Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
athlon 64... 64bit vs 32 bit
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
morphodone
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 6:38 am    Post subject: athlon 64... 64bit vs 32 bit Reply with quote

okay, i just did my first (succesfull) install of gentoo
even though it was a stage 3 :? , i'm still happy to have
gotten it working.

i installed with a livecd version for x86_64, but should i have
just installed 32 bit instead?

after reading thru this forum it looks like there isn't much support
yet for 64 bit...for instance i have a radeon 9700pro i would
like to play games with but it doesn't sound possible with x86_64

so my question is should i just start over and go with x86 32 bit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are a good number of applications that work in 64bit mode.

I have everything I had before except cdrecord prodvd (but that should work soon!)

That said, you have an ati card, that will be your stumbling block in you want accelerated graphics when using 64 at the moment.
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blueworm
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 962
Location: Asturias

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.osnews.com/story.php?news_id=5768
Confussed...
_________________
LianLi PC60, OCZ PowerStream 520W PSU, Asus p5N-E SLI, Core2duo E6550,2Gb GEIL 4-4-4-12 DDR2, XFX Geforce 8800GT, TB santaCruz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morphodone
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

scoobydu wrote:

That said, you have an ati card, that will be your stumbling block in you want accelerated graphics when using 64 at the moment.


yeah, i agree you're right about that, but i refuse to put my ti4200
back in...after spending money on the radeon

blueworm wrote:

http://www.osnews.com/story.php?news_id=5768


interesting article, i haven't seen that one...back to 32 bit for me then
argh, i suppose i have to start from scratch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blueworm
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 962
Location: Asturias

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the article interesting also, I am not sure how relevant it is since the test system was an ultrasparc. But as the compiler usec was GCC, I think the same may be true for amd64.
_________________
LianLi PC60, OCZ PowerStream 520W PSU, Asus p5N-E SLI, Core2duo E6550,2Gb GEIL 4-4-4-12 DDR2, XFX Geforce 8800GT, TB santaCruz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LaNcom
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Erfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not really.
First of all, there are apps that use 64bit integers (oggenc comes to mind), and those will be way faster (more than 200%) in 64bit. It should also be possible to optimize quite a few applications for AMD64 to get a great speed-up (Mathematica's preformance increases by about 50% on 64bit).
But there's more: on a 64bit system, AMD64 CPU's use 16 registers, on 32bit there are only 8 registers. Don't know if all the renaming registers are available in 32bit mode.
So, the results from the Ultra5 are not really comparable...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Evangelion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 1087
Location: Helsinki, Finland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blueworm wrote:
http://www.osnews.com/story.php?news_id=5768
Confussed...


Completely irrelevant. Yes, 64bit binaries might be slower on the SPARC. And that's because running software in 64bits don't give you any new hardware-features on the SPARC. but on AMD64 you get twice as much GP-registers (regural x86 has just 8, which is a MAJOR drawback!, AMD64 has 16), and twice as much SSE-registers.

In short: on AMD64 64bit should be considerably faster than 32bits.
_________________
My tech-blog | My other blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
secondshadow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2003
Posts: 362

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blueworm wrote:
http://www.osnews.com/story.php?news_id=5768
Confussed...


This article is relavent only if you use an UltraSparc. For this to matter for an x86-64 you have to do benchmarks for x86-64's.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lightvhawk0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yay! thanks, I've been debating over whether or not my amd64 was a good purchase. Now it's comfirmed. :D It was a great purchase!!!
_________________
If God has made us in his image, we have returned him the favor. - Voltaire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum