
Usage: sh getkernel.sh KERNEL_RELEASE
Example: sh getkernel.sh 2.4.26


Code:
#!/bin/sh

release=$1

location=:pserver:cvs@ftp.linux-mips.org:/home/cvs
opts="-z6 -d$location"

# Log into Linux-MIPS CVS...
echo "Password is \"cvs\""
cvs $opts login || exit 1

# Move the 'linux' directory/file/whatever out of the way...
# We'll call it oldlinux-pre-YYYYMMDD.HHMM
if [ -e linux ]; then
        echo "Subdirectory 'linux' already exists, renaming..."
        mv -v linux oldlinux-pre-`date +%Y%m%d.%H%M` || exit 1
fi

# Now do the checkout...
if [ "$release" = "" ]; then
        echo "Assuming latest release -- whatever that may be"
else
        echo "Release $release specified... fetching specific branch."
        coopts='-r linux_'`echo $release | sed -e 's/\./_/g'`
fi

cvs $opts co $coopts linux || exit 1

# Determine Linux version collected...
# We'll make a temp script in /tmp and source it...
head -n 5 linux/Makefile | sed -e 's/ //g' > /tmp/$$.sh \
        && source /tmp/$$.sh \
        && rm -f /tmp/$$.sh

if [ "$VERSION" = "" ]; then
        echo "Unable to determine kernel version -- you're on your own now..."
        exit 1
fi

timestamp=`date +%Y%m%d`
echo "Detected Linux $VERSION.$PATCHLEVEL.$SUBLEVEL$EXTRAVERSION"

extraversion="-mipscvs-$timestamp"
if [ "$EXTRAVERSION" = "" ]; then
        echo -n ""
else
        extraversion="$EXTRAVERSION-$extraversion"
fi

linuxver="$VERSION.$PATCHLEVEL.$SUBLEVEL$extraversion"
echo "Altering Version String: $linuxver"

echo "Patching Makefile..."
mv -v linux/Makefile linux/Makefile.old
sed -e "s/^EXTRAVERSION.*\$/EXTRAVERSION = $extraversion/" \
        < linux/Makefile.old > linux/Makefile


echo "Renaming Distribution Directory..."
mv -v linux "linux-$linuxver"

echo "Tarring Distribution Directory..."
tar -cj "linux-$linuxver" -f "linux-$linuxver.tar.bz2"

_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kumba
Developer
Developer


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 376
Location: Sigma 957

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xphyr: Regarding your problem, merging module-init-tools *will* solve the QM_* error. I've bumped into that one several times. The second error, is different, however. Double check the "Input Core" section of menuconfig, and enable the keyboard stuff there. That should allow those functions to resolve to the compiler.


RedHatter: Hate to tell you, but your script in its current form is a bit useless for now. CVS-1.11.17 was released the other day to address some vulnerability found in it, and as a result of the recent rash of security issues in CVS (resulting in the last 3-4 version updates), Ralf disabled anoncvs access via pserver. I'm not sure if he'll re-enable it anytime soon, but for now, the only way to get a copy of the tree is via rsync. See if your script can work via that method.


--Kumba
_________________
"The past tempts us, the present confuses us, the future frightens us. And our lives slip away, moment by moment, lost in that vast, terrible in-between."
--Emperor Turhan, Centauri Republic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kumba wrote:
RedHatter: Hate to tell you, but your script in its current form is a bit useless for now. CVS-1.11.17 was released the other day to address some vulnerability found in it, and as a result of the recent rash of security issues in CVS (resulting in the last 3-4 version updates), Ralf disabled anoncvs access via pserver. I'm not sure if he'll re-enable it anytime soon, but for now, the only way to get a copy of the tree is via rsync. See if your script can work via that method.


Ouch, didn't see that on the Linux-MIPS website or mailing list... How long has this been the case?

How does one grab the kernel via rsync? There's nothing even remotely mentioning this on the website. (By the sounds of things, the Linux-MIPS site could do with an update.)
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kumba
Developer
Developer


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 376
Location: Sigma 957

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Redhatter wrote:
Ouch, didn't see that on the Linux-MIPS website or mailing list... How long has this been the case?

How does one grab the kernel via rsync? There's nothing even remotely mentioning this on the website. (By the sounds of things, the Linux-MIPS site could do with an update.)


Seems that was only a temporary fix now. Ralf re-enabled the anoncvs after upgrading the CVS packages.


--Kumba
_________________
"The past tempts us, the present confuses us, the future frightens us. And our lives slip away, moment by moment, lost in that vast, terrible in-between."
--Emperor Turhan, Centauri Republic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don_thomaso
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's time, just finished backing up my Qube 2.
I'm putting in a new harddrive and then I'm ready to upgrade from Redhat (kernel 2.0.34) to Gentoo and 2.6.
This is my first try at installing Gentoo (although I've used various linux distros before).

Wish me luck :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don_thomaso
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Already ran into some problems with the serial port...
I've installed Tera Term Pro on my win xp box, hooked up the serial cable, set it to 115200,8,n.1 but i don't get recieve any data from the qube.
I can't hook up the Qube to my Linux box as the motherboard doesn't have any serialports...

Any ideas?

EDIT: fixed it. I hade to press the small 'reset button' to enable the serial console.
I've booted up the box with the colo-bootloader and I'm about to partition the disk now :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mernisse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2004 10:06 am    Post subject: iptables-1.2.9-r2? Reply with quote

Just wondering if anyone else has had problems emerging net-firewall/iptables on a RaQ2+ / Qube? I tried tonight on my near-freshly installed RaQ2+ (more or less Kumba's stage 3 + a bunch of tiny tweaks running kernel 2.6.7 and a couple of other basic utilities)

Code:

bdr01 portage # uname -a
Linux bdr01 2.6.7-mipscvs-20040621 #1 Fri Jun 25 06:32:19 EDT 2004 mips Nevada V10.0  FPU V10.0 Cobalt RaQ2 GNU/Linux

bdr01 portage # emerge iptables
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) net-firewall/iptables-1.2.9-r1 to /
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) iptables-1.2.9.tar.bz2
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking iptables-1.2.9.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/iptables-1.2.9-r1/work
 * Applying various patches (bugfixes/updates)...
 *   01_all_grsecurity.patch.bz2...                                       [ ok ] *   02_all_imq.patch.bz2...                                              [ ok ] *   04_all_install_ipv6_apps.patch.bz2...                                [ ok ] *   05_all_install_all_dev_files.patch.bz2...                            [ ok ] *   06_all_l7.patch.bz2...                                               [ ok ] * Done with patching
>>> Source unpacked.
ipv6
Making dependencies: please wait...
Something wrong... deleting dependencies.
make: *** [spaces.h] Error 1
 
!!! ERROR: net-firewall/iptables-1.2.9-r1 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 64, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)


I had hoped to get the RaQ in place as the new NAT/Firewall Box this weekend but without iptables that's going to be very difficult.

If anyone has any ideas, or needs any more info to find out what's going on, let me know. The box isn't in production yet so I can do whatever to it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 4 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum